Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 12:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko-5.4 feedback and bug reports
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
tony

Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 316
Location: Montreal.ca

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2012, 16:44    Post_subject: intel alc269vb soundcard  

Hi,

Internal microphone not working in SKYPE using an Asus 1015pem computer. The sound card is alc269vb.

All seems OK in generic sound mixer.

Regards Tony.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2115
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2012, 20:33    Post_subject: Slacko-5.4 feedback and bug reports
Sub_title: slacko-54 remaster on acer laptop
 

I used my slacko-54 pae remaster iso and did a manual frugal install
to a 32gb flash drive, running on acer laptop.
Report Video 1.4 - Tue 4 Dec 2012 on Slacko Puppy 5.4 - Linux 3.4.17-PAE i686
Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Manhattan
[Mobility Radeon HD 5400 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: PARK 01.00
X Server: Xorg Driver used: fglrx
X.Org version: 1.12.3
dimensions: 1600x900 pixels (423x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
OpenGL
Vendor Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Renderer ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5400 Series
Version 4.2.11931 Compatibility Profile Context
Direct Rendering Yes
# glxgears
17606 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3521.072 FPS
21049 frames in 5.0 seconds = 4209.769 FPS
19695 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3938.939 FPS
Network controller Atheros Communications Inc. AR928X Wireless Network Adapter

With the devx and kernel source sfs files already in the remaster it
was easy to download and compile the
amd-driver-installer-catalyst-12.10-x86.x86_64.run file.

It's working well on this laptop.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   69.27 KB
 Viewed   1446 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3307
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2012, 21:02    Post_subject:  

Bug report...

When I tried to install my pet package Advanced Bash Scripting Guide v6.6
I noticed that the desktop entries wouldn't show in the Start menu.

The most likely reason is because the package has two desktop files inside.

The fix was to type 'fixmenus' after the installation of the pet package.

Note that Barry Kauler made some change to his Precise distro
a couple of months ago that solved the problem.

________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3307
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2012, 21:22    Post_subject:  

Just as an experiment I booted up with kernel option
"i915.modeset=0" on my IBM desktop with intel graphics.

The firstrun application has a confusing message. I took
a screenshot.




________________________________________-
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3307
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2012, 21:25    Post_subject:  

Geany was listed under 'Utility' rather than Texteditor'

________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
taca0

Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 00:27    Post_subject:    

X not work on VIA EPIA M, driver openchrome or vesa , error segmentation fault . How fix that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 08:54    Post_subject:  

Will there be a Fat Slacko 5.4?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 14:07    Post_subject:  

May I ask the reason for having most of the JWM main menu items broken down into submenus? Some of them have only one item in the submenu, which seems silly to me. I had no problem with Slacko 5.3.3. and the normal xdg system.

duke
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 683
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 17:15    Post_subject:  

Slacko 5.4 is working well on my Acer Aspire with an Intel Atom processor and Nvidia graphics. I am using Pmode=6 fugal install. This is the first time that I have not had a problem with the Pmode=6 fugal install. It works well. I am using the default Nouvea driver for the graphics and it works fine. Thanks for all the work.
_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mobi


Joined: 05 Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 20:09    Post_subject: PPLOG
Sub_title: PPLOG will not launch Slacko 5.4
 

I hope I'm not asking this in the wrong place...

I can't get PPLOG to launch in Slacko 5.4 Opera4 (non-pae version) I get error 500.

Machine is HP laptop, i7 sandybridge and Intel video (didn't change driver) 4gb ram, booting from CD iso image. I tried it after saving a couple of times, and also pfix=ram.

I Really like Slacko thanks so much for this!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
happyzjk

Joined: 22 Nov 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 21:22    Post_subject: why i can't save when i firstrun on USB-HDD  

FirstRun end,i check "save" ->.2fs or .4fs
nothing saved and the pc reboot,why?
maybe i lost something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
happyzjk

Joined: 22 Nov 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 21:40    Post_subject: okay  

i found the way.
My USB-HDD have 4 saved files of slacko-5.3.3
so,i delete they.
that okay,i can save-file for slacko-5.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1113

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 22:41    Post_subject:  

I find JWM menu sub-categories very uncomfortable. How can I remove them to have the menu just like Wary or Precise? I mean: Menu > Category > Program.

This Puppy is real nice, BTW. Very Happy

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4296
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2012, 04:10    Post_subject: PAE on Intel I-series processors  

Mobi wrote:
... I Really like Slacko thanks so much for this!
Hi Mobi

My comments more than likely will not solve the "500" problem. But, I noticed that your running non-PAE on a system.equiped with a PAE designed processor.

If you or anyone is running an "I-series processor" you will probably get better performance with PAE versions of Puppy. It has to do with the Linux-Puppy design, method of RAM usage, and the Intel hardware. This was shown and documented when we did testing of PUPPY with PAE earlier. Similar testing by other groups outside of Puppyland show this as well. And, this is consistent with Intel and AMD testing a decade ago. This performance increase is independent of how much RAM you have but certainly makes Puppy a capable RAM user on all systems 4GB or greater.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 762
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2012, 05:16    Post_subject: Re: PAE on Intel I-series processors  

gcmartin wrote:

If you or anyone is running an "I-series processor" you will probably get better performance with PAE versions of Puppy.


Notwithstanding test conclusions by others, in my personal experience there is no appreciable benefit from using a PAE version of Puppy.

_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, Quirky, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0848s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]