Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 15:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How do I find 'menu.lst'?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
parcdulas

Joined: 01 Dec 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 19:37    Post subject:  How do I find 'menu.lst'?  

I have done a full install of puppy 5.4.1 to the hard disk in an ancient laptop (Toshiba satellite pro 4200) and 'New Grub Text' has opened with some text to insert in 'menu.lst' but I don't know how to find menu.lst. Please help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
parcdulas

Joined: 01 Dec 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 20:08    Post subject:  

I exited the file (New Grub Text) and a message came up to say ther was no need to add the text.

I rebooted the computer to make sure that it could now boot from the hard disk and got the following message:

Code:

GRUB loading stage1.5.

GRUB loading please wait

Error 15


and the laptop hung up so something is wrong in the way I did the install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 20:27    Post subject:  

Boot off your Live CD again. Go to the System menu and run Grub4Dos Bootloader Config. It will set up GRUB for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
parcdulas

Joined: 01 Dec 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 16:15    Post subject:  

Thanks,

Ran 'Grub4DOS config' and it has written a Grub loader that offers:

Windows
Advanced Menu

As there is no windows on the hard disk I picked 'Advanced menu' and one of the options this gave was something like ' unknown executable' so it would appear that my attempts to install have failed to write PUPPY properly.. As clicking 'BROWSE' on the desktop causes the CD drive to run virtually continuously does this mean that Puppy 5.4.1 will not run on my hardware or that the ISO on the CD is corrupt?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 16:53    Post subject:  

Go here and get the one-click installer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
parcdulas

Joined: 01 Dec 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 18:07    Post subject:  

Thanks,

I tried one more time and for some reason it all seemed to work this time!

I now have a working Puppy 541 on my hard drive. I now have to try out the variuos functions (Browser etc) to see if all is OK. Is it worth trying with the new 5.4.2 or should I leave it alone?

If I have any more trouble I'll definitely down load your script file.

Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
parcdulas

Joined: 01 Dec 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 18:46    Post subject:  

Well, things are working but very very slowly! To load up the first sign of Sea Monkey browser took 4 minutes with another 4 until it was sort of functional. (The hard disk being accessed all of the time) I suppose that is because there is only 64MB of Ram so the swap file is providing all the extra needed. The laptop is so old that it can only have an extra 48 MB RAM I believe and that at a silly price.

It seems I need an OS that is not so hungry for RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 21:44    Post subject:  

parcdulas wrote:
I suppose that is because there is only 64MB of Ram so the swap file is providing all the extra needed. ...It seems I need an OS that is not so hungry for RAM

Five years ago, 64 MB was considered low-memory for Puppy. You should look at some old versions from here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0503s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]