Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 00:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Problem setting up GRUB on my new full install
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 13:41    Post subject:  Problem setting up GRUB on my new full install  

I just installed Puppy 5.2.8 on SDA1. I also have a couple of puppy folders that each contain a frugal install. Both are on SDA1 as well.

When I use Grub4DOS, the first window comes up (image1). When I click on the OK button, nothing happens. Normally I would see a window that looks like image2. How can I make Grub4DOS work? This is the only way I know how to create a GRUB menu that looks nice.
image2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   36.24 KB
 Viewed   396 Time(s)

image2.png

image1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   38.03 KB
 Viewed   380 Time(s)

image1.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8904
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 15:06    Post subject:  

I tried a fresh frugal install of Lupu 528 and Grub4Dos worked correctly.

Run "grub4dosconfig" from the command line. Does it throw any error messages?

Boot off your Live CD and see if you can reproduce the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 17:36    Post subject:  

This is what I get:

Code:
sh-4.1# grub4dosconfig
BINSTALLER=bootlace.com
sda(MBR)_203.9GB_ATA_Maxtor_6L200R0_
fd0_(FLOPPY_DISK)
sdb_250.0GB_WD_2500BEV_External
/usr/sbin/grub4dosconfig: line 581: 27284 Terminated              $GTKDIALOG -p DIALOG -c &>/dev/null
PCPARTS:
/dev/sda1|ext4|101075968
/dev/sda3|ext4|33499136
/dev/sda4|ext4|62477312
/dev/sdb1|ext4|244197376

LPART:/dev/sda1|ext4|101075968
The first partition starts from: 0(LBA)
/usr/sbin/grub4dosconfig: line 670: missing_error: command not found
sh-4.1#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8904
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 17:53    Post subject:  

The error message is misleading. But the problem may be that you formatted the partition as ext4. In Lupu, that may not be a valid filesystem for a boot partition. Or Grub4Dos may not think so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 18:15    Post subject:  

Interesting. So, what should I do so that it works? I think I did format that partition in Lupu as ext4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4984
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 16:58    Post subject:  

Could be the version of Grub4dosConfig you are using(V1.7) and the Ext 4 format.
Notice the listed fixes in 29oct11 v1.7.1: fix was failed with ext4.
The latest version of Grub4dosConfig now version 1.8
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51697

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked

Last edited by bigpup on Tue 20 Nov 2012, 17:03; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 17:02    Post subject:  

I have 1.7 so I am going to install 1.8 and see what happens because now my GRUB looks like it is not working at all. Booted in from 5.2.8 CD so at least I can function until I get this resolved.


The reason I am booted into my pup CD is because I can't start my computer without hitting the # prompt to enter xwin or xorgwizard. Nothing seems to work. I created a seperate post on the issue and am hoping to resolve it soon. If not, I will just format SDA1 and reinstall Puppy again and see what happens.

Thanks for getting back to me!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8904
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 17:18    Post subject:  

In the event that your system has gotten corrupted and you need to start again, the simplest approach would be to reformat the Puppy partition as ext3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2012, 17:30    Post subject:  

OK. I will do that. Are there any drawbacks formatting as ext 3? Is it more compatible than ext4?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
iluminameluna

Joined: 20 Oct 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 02:43    Post subject:  

rmcellig wrote:
OK. I will do that. Are there any drawbacks formatting as ext 3? Is it more compatible than ext4?

Thanks!


Not experienced enough to b able to tell if you're running a "regular" hard drive or an SSD but I do know that ext 4 works best for "regular" (read: w/ moving parts) drives while ext3 & ext2 work best for SSDs.

I have 2 SSDs (I have a netbook) & I found out the hard way that though ext4 is excellent in case of power failures or just data saving generally, it does a number on SSDs 'cause it writes CONSTANTLY to them. It's called journaling. I know there's a link somewhere (sorry I don't have it!) that better explains the different formatting but I think I've done a very basic explanation.

In short, even ext2 is better than ext3 for the boot loader grub4dos. If you're using a Puppy OS, you probably have issues w/ low memory or just resources generally, so I can tell you that newer isn't necessarily better.

Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 06:46    Post subject:  

I just reformatted the partition I was having problems with as ext3, and did a new full install of puppy 5.2.8. Grub4dos worked fine so I now have a working Grub menu.

I would have used a frugal install but I find I am instantly adjusting the save file size and putting links outside my root folder.

I found one way to get around the save file issue is to do a frugal install, install all the software I need and then do a remaster to a new Iso file that I use as my new frugal install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0650s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]