The time now is Sat 18 May 2013, 13:13
All times are UTC - 4 |
| Author |
Message |
prehistoric

Joined: 23 Oct 2007 Posts: 1207
|
Posted: Wed 05 Dec 2012, 17:01 Post subject:
soft-field.net too good to be true |
|
While searching for software for a friend who is tied to M$ I ran searches for prices on a number of well-known and expensive packages. The spread of legitimate prices for the same thing was astonishing.
One site, however, appeared to be entirely too good to be true: soft-field.net. I began to suspect this was a variant of soft-file.net, which is hosted in Russia. Here's a sample offering:
adobe-creative-suite-6
A check with network whois told me it was located in Croatia (country code HR for "Hrvatska"). Other sources mentioned Ukraine. There was even an old mention of St. Petersburg, Russia.
What these locations have in common is difficulty with prosecution for network scams. There were also mentions on-line of malware associated with downloads, as at file-sharing sites.
Anyone know more about this?
|
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
Barkin

Joined: 12 Aug 2011 Posts: 463
|
Posted: Thu 06 Dec 2012, 02:27 Post subject:
|
|
Looks very iffy ... http://whois.domaintools.com/soft-file.net.ru
| Description |
apparently the IP of "soft-file.net.ru" |
| Filesize |
5.45 KB |
| Viewed |
299 Time(s) |

|
| Description |
Russian pimp has used the same IP |
| Filesize |
8.8 KB |
| Viewed |
298 Time(s) |

|
Last edited by Barkin on Thu 06 Dec 2012, 03:06; edited 9 times in total
|
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
jpeps
Joined: 31 May 2008 Posts: 2417
|
Posted: Thu 06 Dec 2012, 02:28 Post subject:
|
|
The student/teacher editions supposedly are discounted 80%. Interesting that "ADOBE ENCORE IS NOT INCLUDED!", since it is included in the ebay version.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Adobe-Creative-Suite-Master-Collection-6-Student-Teacher-Edition-Windows-MAC-/200859719366?pt=US_Image_Video_Audio_Software&hash=item2ec42c16c6
|
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
prehistoric

Joined: 23 Oct 2007 Posts: 1207
|
Posted: Thu 06 Dec 2012, 14:40 Post subject:
|
|
I don't know, at this point, that soft-field.net is associated with soft-file.net. That was just free association on my part. I already knew soft-file.net.ru was suspect.
There is much more than a vague family resemblance between soft-field.net and soft-buy.com, which leads in another direction -- to Beijing.
Registered through: godaddy.com
Registrant: Mingxia Zhou
|
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
Barkin

Joined: 12 Aug 2011 Posts: 463
|
Posted: Fri 07 Dec 2012, 02:03 Post subject:
Re: soft-field.net too good to be true |
|
| prehistoric wrote: | | While searching for software for a friend ... The spread of legitimate prices for the same thing was astonishing ... adobe-creative-suite-6 |
there is GIMP and GIMPshop* which are free.
(* not a specialist outfitters :¬)
|
|
Back to top
|
|
 |
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You can download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|
|
[ Time: 0.0410s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ] |