Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 19:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Squeezed Arm Puppy for Raspberry Pi, alpha4
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 16 [240 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
woodenshoe

Joined: 17 Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2012, 14:26    Post subject: wifi  

My wifi dongle worked in Raspbian so I did a lsmod from the command line to figure out which kernel module it was using.

Although it wasn't listed in Puppy's network module list I could load it by clicking on the "More" tab and then on the "Specify" button, but it still couldn't find any new interface.

I thought I saw some kind of error message during boot up before X came up so I exited X ( you could ctrl+alt+F1 to see the boot messages and ctrl+alt+F4 to go back to X ) and that was how I found out that the kernel module for my wifi dongle couldn't find one of its files in the /lib/firmware directory.

I copied everything from Raspbian's /lib/firmware directory to Puppy's /lib/firmware, probably overkill, and then my wifi worked.

EDIT: I had already copied a Raspbian kernel, see http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=665256#665256

Last edited by woodenshoe on Thu 01 Aug 2013, 22:00; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 13:00    Post subject:  

Apologies coming in a bit late here due to delivery delays & co! Pupradio BBC 4 works just fine from the default settings, which I don't understand because FP isn't possible yet on this device and Auntie is even further behind the pack than me? So how is PR setup and how should URLs be saved in the preset box? Never got added stations to respond in regular Puppies - obviously missing something important which I couldn't find in 'Search'. All this becomes more pertinent without access to FP. Incidentally, the sound quality is superb (presumably off the digital stream?) even on small cr*p powered speakers; can't wait to push it through something decent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ocpaul20

Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 189
Location: Right on top of CERN

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2012, 08:34    Post subject:  

I dont know if everyone has heard about this community funded board which is due to ship this week. The pre-order price was 49 dollars but not sure what the final price will be for the different models. It is an open source project so the circuit diagrams are available too.

Cubieboard http://cubieboard.org/

Pictures
http://cubieboard.org/2012/09/02/some-pictures-of-cubieboard/

A10 processor running at 1Ghz
DRAM 512M or 1Gb
on-board 10/100 ethernet
SATA
2x USB
HDMI
VGA pin outs
touch panel connector pins

So, if you need more power, this may be one to consider.

I cannot get one this week because I am going away for a while but when I come back I hope to get one of these. They look good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2012, 11:56    Post subject:  

Quote:
VGA pin outs
interesting that they have this. I note that Farnell/CPC has introduced an HDMI-VGA converter this weekend for twenty quid plus VAT. RPi should've had it as default - I don't buy their explanation; there's going to be megaloads of vga-only kit around for decades yet. Moreover, experimentalists are more likely to use an old monitor or TV initially rather than the family TV. As for schools, they should be setting a good example of recycling old monitors rather than sending them for landfill. Not everyone is a public(US=private) school Oxbridge graduate like Eban!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laszlok53

Joined: 11 Jul 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 08:13    Post subject:  

ocpaul20 wrote:
I dont know if everyone has heard about this community funded board which is due to ship this week. The pre-order price was 49 dollars but not sure what the final price will be for the different models. It is an open source project so the circuit diagrams are available too.

Cubieboard http://cubieboard.org/

Pictures
http://cubieboard.org/2012/09/02/some-pictures-of-cubieboard/

(....).


WOW!!!

This would be REALLY something to put a Puppy on! I have some plans to control an Arduino with an RPI, but maybe I should reconsider and change it to Cubieboard!
It all depends if there will be any proper SW to it.
More info, anybody?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2473
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 11:24    Post subject: Re: Booting a 512M Pi  

Back on topic Bugs Laughing
woodenshoe wrote:
I have a 512M Pi board too, and it didn't boot Puppy alpha4 either.

So I downloaded the latest Raspberrian from the http://www.raspberrypi.org/ website, and after writing the image to a second card and seeing that it would boot fine, I copied the boot files ( I think it was just bootcode.bin at first ) to the Puppy card. Puppy booted then ...
Puppy will run on the 512M Pi, I'm posting from it now.
...
EDIT: bootcode.bin is in the zip file, you only need to download Raspberrian if you need something from /lib/firmware.

Thank you, that did make it for ,me too!
I have got my pi 2012-11-21

bootcode.bin has date 2012-10-28
pi_home.png
 Description   
 Filesize   39.01 KB
 Viewed   1449 Time(s)

pi_home.png

bootcode.bin.gz
Description  rename to bootcode.gz
gz

 Download 
Filename  bootcode.bin.gz 
Filesize  17.35 KB 
Downloaded  432 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ocpaul20

Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 189
Location: Right on top of CERN

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 07:55    Post subject:  

strange, I am having problems posting this. Even when I edit 2x ... will try again in the next one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ocpaul20

Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 189
Location: Right on top of CERN

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 08:08    Post subject:  

Cubieboard site
http://cubieboard.org/author/cubieboard/] cubieboard website

Articles etc
http://www.engadget.com/2012/09/05/cubieboard-for-developers

linuxbsdos site
http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2012/09/11/cubieboard-raspberry-pi-competitor-with-sata-port/

rasberry pi forum post
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=22288

technical specs/pinouts/diagrams/etc
http://linux-sunxi.org/Cubieboard


google group on cubieboard - this is where you should go to ask questions etc
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/cubieboard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2473
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jan 2013, 12:29    Post subject: Squeezed Arm Puppy for Raspberry Pi, alpha4
Subject description: wrong icon for network in tray
 

This time I have been starting sap6 with ethernet cable unplugged.

Tray icon for network X is OK
but after having plugged in the ethernet cable and configurated
this icon has not been changed.
network.png
 Description   
 Filesize   47.49 KB
 Viewed   1167 Time(s)

network.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10521
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jan 2013, 15:05    Post subject:  

Sad that none of them have real analog VGA out.

I have four LCD screens for VGA and only one TV
for HDMI so that one show TV programs and
it is a waist of good monitors to not be about to use
the four LCD screens s I wait until such get made

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laszlok53

Joined: 11 Jul 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jan 2013, 17:17    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Sad that none of them have real analog VGA out.

I have four LCD screens for VGA and only one TV
for HDMI so that one show TV programs and
it is a waist of good monitors to not be about to use
the four LCD screens s I wait until such get made


Maybe this could help?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HDMI-Male-to-VGA-Audio-HD-Video-Cable-Converter-Adapter-1080P-HDTV-/271081462659?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&var=&hash=item3f1db6db83

/L
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10521
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2013, 08:49    Post subject:  

Thanks for sharing that one. Have you tested on an old LCD monitor
or a Glass such? I've thrown away all my old clunkers though.

One commentator wrote that the adaper only works if that monitor
can really take that input and few of the old does?

Most of my four none goes beyond 1024 x 768 and
that one is more than that is it not?

One guy wrote that one would need to have real vga
out from the board for it to work good on cheap old monitors?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
laszlok53

Joined: 11 Jul 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2013, 12:31    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Thanks for sharing that one. Have you tested on an old LCD monitor
or a Glass such? I've thrown away all my old clunkers though.

One commentator wrote that the adaper only works if that monitor
can really take that input and few of the old does?

Most of my four none goes beyond 1024 x 768 and
that one is more than that is it not?

One guy wrote that one would need to have real vga
out from the board for it to work good on cheap old monitors?


I only tried on a 15" Philips LCD and it works on 1024x768

As I understand: HDMI has both digiatal AND analog signals. But some equipments only has digital out. This converter supposed to make analog of the digital signals, otherwise you only needed a cable without conversion. That also exist, look it up on ebay "HDMI to VGA cabel"

/ L
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2013, 19:11    Post subject:  

just got my pi in the mail today. Still waiting on an HDMI adapter so that I can plug it into a monitor. Cant wait. Smile
_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drspastic


Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Location: ruse, bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2013, 19:25    Post subject:  

hi everyone, im glad to see we are making headway into the oncoming storm of ARM. now what are the chances of this being able to run on my olimex a13? i have just got it to boot a linaro ubuntu image....reminds me of xp; 2 days to get it to boot proper, then stuck with no network drivers or apps, and taking up all of 4 gigs!
i was dying to get a pi but the shipping took too long. i ordered the olinuxino instead because it ships in 24 hours! and its a ghz cpu. im glad.
i will be even more glad if someone helps get puppy on it, i been using puppy since it first was born and the last 5 years its been my primary os.
love puppy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 16 [240 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0798s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0097s) ][ GZIP on ]