Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 18:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4.3
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1125

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 17:50    Post subject:  

Sorry for the off-topic

@James C

How can I install the system details panel you have on the top-right corner of your screenshots? Is it conky? Are there any .pet packages for that?

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5896
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 01 Dec 2012, 18:39    Post subject:  

vicmz wrote:
Sorry for the off-topic

@James C

How can I install the system details panel you have on the top-right corner of your screenshots? Is it conky? Are there any .pet packages for that?


Yes, it's just Conky with a tweaked config. There are conky packages in the Precise repo in the PPM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1125

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 00:29    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
vicmz wrote:
Sorry for the off-topic

@James C

How can I install the system details panel you have on the top-right corner of your screenshots? Is it conky? Are there any .pet packages for that?


Yes, it's just Conky with a tweaked config. There are conky packages in the Precise repo in the PPM.

Thanks Very Happy

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 11:03    Post subject:  

I ran Precise 5.4.2 for a couple of days and it seems to be solid with the
exception that it black screens on about 20% of startups and it still fails
to start up at all on one of my PCs. I post this because I've become
curious about the reason(s) all four of my various PCs having Pentium 4
cpus have problems with Pups built on 3. something kernels but have no
such problems running Pups built on earlier kernels. Why???

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5896
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 12:59    Post subject:  

vicmz wrote:
James C wrote:
vicmz wrote:
Sorry for the off-topic

@James C

How can I install the system details panel you have on the top-right corner of your screenshots? Is it conky? Are there any .pet packages for that?


Yes, it's just Conky with a tweaked config. There are conky packages in the Precise repo in the PPM.

Thanks Very Happy


Just a bonus Conky screenshot....... Smile
Conky Exprimo.png
 Description   
 Filesize   160.95 KB
 Viewed   1763 Time(s)

Conky Exprimo.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 653
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 20:14    Post subject: what graphics systems?  

G'day Art,

I have slightly similar problems with virtually all PAE-enabled Puppies giving black-screens soon after running - they all start up. Retros are all fine so far.

I put this down to my particular Radeon graphics card and the drivers offered by the various Linux distributions.

Are your four computers using the same graphics cards/system?

If not, if you listed the various graphics for each computer perhaps someone could give some help for you (and for me too, come to think of it).

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eps

Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2012, 22:25    Post subject: precise 542 and upup precise
Subject description: In full install not see my cdrom
 

not see dvdrom in fullinstall
idem samsung camera
livecd and frugal works good
best whishes
thanks
eps
probepart.png
 Description   
 Filesize   12.15 KB
 Viewed   1638 Time(s)

probepart.png

probedisk.png
 Description   
 Filesize   5.41 KB
 Viewed   1617 Time(s)

probedisk.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WB7ODYFred


Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Posts: 104
Location: Oregon & Washington

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 04:48    Post subject: Retro Precise 5.4.2.iso Torrent Download file attached.
Subject description: command line example to make a torrent file
 

Retro Precise 5.4.2 Readme file
http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/precise-5.4.2-retro/precise-5.4.2-retro-README.htm

Here is the command to create this torrent
mktorrent -a udp://tracker.publicbt.com:80/announce,udp://tracker.istole.it:80/announce,http://tracker.coppersurfer.tk:6969/announce,http://tracker.torrentbay.to:6969/announce,http://puto.me:6969/announce -c "Puppy Linux Retro Precise based on Ubuntu Precise Pangolin 12.04.1+ " -w http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/precise-5.4.2-retro/retroprecise-5.4.2.iso,http://ftp.nluug.nl/ibiblio/distributions/quirky/precise-5.4.2-retro/retroprecise-5.4.2.iso -o retroprecise-5.4.2.iso.torrent retroprecise-5.4.2.iso

http://www.datafilehost.com/download-1816ebd4.html Download Link for retroprecise-5.4.2.iso.torrent

AARF Example on creating Torrents TO SHARE
http://puppylinux.info/topic/pet-for-mktorrent-make-torrent-files-with-webseeds-and-distribute-your-files-far-and-wide

http://ftp.nluug.nl/ibiblio/distributions/quirky/precise-5.4.2-retro/ NLUUG download site
http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/precise-5.4.2-retro/ Ibiblio Download Site


How To use ZIP command to create a ZIP file
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54552&sid=10b758dc49728f40924e2005c175ca3d

Command to create a ZIP file from a torrent file.
zip retroprecise-5.4.2.iso.torrent.zip retroprecise-5.4.2.iso.torrent
retroprecise-5.4.2.iso.torrent.zip
Description  zipped retroprecise-5.4.2.iso.torrent file Also located for download at http://www.datafilehost.com/download-1816ebd4.html
zip

 Download 
Filename  retroprecise-5.4.2.iso.torrent.zip 
Filesize  16.21 KB 
Downloaded  310 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 12:07    Post subject:  

Hello davids45.

You may be right that video driver versions are the "black screen"
culprit. I began to associate the black screen problem with Pups
on 3.X kernels since slacko, racy and precise all have the problem,
at least with PAE versions. I noticed that Barry remarked that the
only other difference (precise) between PAE and Retro is video
drivers. My tests on Precise Retro also indicated no black screen
problem. But 5.4.2 Retro still freezes during startup at the line
"Recognising media devices ... optical input" on one machine.

None of my PCs have the Radeon video. Two of my PCs have some
old Nvidia and the other two have some versions of (on board)
Intel hardware. I seem to recall that forcing Vesa on one of my
tests cleared up the black screen problem. So that's one
indication that it may be a driver issue.

To be clear, "black screen" here means "mostly black" since the
toolbar at the bottom of the screen is visible and useable so
that you can select Menu-Shutdown-Restart x server to get the
full gui screen. That's another reason why I'm not so sure it's
as simple as video driver versions. Why should video work ok
once you restart x if it's a driver problem? I would expect far
worse behaviour with video driver problems.

I couldn't care less for myself about these issues. My concern
is that new users may get turned off of Puppy at the first
black screen and never return Smile

Since I'm obviously confused by all I've seen, I've been hoping
that Barry or some other expert would shed some light. I'd be
perfectly happy to do some guided testing.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5255
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 13:18    Post subject:  

artsown,

Yes it is related to the graphics driver being used.
The driver that is trying to be used, at initial boot, is not completely compatible with your graphics hardware.

In Slacko 5.4 this is the suggested options to correct the problem.

Quote:
If you have video blackscreen at boot try one of these boot options:

pfix=ram i915.modeset=0
pfix=ram radeon.modeset=0
pfix=ram nouveau.modeset=0

depending on your card of course.

NB:
i915 is for intel
radeon is for radeon
nouveau is for nvidia

Vesa driver should work for any graphics hardware. It provides the basic video graphics that all graphics hardware support.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 813
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 13:57    Post subject:  

Hello,

Precise retro 5.4.2 frugal install Dell D430


It would seem that Pmusic never made it in Precise. Any one no way?


Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 763
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 14:56    Post subject:  

oldyeller wrote:
Hello,

Precise retro 5.4.2 frugal install Dell D430


It would seem that Pmusic never made it in Precise. Any one no way?


Cheers


See Barry's blog :http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00004

_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, Quirky, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 16:08    Post subject:  

Thanks for the input, bigpup.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2012, 06:56    Post subject:  

Ref. /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps

24x24 boxes aren`t RGB`s

48x48 boxes are RGB`s
24x24BoxesShouldBe-RGB-right.png
 Description   
 Filesize   14.5 KB
 Viewed   1411 Time(s)

24x24BoxesShouldBe-RGB-right.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7060
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2012, 07:25    Post subject:  

artsown wrote:
Hello davids45.

You may be right that video driver versions are the "black screen"
culprit. I began to associate the black screen problem with Pups
on 3.X kernels since slacko, racy and precise all have the problem,
at least with PAE versions. I noticed that Barry remarked that the
only other difference (precise) between PAE and Retro is video
drivers. My tests on Precise Retro also indicated no black screen
problem. But 5.4.2 Retro still freezes during startup at the line
"Recognising media devices ... optical input" on one machine.

None of my PCs have the Radeon video. Two of my PCs have some
old Nvidia and the other two have some versions of (on board)
Intel hardware. I seem to recall that forcing Vesa on one of my
tests cleared up the black screen problem. So that's one
indication that it may be a driver issue.

To be clear, "black screen" here means "mostly black" since the
toolbar at the bottom of the screen is visible and useable so
that you can select Menu-Shutdown-Restart x server to get the
full gui screen. That's another reason why I'm not so sure it's
as simple as video driver versions. Why should video work ok
once you restart x if it's a driver problem? I would expect far
worse behaviour with video driver problems.

I couldn't care less for myself about these issues. My concern
is that new users may get turned off of Puppy at the first
black screen and never return Smile

Since I'm obviously confused by all I've seen, I've been hoping
that Barry or some other expert would shed some light. I'd be
perfectly happy to do some guided testing.

Art


Your problem is that ROX-Filer is failing to start.

In /root/.xinitrc you will see this code:

Code:
#w468 on old PCs rox sometimes does not start, see further down...
#120718 raspi sometimes need extra delay otherwise rox fails to start.
CPUSPEED=`grep -m 1 -i '^cpu MHz' /proc/cpuinfo | tr -d ' ' | cut -f 2 -d ':' | cut -f 1 -d '.'` #my laptop: 933.000
[ ! $CPUSPEED ] && CPUSPEED=`grep -m 1 -i '^bogomips' /proc/cpuinfo | tr -d ' ' | cut -f 2 -d ':' | cut -f 1 -d '.'` #120718 raspi: 697.95  my laptop: 4789.47
[ ! $CPUSPEED ] && CPUSPEED=250
[ $CPUSPEED -lt 700 ] && sleep 0.5
[ $CPUSPEED -lt 400 ] && sleep 0.5
if [ -f /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPan1 ];then
 rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin -r /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPan1
else
 rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
fi


For anyone else experiencing this black screen problem, but you do get the taskbar, would you mind please trying these experiments...

The above code may need tweaking. Open a terminal and try each of these:

Code:
grep -m 1 -i '^cpu MHz' /proc/cpuinfo | tr -d ' ' | cut -f 2 -d ':' | cut -f 1 -d '.'


Code:
grep -m 1 -i '^bogomips' /proc/cpuinfo | tr -d ' ' | cut -f 2 -d ':' | cut -f 1 -d '.'


...for the CPU speeds you are getting, we may need to bump those "sleep" lines.

Well, you could try some changes, for example, try "sleep 1", or "sleep 1.5" or "sleep 2" or "sleep 2.5" -- find out the lowest sleep that gives you consistently no black screens.
...maybe start with longest sleep, then work down.

This feedback will be much appreciated.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1093s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0109s) ][ GZIP on ]