Precise Puppy 5.4 and 5.4.2

Please post any bugs you have found
Message
Author
rodin.s
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 19:50
Location: Ukraine

cannot compile GTK-code in Precise

#381 Post by rodin.s »

I can't compile this code in Precise:

Code: Select all

#include <gtk/gtk.h>

int main(int argc, char *argv[]){
	GtkWidget *window1;
	gtk_init(&argc,&argv);
	window1=gtk_window_new(GTK_WINDOW_TOPLEVEL);
	gtk_window_set_title(GTK_WINDOW(window1),"Header");
	gtk_widget_show(window1);
	gtk_main();
	return 0;
}
using this command:

Code: Select all

gcc `pkg-config --cflags --libs gtk+-2.0` first.c -o first
It compiles in latest Racy and Slacko. Maybe it's not a bug and in Precise pkg-config command should be changed.

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#382 Post by pemasu »

Code: Select all

gcc -o first first.c `pkg-config --libs --cflags gtk+-2.0` 

rodin.s
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 19:50
Location: Ukraine

GTK-compiling

#383 Post by rodin.s »

Thank you. It works.

dam973
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 16:59

#384 Post by dam973 »

thanks pemasu! :)

I ran pmodemdiag and i post the archive as attachement .

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#385 Post by pemasu »

phy0 -> rt2800pci_mcu_status: Error - MCU request failed, no response from hardware
http://www.spinics.net/lists/linux-wire ... 85339.html

dam973
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 16:59

#386 Post by dam973 »

I'm sorry i read the post from http://www.spinics.net/lists/linux-wire ... 85339.html but i didnt understand what i actually have to do !! :(
Could you please explain to me?
Thanks a lot !!!

dam973
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 16:59

#387 Post by dam973 »

I know this question may seem stupid but i am new at compiling . :s Thank you for your patience :)

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#388 Post by pemasu »

Yeah, I posted it more for reference. I will give it a go soon. It just looks like that your wpa problem has correspondence to that that link I posted.

I will post more when I have tried to patch that driver and tried to compile it.

Sage
Posts: 5536
Joined: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 08:34
Location: GB

#389 Post by Sage »

I will give it a go soon
Can that include the rt2800usb, as well, please.

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#390 Post by rcrsn51 »

rcrsn51 wrote:You could use "rmmod" to unload the bad module, then "modprobe" to load the good one.
Sage wrote:Ta! Will do
Sage wrote:Can that include the rt2800usb, as well, please.
It would be helpful if you first provided an update on your blacklisting situation.

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#391 Post by pemasu »

Here is patched rt2800pci module.
It includes pinstall.sh script, which unloads previous rt2800pci, and loads the new one.

Cheers and please give feedback if this one fixes the connection problem.
Attachments
rt2800pci-patched-k3.2.29.pet
(7.09 KiB) Downloaded 730 times

dam973
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 16:59

#392 Post by dam973 »

Thank you a lot!!! :) :) :)
I will try and send feedback!!

Sage
Posts: 5536
Joined: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 08:34
Location: GB

#393 Post by Sage »

It would be helpful if you first provided an update on your blacklisting situation.
Rapidly getting nowhere. Can blacklist from the menu/system/Boot...
Can then modprobe or LOAD it back in again, but,
a) it thinks it's WEP only, maybe it is, - I have WEP switch off in my router and don't want to switch it back on.
b) can't find your earlier reference to an rt28x0 alternative and there doesn't seem to be one available for loading
We are now well beyond my pay-grade in SW manipulation... (try cosmology, medicine, politics?)

dam973
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 16:59

#394 Post by dam973 »

It worked!! Thank you so much!! Puppy linux community is awesome!!!! :) :) :D :D

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#395 Post by pemasu »

dam973. Great. I am relieved that the patched rt28000pci worked. If it is not too much work, could you post again the pmodemdiag tarball so that I can confirm that the error message has dissapeared from kernel messages. If it has, I will include the patched driver to the next Upup Precise.

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#396 Post by pemasu »

There has been request of rt2800usb fix also. I dont know what is the problem in Sage`s case. I checked the thread of rt2800usb patches and there seems to bunch of them. Depending of the problem.

It would need much better explanation of what is the problem....and in such dialect that it is understandable. My comprehension of Sage`s case lacks the description of the problem. Other thread followers probably know better...

Anyway pmodemdiag tarball would help a lot.

Sage
Posts: 5536
Joined: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 08:34
Location: GB

#397 Post by Sage »

There has been request of rt2800usb fix also. I dont know what is the problem in Sage`s case. I checked the thread of rt2800usb patches and there seems to bunch of them. Depending of the problem.
It would need much better explanation of what is the problem....and in such dialect that it is understandable. My comprehension of Sage`s case lacks the description of the problem. Other thread followers probably know better...
Anyway pmodemdiag tarball would help a lot.
Sorry, I have no idea what you are driving at or your intent. Since I am a sometime editor in my language, it would appear that there is a chasm in comprehension. This doesn't exist with my other Scandinavian friends. Goddag, hur jor ni?!

Oh yes, the rt2800usb doesn't work, as indicated. What else should one say?

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#398 Post by pemasu »

Oh yes, the rt2800usb doesn't work, as indicated. What else should one say?
Anyway pmodemdiag tarball would help a lot.

Sage
Posts: 5536
Joined: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 08:34
Location: GB

#399 Post by Sage »

Anyway pmodemdiag tarball would help a lot.
That's the problem. I don't have a clue what that means. Generally I don't mess with SW, it's just not within my ambit, as I said above and many, many times before.

Jasper

#400 Post by Jasper »

Sage,

So, it's your chasm in comprehension.

Post Reply