Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 17:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
how do i record ISO from game cd ? solved
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
buford

Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2012, 21:46    Post subject:  how do i record ISO from game cd ? solved  

i have pburn 3.4.1 .I see this would be simple if i had the new pburn at least if it was in a .pet so i could install and use it.

My goal is to get this done without devoting 3-12hours in learning things i will soon forget Very Happy
Im sure if i was a master at searching forums it would seem possible to find instructions but if i search "iso" or "create iso" the forum just brings up everything i dont want.

My biggest hope is some helpful person will just give me a link to either a "how to" or a pburn.pet which is capable.
thanks.

maybe its possible to use isomaster, but so far, no luck Sad

currently running puppy 528 official build. trying to back up a few games like diablo 1, starcraft 1. single cd games to ISO so i will have them if i lose the CDs .

Last edited by buford on Tue 04 Dec 2012, 23:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8553
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2012, 22:50    Post subject:  

Open a folder where you have lots of space - probably not inside your savefile.

Load the CD and type a command like this
Code:
dd if=/dev/sr0 of=diablo.iso
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
buford

Joined: 04 May 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2012, 23:01    Post subject:  

WOW, you are amazing. I always love it when i can write a novel of my problems and someone comes along with a brilliant one-liner. This is totally working as far as i can see.

the only question i have is do i need to vary this code for a dvd? or same code regaurdless of dvd vs cd?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3276
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 03:54    Post subject:  

It depends on what device your DVD shows up as.
You just edit that line that rcrsn51 provided by substituting the device shown for your DVD drive for the one following the "dd if=".
The destination for the ISO file must have enough space for the CD or DVD you are making a backup of though.
Also, make sure the destination device is mounted.
You should not mount the CD/DVD device though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0378s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]