Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 06:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-610 testing 20 Nov 2012 (finished)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 16:09    Post subject:  

Brief return to 64bit-land with an i3.4G. LiveCD, used my worst (p54) and best(zd1211) performing dongles along with a couple of others that rarely give problems. No problems finding base station, no problem connecting to ditto, but as soon as an attempt is made to use the connection for anything it drops out (message pops up in tray). e.g. load default browser, type in URL, - everything still stable - hit Enter and down it goes, new tray message pops up 'disconnected'. Few seconds later after stopping trying to access the connection, tray message often pops up with re-connect (but not always). This routine proceeds until patience runs out. Doesn't happen with any other distros on this machine or with those dongles on other machines/other distros, except, maybe, the Wistron which can be as much of a pig as Broadcoms. Didn't happen with FD600s. ???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2012, 22:29    Post subject:  

Sage,

After it disconnects from your network, can you open a terminal and type:

Code:
lspci > /root/lspci.txt

dmesg > /root/dmesg.txt


and then attach those two files to this thread? I'm surprised it worked in 601 and quit working with 610. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2012, 03:43    Post subject:  

Many thanks, kirk, - will do; busy today, elsewhere, - hopefully tomorrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3617
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2012, 20:11    Post subject: Live media is NOT getting the session saved at Power-off  

Hi all.

As has been traditional with my use of FATDOG since inception, I use its Live media feature for operations and management of the OS. Traditionally, after all tailoring is done and saved via saved session, the OS runs basically un-interrupted for in 1 case, year(s).

In testing the latest Beta; namely 610 I have run into an issue when trying to save the session back to the Live media. I do understand that there are several changes in the saved file(s) which represents the changes and the tailoring done while the system was running. I am positive on these changes as the architecture is very promising. But, unfortunately, I have run into some issues in trying to get my session saved.

To show the problem, here is a step by step that I followed which leads to the problem.
It surfaces as follows:
  • Menu>Power-off
    The Create Save File Window pops: click Yes (Do you want to create a savefile now?)

    What follows is unexpected at end of desktop session
  • Create Save File windows text dialogue changes to set/reset the system hostname: Changed it to FATDOG610-testing and clicked Next
    (this is unexpected because, all system changes including hostname changes should have occurred before reaching this point. Reason: Other system files and applications should have configured with hostname needs long before getting to this point in the system's use. This step really should be moved to system start and not at system end so that any tool that would utilize or need the final system hostname would have at their setups. But, I'm sure there are those who are going to argue this placement as a defensive.)

    Again, the following, too, is unexpected at end of desktop session
  • Create Save File windows text dialogue changes to set/reset root's password: Changed it fatdog and clicked Next
    (This also is unexpected placement. Shouldn't this be also done at system's initial start.)

    Expected
  • Create Save File windows text dialogue changes to choose save session device: Changed it /dev/sr0 (where the Live media presently resides) clicked "Save as multisession" (this is an unknown for which there is no documentation or desktop help for this new shutdown parameter) and clicked Next

    Expected
  • Create Save File windows text dialogue changes to show status of some prior entries for confirmation: Viewing shows my prior selections and clicked Next

    Xdesktop is then exited and text terminal (console) continues with message that a fatdog ...sfs is being created. Immediately the system progresses with another message, then and within 15 seconds, the PC powers down without every saving of anything to the Live media.
Could someone confirm the procedure or confirm the problem for support team review before releasing GA?

Also, my desktop configuration may be a little different from other desktops. There is no Floppy and there are 2 DVD burners on the system. And, as I may have mentioned, all local and remote mounts were umount'd prior to start of Power-off.

Here to help.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1875
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 05:35    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Xdesktop is then exited and text terminal (console) continues with message that a fatdog ...sfs is being created. Immediately the system progresses with another message, then and within 15 seconds, the PC powers down without every saving of anything to the Live media.
Thank you, bug confirmed, I will look at it.

Quote:
Could someone confirm the procedure
Procedure is correct.

EDIT: Bug is fixed for the next release. Please note that even after you managed to save the session, at next boot you will have to type "fatdog savefile=direct:multi" if you boot from the first DVD drive. If you don't want to do this all the time you will need to remaster and ensure that you put this boot parameter into your customised isolinux.cfg.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1875
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 07:26    Post subject:  

Known problem: due to kernel bug, DVDs ejected with hardware button will stay shown on the Rox desktop. Right-click, then "eject" to remove it from the desktop.

This will be fixed in the next release (either we replace the kernel or we put back the userspace polling).

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 11:37    Post subject:  

Nothing's ever straightforward is it?!
The feature reported has become variable - occasionally, every dongle is now connecting, sometimes some aren't and sometimes some drop out. Also aware of some ISP issues. Working to try to isolate each parameter before we send you up/down any blind alleys, kirk. I saw something about forcing a connection to be retained somewhere?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 13:48    Post subject:  

Quote:
I saw something about forcing a connection to be retained somewhere?


Sorry, I don't know how to do that.

I did try a wireless USB stick that uses the zd1211rw module. I connected to a wpa2 access point and did some surfing, no problems with that one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 14:56    Post subject:  

Well, kirk, sorted out the ISP, now getting stability with connections to the zd1211 and the p54 Wiston. The rt2800usb ( new Hama 300MHz) now comes up as 'not in list' which it didn't do previously and when added, doesn't connect, which it did! The other dongles are out on loan - an Atheros and a Broadcom. The former is rather older but often worked for its previous owner as well as for me, the Broadcom is fairly new but haven't used it much yet. I knew the router was OK because the on-board units on mobiles and laptops always connected.
Thanks for following up - will know what to do next time!

Later: Knew I'd seen it recently, it's from our own micko over on the Slacko thread:

Quote:
Regarding your connection, Frisbee has an option that keeps the connection up if it's flakey.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3617
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 17:56    Post subject: SWAP partition is not picked up on initial Live media boot  

Problem Scenario
Booted the Live media FATDOG610. There is a SWAP partition on the HDD.
But, the booting system is either not detecting/ignoring it. This is a new problem for booting PUPs.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1875
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 18:34    Post subject: Re: SWAP partition is not picked up on initial Live media boot  

gcmartin wrote:
Problem Scenario
Booted the Live media FATDOG610. There is a SWAP partition on the HDD.
But, the booting system is either not detecting/ignoring it. This is a new problem for booting PUPs.

Here to help

Fatdog requires manual configuration (by editing /etc/fstab) to activate the swap file.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3617
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 21:10    Post subject: Re: SWAP partition is not picked up on initial Live media boot  

jamesbond wrote:
... Fatdog requires manual configuration (by editing /etc/fstab) to activate the swap file.
Thanks for your responses.

If time permits, maybe this could be used by default with manual config step to turn it off or expand it if necessary. Just a thought. If useful, run with it.

Cheers Smile

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1875
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 03:06    Post subject: Re: SWAP partition is not picked up on initial Live media boot  

gcmartin wrote:
jamesbond wrote:
... Fatdog requires manual configuration (by editing /etc/fstab) to activate the swap file.
Thanks for your responses.

EDIT: Fatdog requires manual configuration (by editing /etc/fstab) to activate the swap PARTITION, not swap file. Fatdog has a utility (in the Control Panel) to automatically create a swap file and mount it at boot.

Quote:
If time permits, maybe this could be used by default with manual config step to turn it off or expand it if necessary. Just a thought. If useful, run with it.
Well, if one is advanced enough to know about and create a swap partition, I'd assume that one knows how to edit /etc/fstab or at the very least be capable of using "swapon" command to use the swap partition Wink
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 11:14    Post subject:  

I have a query related to default action of Fatdog or may be it's how all puppy's behave.
Using Fatdog, I opend a text file in some other linux partition using geany and without doing any changes just closed it. Will there be any changes to that file's attributes or attributes of any of it's parent directories?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8550
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2012, 11:28    Post subject:  

spandey wrote:
Using Fatdog, I opend a text file in some other linux partition using geany and without doing any changes just closed it. Will there be any changes to that file's attributes or attributes of any of it's parent directories?

There shouldn't be. But geany does some hidden stuff that basic text editors like leafpad do not. So I wouldn't want to swear to it.

Did you actually see something change?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0796s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]