Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 20:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-610 testing 20 Nov 2012 (finished)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4238
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2012, 18:07    Post subject: Download Failure  

Delete or ignore this message. Seems that its working now for some reason.
DownloadFailure.png
 Description   Download Failure
 Filesize   55.67 KB
 Viewed   936 Time(s)

DownloadFailure.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1806
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2012, 18:36    Post subject:  

kirk & jamesbond,

I have just made an sfs file of VirtualBox-4.2.4 but have been having trouble getting it to work with the fatdog sfs-loader. What I have discovered, and I do apologise it this has already been repeated somewhere else, the following:

When using the fatdog sfs loader it loads/mounts the sfs but VirtualBox or for that matter, wine, neither works. The reason being, some modules need to be loaded so a reboot or a modprobe of the modules is required.

This is not an ideal solution if running a live system.

I then tried shino's SFS-load-on-the-Fly and it worked fine without a reboot as it obviously loads the required modules.

After I had installed shino's SFS-load-on-the-Fly I notice it had clobbered the fatdog sfs loader because the desktop entries have the same name although the file names are different. It's easy enough to rename one so they can co-exist.

My questions are:

1. Will using shino's SFS-load-on-the-Fly cause any problems with fatdog?

2. Is it possible to use a pinstall.sh in the fatdog sfs loader to load the required modules?

I will place the VirtualBox-4.2.4-fd64_600.sfs here:
http://www.smokey01.com/software/Fatdog64-600/

Regards

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2134
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2012, 20:23    Post subject:  

spandey wrote:
Yes Linux mint 13 is using Grub2.

I didn't use grub2 myself and never tested that. But rcrsn51 uses grub2 and it shouldn't be problem.

Quote:
I looked at error message and there are bunch of them, like:

1. can't stat /lib
2. aufs/kernel-modules/lib missing
3. HDIO_SET_DMA failed
4. can't find savefile /fd64save.ext4 in partitions.....
1,2,3 is all right, 4 is odd because it should be looking at /Fatdog/fd64save.ext4.

Quote:
For frugal install I just copied the contents of the ISO, to /Fatdog directory. Hope that's alright ?

That is very all right, I do this all the time too Smile

spandey wrote:
Just going thru Fatdog help documents and found something interesting under boot options:

Quote:
Note 1: parameters are case sensitive. Most of them are in lower case, so if you specify them in upper case (capital letters), it won't work. Also remember that all parameters cannot include space or colon.


savefile parameter has colon!!!
Nah, this means that the savefile name or path should not contain a space or a colon. The colon in the savefile parameter itself is all right.

Try this: After you have finished booting, please type this in terminal: "cat /proc/cmdline" and tell me what you see. I'm expecting you to see the correct savefile parameters (with /Fatdog path), if you see anything different then it's your grub2 configuration that has problem.


==========


smokey01 wrote:
spandey you appear to have omitted the word "direct" eg:
smokey01, spandey's line is all right. He doesn't use "direct" but he uses "ram" which means he is using the RAM layer (in other puppies, this is called PUPMODE=13).

smokey01 wrote:
When using the fatdog sfs loader it loads/mounts the sfs but VirtualBox or for that matter, wine, neither works. The reason being, some modules need to be loaded so a reboot or a modprobe of the modules is required.
Yes, fatdog sfs loader just mounts the sfs. It doesn't do anything extra. This is a design decision - different SFS serves different purposes and may have different activation mechanisms; and the sfs loader doesn't try to guess what they are. You will to manually do what is required - e.g. "depmod" for extra modules, or "modprobe", or start-up services, or refresh menus, etc. (openbox menus btw is automatically updated, lxpanel isn't).

Quote:
I then tried shino's SFS-load-on-the-Fly and it worked fine without a reboot as it obviously loads the required modules.
Yes, because shino's sfs has the smarts.

Quote:
After I had installed shino's SFS-load-on-the-Fly I notice it had clobbered the fatdog sfs loader because the desktop entries have the same name although the file names are different. It's easy enough to rename one so they can co-exist.
Yes because shino's loader was the default sfs loader for Fatdog 500, and even for early betas of 600.

My questions are:

Quote:
1. Will using shino's SFS-load-on-the-Fly cause any problems with fatdog?
Yes, it probably will. Early in 600 beta we have Shino's SFS loader in the ISO, and we run into some obscure problems. Turns out that it was the interaction between shino's loader with Fatdog's layering system; we were forced to take it out.

Quote:
2. Is it possible to use a pinstall.sh in the fatdog sfs loader to load the required modules?
Not at the moment, but I will consider that. Where is this pinstall.sh located? Is this supported by Shino's SFS loader too? We have to consider the effect when multiple SFS-es have pinstall.sh-es; we have to ensure that when one SFS is loaded, only its own pinstall.sh will be executed and not pinstall.sh from previously loaded SFS; thus the pinstall.sh must also be written carefully. Unlike pets, where the pinstall.sh is executed only once and then deleted (thus one pet's pinstall.sh is unlikely to affect other pets), this isn't true with SFS where its pinstall.sh will live forever.

Quote:
I will place the VirtualBox-4.2.4-fd64_600.sfs here:
http://www.smokey01.com/software/Fatdog64-600/
Thanks. I usually download Vbox and install it from the official website myself, but I do appreciate this isn't always possible for others (especially live session users).

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1806
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2012, 21:01    Post subject:  

jamesbond further investigation has revealed a reboot after loading the sfs with the fatdog loader does not fix the problem, even with a savefile.

A modprobe of each of the 4 modules is required such as:

modprob vboxdrv
modprob vboxnetadp
modprob vboxnetflt
modprob vboxpci

Providing you have a savefile it will work on subsequent boots.

It still doesn't fix the live boot option.

A simple script would fix the problem but how would people know to run it. Maybe your fatdog sfs loader could look for the script, if found, run it.

Nothing is ever easy Crying or Very sad

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2012, 21:09    Post subject:  

smokey01

You could put a wrapper script in the sfs called from the DOTdesktop file that checks if the modules are loaded, if not loads them then runs virtual box. Would overcome your problem I think.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1806
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2012, 21:19    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
smokey01

You could put a wrapper script in the sfs called from the DOTdesktop file that checks if the modules are loaded, if not loads them then runs virtual box. Would overcome your problem I think.


Yeah that might work providing VB is called from the menu entry.

I was thinking of putting a script in the sfs somewhere than could be run if required but it's not very intuitive.

I like your idea better.

Thanks

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2012, 22:26    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
But rcrsn51 uses grub2 and it shouldn't be problem.

No I don't. I was testing spandey's savefile argument in regular GRUB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2134
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 01:16    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
jamesbond further investigation has revealed a reboot after loading the sfs with the fatdog loader does not fix the problem, even with a savefile.

It does. I just tested it with your Virtualbox sfs. The SFS already have the right files in /etc/init.d; that will start the vbox services which will load the modules after your reboot.

The only missing thing is that you need to "depmod" after the SFS is loaded, and this needs to be done only once.

If you want to run this from a live session, you just need to "depmod" and then start the /etc/init.d/vboxdrv services ("/etc/init.d/vboxdrv start") or use the Service Manager. Like 01micko says, you can modify the VBox desktop button to point to your wrapper script to test for conditions launching the real VirtualBox, like this one:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
! modinfo vboxdrv && depmod
! lsmod | grep -q vboxdrv && /etc/rc.d/rc.vboxdrv start
VirtualBox
should do the trick.


rcrsn51 wrote:
No I don't. I was testing spandey's savefile argument in regular GRUB.
Oops I thought you did test it with grub2. Sorry Embarassed

EDIT: add script.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 04:02    Post subject:  

Jamesbond,
Thank you so much. The
Code:
cat /proc/cmdline
revealed the culprit. There are some unprintable characters before word savefile. Hence entire savefile argument has become meaningless. Looks like they came up while copying and pasting Grub2 entries in the editor. A very good lesson for future !!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1806
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 04:03    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
smokey01 wrote:
jamesbond further investigation has revealed a reboot after loading the sfs with the fatdog loader does not fix the problem, even with a savefile.

It does. I just tested it with your Virtualbox sfs. The SFS already have the right files in /etc/init.d; that will start the vbox services which will load the modules after your reboot.

The only missing thing is that you need to "depmod" after the SFS is loaded, and this needs to be done only once.

If you want to run this from a live session, you just need to "depmod" and then start the /etc/init.d/vboxdrv services ("/etc/init.d/vboxdrv start") or use the Service Manager. Like 01micko says, you can modify the VBox desktop button to point to your wrapper script to test for conditions launching the real VirtualBox, like this one:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
! modinfo vboxdrv && depmod
! lsmod | grep -q vboxdrv && /etc/rc.d/rc.vboxdrv start
VirtualBox
should do the trick.


Your fix is a lot more elegant than mine. I took Mick's advice and made a wrapper which checks to see if each module had been loaded, if not it loads them. The script also starts with a depmod.

Anyway I am uploading the sfs again as it now works fine while operating live. I probably could have trimmed it down a bit but didn't bother. Maybe next time.
http://www.smokey01.com/software/Fatdog64-600/VirtualBox-4.2.4-fd64_610.sfs

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 10:03    Post subject:  

spandey wrote:
There are some unprintable characters before word savefile. Hence entire savefile argument has become meaningless. Looks like they came up while copying and pasting Grub2 entries in the editor. A very good lesson for future !!!!

That's probably why they recommend that you not hand-edit the Grub2 config file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 10:20    Post subject:  

Sorry, I changed the 40-custom file and used grub-update not hand edited the config file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 10:23    Post subject:  

For the benefit of other Fatdog-Grub2 users, could you please post your 40-custom file along with some instructions on how you used it in Mint?

Where do you put the file? What update command do you run? etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 12:52    Post subject:  

Quote:
For the benefit of other Fatdog-Grub2 users, could you please post your 40-custom file along with some instructions on how you used it in Mint? Where do you put the file? What update command do you run? etc.


It's all there in http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Grub2. Anyway I am repeating it again.

1. GRUB2 can't find frugal puppy install otherwise it picks up most other linux installed in the machine.

2. Just open the '/etc/grub.d/40_custom' with admin access and add the entries for puppy like lucid, fatdog etc.

3. Once done form terminal do 'sudo update-grub'. You are good to go.

Here are my sample '40_custom" file entries

Code:

menuentry "Lucid Puppy 5.2.8" {
 search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 672878ac-c0ca-453b-bc38-0de03ec38f63
 linux  /Luppuold/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=Luppuold pfix=fsck
 initrd /Luppuold/initrd.gz
}

menuentry "Precise 5.4.1" {
 search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 672878ac-c0ca-453b-bc38-0de03ec38f63
 linux  /Precise/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=Precise pfix=fsck
 initrd /Precise/initrd.gz
}

menuentry "Fatdog 600" {
 search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 672878ac-c0ca-453b-bc38-0de03ec38f63
 linux  /Fatdog/vmlinuz savefile='ram:device:sda5:/Fatdog/fd64save.ext4'
 initrd /Fatdog/initrd
}


Hope it helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 139
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 13:46    Post subject:  

I had Linux Mint 13 on here until an update caused a boot failure, but grub2 is still working.

/etc/grub.d/41_custom reads like this.
Code:

#!/bin/sh
cat <<EOF
if [ -f  \$prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source \$prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
EOF

So I place custom entries in /boot/grub/custom.cfg. With entries in that file it is unnecessary to update grub. Since Linux Mint doesn't boot anyway that is kind of handy.

Here is the entry for Fatdog64 610.
Code:

menuentry "Fatdog64 610" {
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='(dev/sda,msdos2)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root  6fbee58b-cd48-4819-8d2b-ed06d7f00eea
   linux  /fatdog610/vmlinuz root=UUID=6fbee58b-cd48-4819-8d2b-ed06d7f00eea savefile=direct:device:sda2:/fatdog610/fd64save.ext4
   initrd /fatdog610/initrd
}

Here is one with no save file for Fatdog64 600
Code:

menuentry "Fatdog64 600 No Save" {
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='(dev/sda,msdos2)'
   search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root  6fbee58b-cd48-4819-8d2b-ed06d7f00eea
   linux  /fatdog600/vmlinuz root=UUID=6fbee58b-cd48-4819-8d2b-ed06d7f00eea savefile=none
   initrd /fatdog600/initrd
}

The UUID of a partition can be found by running the command:
Code:
blkid

One time I plugged in another hard drive and sda became sdb, but Fatdog64 still booted because grub2 read the UUID.

If entries are placed in /etc/grub.d/40_cutom instead of /boot/grub/custom.cfg, the command to update grub2 is:
Code:
sudo update-grub

Here is a link to a good tutorial on grub2:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1195275
Ubuntu has closed those types of how to's and now require them to go into there community wiki, so someday that link maybe dead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1314s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0127s) ][ GZIP on ]