Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 22:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
X doesn't work.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
karbono

Joined: 01 Dec 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 07:58    Post subject:  X doesn't work.
Subject description: CTRL+ALT+F4 briefly displays desktop
 

I'm booting PL from a USB thumb drive created with unetbootin (I don't have a cd recorder right now). Everything seems normal until it tries to load X. I see some scrambled graphics and then it's a black screen.

I tried CTRL + ALT + F1 and xorgwizard to load a vesa driver, but still no luck. I tried LCD 1024x768 16bit and 24 bit.

I'm doing this on a HP Omnibook Xe3 (Celeron) and 256 MB of RAM.

If I press CTRL + ALT + F4 I see the desktop for a brief moment...


Any help appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
karbono

Joined: 01 Dec 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 08:04    Post subject:  

Graphics display info:

14.1 XGA (1024x768) TFT LCD display
Supports simultaneous LCD/CRT, LCD/CRT/TV operation
Integrated VGA
8- to 32-MB video memory (depending on model, shared with system memory)
Supports NTSC and PAL TV
Dual display for LCD and external monitor or TV



I'm using the latest Retro Precise version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 14:47    Post subject: Re: X doesn't work.
Subject description: CTRL+ALT+F4 briefly displays desktop
 

karbono wrote:
I'm booting PL from a USB thumb drive created with unetbootin (I don't have a cd recorder right now). Everything seems normal until it tries to load X. I see some scrambled graphics and then it's a black screen.

I tried CTRL + ALT + F1 and xorgwizard to load a vesa driver, but still no luck. I tried LCD 1024x768 16bit and 24 bit.

I'm doing this on a HP Omnibook Xe3 (Celeron) and 256 MB of RAM.

If I press CTRL + ALT + F4 I see the desktop for a brief moment...


Any help appreciated.


Hi,

have you tried the xorgwizard 'vesa' '800x600x16 LCD' mode (eq. SVGA 800x600 mode) jet?
OmniBook XE3 Specs.png
 Description   
 Filesize   30.98 KB
 Viewed   394 Time(s)

OmniBook XE3 Specs.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
karbono

Joined: 01 Dec 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 12:20    Post subject:  

I used the usb thumb drive to boot a Sony Vaio. I created a save file from that laptop. When I used the same thumb drive to try and boot the HP laptop again, it just worked. Shocked

I noticed it loaded the save file I made with the Vaio, but was curious as to what was going to happen... I guess it worked itself out somehow.


Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5231
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 18:17    Post subject:  

If you use the thumb drive on different computers it is a good idea to make a separate save file for each one.
The save file will have specific settings info for a specific computer it was made on.
On boot you will get option to choose which save file to use.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
karbono

Joined: 01 Dec 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 17:11    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
If you use the thumb drive on different computers it is a good idea to make a separate save file for each one.
The save file will have specific settings info for a specific computer it was made on.
On boot you will get option to choose which save file to use.


Yes, I understand that, but at that point I was just testing and didn't care. I'm glad I tried it, or I would probably still be having the issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0512s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]