Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 13:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-611 Final (Updated 12-14-2012)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 23 [339 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 07:07    Post subject:  

kirk:
jamesbond:

My install was a clean install with a new savefile.

Just to be sure I booted to savefile=none.

Not able to establish a connection.

did depmod first.

Then modprobe lib80211.
 
then insmod /usr/share/broadcom/wl.ko.

same result.

dmesg attached.

The problem must be at my end so don't waste to much time trying to solve it.

Thanks irishrm.
dmesg.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  dmesg.zip 
Filesize  9.96 KB 
Downloaded  460 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2055
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 08:50    Post subject:  

- nvidia driver posted in mydrive.ch, see first page of this thread.
- iron browser 23.0.1300 sfs available on ibiblio and its mirrors.
- irishrm let me do a few more tests and get back to you. I assume you got the seamonkey iso?

EDIT: irishrm - please do this. It should work now.
Code:
modprobe lib80211
modprobe cfg80211
insmod /usr/share/broadcom/wl.ko


cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 09:21    Post subject:  

kirk:
jamesbond:

Your last code worked.
Did the required steps to connect and am now up and running.

I'm using the firefox iso.

Thanks to you both for sticking with it. It can't be easy having people asking for help all the time.

irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 10:25    Post subject:  

Thanks James, I should have ran modinfo on the wl module to find that dependency.

Thanks for finding the bug and testing Irishrm. I've attached a pet that has the fixed /etc/init.d/BC-wl script that loads the wl module.

Only install this pet if you want to use the proprietary Broadcom wl driver because it's enabled by default.
Broadcom-wl.pet
Description  Only install this pet if you want to use the proprietary Broadcom wl driver.
pet

 Download 
Filename  Broadcom-wl.pet 
Filesize  548 Bytes 
Downloaded  455 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5684
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 16:11    Post subject:  

Quick live test of Fatdog64-610 SeaMonkey.....all basics working ootb..... no problems yet.

-Computer-
Processor : 4x AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 620 Processor
Memory : 3787MB (253MB used)
Machine Type : Physical machine
Operating System : Fatdog64 [683289d3a5]
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sat Dec 1 14:09:23 2012
-Display-
Resolution : 1366x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on NV4C
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 16:11    Post subject:    

Thanks for your super operating system. It's working great on my hardware. Very Happy

Also, thank you for continuing to support Bibletime. See my post here.

Kudos, Very Happy
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5684
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 16:23    Post subject:  

Since I'm feeling lazy today, I placed a savefile on an NTFS partition ...... no problem there either.All looking good so far. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2055
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 08:00    Post subject:  

smokey01 found out that right-click "mediaplayer" on cd audio won't work. Here is the patch to make it work.
play-cd.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  play-cd.pet 
Filesize  2.48 KB 
Downloaded  405 Time(s) 

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1255

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 09:54    Post subject: old video problem bites me  

This is not anything new, but it hit me hard while testing 610. I was moving parts between machines while building a new one. At one point I borrowed the graphics card, and went back to the integrated graphics on the old machine.

If I were booting an old version, I would get into a situation where the old and new video did not match, dumping me into a text console where I could run xorgwizard. On a new installation, I could start with "pfix=nox, xorgwizard" to make sure I had a chance to fix graphics.

The catch here is that some kinds of video screw up when you try to use framebuffer video, as Fatdog does by default. (Another peeve of mine is that it tends to choose microscopic text when it finds a large monitor.) I want an option to avoid all modifications of original console video until I get a chance to configure.

I suppose it goes without saying that I have the problem of unintelligible video when I exit from X. There is also a complete lack of ways around this (as far as I can see.) if I boot with pfix=vesa. I can get a desktop, but still have no way to configure anything better.

This can't be an unusually rare problem, I have two motherboards with integrated graphics which need off-board graphics to run Fatdog: an Asus M2NPV-VM motherboard with nVidia graphics and an MSI 880GM-E43 with ATI/AMD graphics. Some people with the same boards may not have the problem. This turns up because of tiny variations in timing in the shared memory and GPU. It has been around for a long time. (Anyone remember the i740 and i810?)

I've worked around this up until now, hoping that Fatdog would not have the problem after early teething problems were solved. Until I borrowed a graphics card for another build I had almost forgotten I was using workarounds.

The machine I'm building has to run W7 because that is what the people I'm building it for use. (Ugh!) During a weekend of frustration with gotchas in Windoze installation I've had far too many experiences of the "you can't get there from here" variety. Please save naive users of Fatdog from this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 11:16    Post subject:  

By default Intel, Nouveau (Nvidia), and ATI kernel modules load with KMS enabled. This is best way. In fact, the only way for most Intel and many of the others. These modules also need the framebuffer console modules loaded as well.

If you don't want KMS enabled and you don't want Xorg to start, on the kernel line put:

Code:
nomodeset pfix=nox


Once you boot, to run the old xorgwizard from Puppy, at the prompt type:

Code:
xorgwizard-old



To boot with Xorg using the Vesa driver, which usually means you're out of luck using the included open source drivers:

Code:
nomodeset pfix=vesa


I'll check on manually setting the vesa resolution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1255

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 12:28    Post subject:  

Just pulled graphics card from the machine with the Asus M2NVP-VM motherboard and ran off DVD with:

Code:
fatdog nomodeset pfix=nox savefile=none


This does show a standard text console all the way to the prompt.

At prompt ran xorgwizard-old.

Next problem, tried this with and without graphics card, and never succeeded in configuring much of anything. I keep getting the defective report screen with resolution and refresh rates missing at the end.

Both configurations have no trouble configuring X via text console under Lupu 5.28.005. (This uses the nv driver on the machine I'm currently testing.) Both the machines with problems have 8 GB RAM, so Fatdog is otherwise a natural. As far as I know there is no fundamental difference in graphics between 32 bit and 64 bit -- if you get to the right addresses.

Other comment: even if this worked, "nomodeset pfix=nox" and "xorgwizard-old" would not be anyone's first guess. What to try on difficult systems needs to be documented on the help screens at boot where it is possible to read.

Public perception of a computer wonk is something like the systems programmer in Jurassic park who left a logic bomb in the software which wouldn't give anyone control unless they said the "magic word". Wonder where people get these ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4128
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 12:56    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
...To boot with Xorg using the Vesa driver, which usually means you're out of luck using the included open source drivers:
Code:
nomodeset pfix=vesa
I'll check on manually setting the vesa resolution.
I have a ASUS MSN2-SLI Deluxe board with a PCI-e nVivia 250 card.

Can I get VESA to go beyond 1024x768 in FATDOG? If so, how?

ALSO
@Shinobar makes an excellent FirstRUN script which summarizes much of our needs in a single screen. Its mature (over 3 yeas of development), friendly, and has excellent transparency and clarity. Can his utility be added to the control panel? Is there any specifics why it shouldn't be used? (REASON: For simple system start up, FATDOG has too many screens that MUST be interacted with to get the system to a point that his single screen does for us at any system start or its use.)

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by gcmartin on Mon 03 Dec 2012, 13:05; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4776
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 13:02    Post subject:  

Sometimes, with difficult board/video/distro combos, I've had success of a sort using the cheat codes :
vga=normal screen=800x600

Of course, this only applies to the booting into the prompt; after that anything can happen. However, CTRL-ALT-BKSPCE will generally put you back to the prompt with visible 800x600 res. From there you can at least see what you're doing! Just keep trying various monitor/screen res. until you hit a winning combo. Try running max monitor setting with modest screen res. If all else fails you may be able to get a VESA picture. Then again....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1255

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 13:39    Post subject:  

Follow-up: Just tried Precise Puppy 5.4.2, in case the problem was related to address extension. First, the automagic configuration worked. Second, booting with "pfix=nox,ram" took me to a text console from which xorgwizard ran as expected.

One time I booted with nothing but the integrated nVidia graphics, a second time I ran with off-board ATI graphics (Radeon 5450). The first ran with the nouveau driver, the second with the radeon driver.

When I forgot to reinsert the graphics card, once, I accidentally confirmed that Fatdog doesn't catch the change from the off-board graphics to integrated graphics, though it thinks it can handle it. I get a black screen with nothing but a cursor.

Any suggestions on other OSes to test which would help isolate the problem?

@Sage: you have to be careful about advice for ordinary puplets versus fatdog. The kernel arguments for booting are different. "vga=normal" was on my kernel line. I haven't tried the "screen" argument. Booting with "pfix=vesa" gets me to a desktop, but there appears to be no way to correct the problem with drivers.

@Sage and off-topic: when you tested puppy on that AMD socket 754 machine with SiS graphics were you perchance using something sold as the "ICE-CUBE"? I've got one which has been the source of considerable frustration. Problems getting a file to reflash that BIOS make me suspect the BIOS, and perhaps the design, was pirated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4128
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 14:16    Post subject:  

Hi @Sage.

I'm not sure if you were offering for my post or if it was a general find that you were able to test.

But, if it was directed at advice for my post, then am I to assume that you are suggesting that the monitor is the problem with getting the system to spread out over the monitor surface at a higher resolution in VESA. Is that what you are trying to show? If that is the intent, is there something special, lacking in VESA as it cannot "see" the monitor or is there something else?

Thought I'd ask because of timeliness of your post. Thanks in advance

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 23 [339 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1199s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0302s) ][ GZIP on ]