Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 05:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
unable to set 800x480 on Eee PC 700
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Tokae

Joined: 22 Nov 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri 23 Nov 2012, 18:39    Post_subject:  

lsmod copied and attached
lsmod.txt.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  lsmod.txt.gz 
Filesize  2.37 KB 
Downloaded  247 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
arnid

Joined: 09 Dec 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2012, 16:26    Post_subject:  

Hi. I have the same problem of not being able to set the monitor to 800x480 in the Eee pc. This worked fine in the Racy Puppy 5.2 but seems to be a problem in Slacko 5.4 and Precise 5.4.2. I am currently using Slacko 5.4.

Did you solve this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 462

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 08:09    Post_subject:  

I've tried on this netbook 4.3.1, 4.3.1 with KDE, Toutou 431, Lucid 5.2.8.005, Slacko 5.3.1 , Slacko 5.4.0, Puppeee 1.0, 3 Headed Dog 0.0.1.005, Lucid 525 with 4.3.1 kernel, and Saluki. They all work in 800x480, as long as you select x24 and not x16, which sometimes bugs.

5.3.1 and 5.2.8 need Pemasu's laptop acpi .pet, otherwise the battery monitor will give crazy readings. Better for 3 headed dog too, because it doesn't seem to have battery monitor on the panel.

Have not tried Precise. I have read that Exprimo also works, but have not tried it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
arnid

Joined: 09 Dec 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 19:59    Post_subject:  

Regarding my earlier post, in Puppy 4.2 the xorgwizard discovered the 800x480 screen but not so in Slacko 5.4 and Precise 5.4.2.
Changing the resolution to 800x480 in xorg.conf by editing doesn't work:

Section "Monitor" #sectionmonitor0
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 31.5
VertRefresh 40-60
#UseModes "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
Option "PreferredMode" "800x480"
EndSection

and:

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
#Option "metamodes" "640x480_60 +0+0" #METAMODES_0
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "800x480"
EndSubsection
EndSection

There seems to be some function that I am not aware of.
Enclosed is a zip file with three org.conf from the original Xandros, Puppy4.2 and Slacko5.4.

If anyone could find a solution that would be greatly appreciated.
xorgconf.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  xorgconf.zip 
Filesize  4.96 KB 
Downloaded  214 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 462

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 13:57    Post_subject:  

Works fine with Slacko 5.4 on my eeePC. Maybe I don't have the same model, mine is 4G. (edit: I think not the same, 4G=701)

But it doesn't start in graphic mode except after making a save file.

At first it starts in text mode, have to type in "xorgwizard" and enter, select 800x480x24, then type "xwin" and enter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
arnid

Joined: 09 Dec 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 11 Dec 2012, 20:42    Post_subject:    

I have found a solution with the hint from mini-jaguar. Very Happy

I am using a Eeepc 2G surf 700. The xorgwizard doesn't detect the 700 only the 4G Surf 701. If Puppy is installed to 701 there is no problem but if installed to 700 you don't get the 800x480 screen only the 800x640. The problem seems to be that the code in xorgwizard which recognises the Eeepc only identifies the 701 not the 700.

My solution was to edit the"xorgwizard" in the Geany editor and change "701" in the line below to "700". In all probability this could be rectified so both the 700 and 701 would be identified in the same line of code but I am not that familliar with coding.

Code:
#recognise EeePC Asus laptop...
[ "`echo "$DMIDECODE" | grep 'Product Name: 700'`" != "" ] && [ "`echo "$DMIDECODE" | grep 'Serial Number: EeePC'`" != "" ] && echo 'timing: 800x480@60' >> /tmp/ddcprobe.txt


Also enclosed is the changed xorgwizard. After unzipping it it could be copied to the directory "/usr/sbin" instead of editing the xorgwizard in situ. After that it is simply a case of exiting to prompt from the shutdown menu and running the xorgwizard from the prompt.

The 800x480 screen is detected and running.

As stated before it seems that this "bug" is present in Slacko 5.4 and Precise 5.4.2 but wasn't there in Puppy 4.2. Perhaps some change has made it in to the xorgwizard at some point in time?
xorgwizard.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  xorgwizard.gz 
Filesize  24.37 KB 
Downloaded  228 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0666s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0115s) ][ GZIP on ]