Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 05:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Empty menu entries...DOH!
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Flash858


Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 99
Location: Chandler, Arizona

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 03:58    Post_subject:  Empty menu entries...DOH!
Sub_title: Stumped...
 

Hi gang -

I have about 6 installs of Puppy Slacko and Precise and on one of my precise installs, I have a little annoying glitch:

OK, so every time the "fixmenus" is run (i.e. every time I install something new), I have 2 empty entries at the top of my Utilities menu, and the Solitaire entry, which I moved manually, returns there from the "Fun" menu where I put it.

So, I guess my root question is: from what data does the fixmenus command draw when it generates the .jwmrc file, and is there a way to edit that data so I do not have to keep editing .jwmrc?

Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2012, 05:45    Post_subject:  

Your menus are made up from the xxxx.desktop files in /usr/share/applications directory. If you open with a text editor the xxxx.desktop that pertains to the solitaire game, the category should be “Categories=Game;” only.

Never edit /root/.jwmrc because it gets overwritten each time fixmenus is run in terminal. Of course anytime you make a change to a xxxx.desktop file, fixmenus needs to be run.

duke
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash858


Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 99
Location: Chandler, Arizona

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 03:35    Post_subject: Yes, but...  

I am aware of that. I just cannot find any valid reason for the 2 blank entries. I was expecting to see a couple of blank .desktop files in the applications folder, but there are none.

Does anyone have any idea where these ghost entries are coming from?

_________________
Currently running Puppy 5.4, and Ubuntu 12.04, to be precise... Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 06:37    Post_subject:  

I'am guessing you have a messed up save file, if it is a frugal install. Temporarily start that puppy with the “pfix=ram” on the kernel line of your grub menu.lst file for that puppy, so the save file is not used. If the blanks are gone, that proves it is in your save file.

Something you added has a bad .desktop file with a missing Name, Icon and/or Exec line, if clicking the blank doesn’t start any app. That .desktop file should have a category that places it in Utility menu.

duke
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7083
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 06:57    Post_subject:  

Yeah, I got this problem awhile back. It is not Precise's fault, there is a package, it might have been a PET or a DEB, I don't recall, that has a really bad .desktop file.

I think that it will have "Categories=Utility" in it, maybe, so you can probably find which .desktop is to blame, then go and scream at the developer Smile

Code:
grep 'Utility' /usr/share/applications/*.desktop


...might find all the contenders.

Or, as the problem has been introduced by a package that you have installed, look for the names of the .desktop files in /root/.packages/*.files.

Or, you are using a very old version alpha/beta of Precise. I vaguely recall an old build having the offending pkg builtin, but not sure if I remember that right.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Flash858


Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 99
Location: Chandler, Arizona

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2012, 04:21    Post_subject:  Solved!
Sub_title: Thanks!
 

Thanks Barry - That was it. One named puppy.desktop, and the other was an icon set (simple) from puppy-look.

Once removed, all is well!

I learn something every day on these forums... Smile

_________________
Currently running Puppy 5.4, and Ubuntu 12.04, to be precise... Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0550s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]