Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 12:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to install PuppySlacko.5.4 to hardDrive ?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
vmars316


Joined: 26 Apr 2012
Posts: 62
Location: Brownsville, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2012, 19:03    Post subject:  How to install PuppySlacko.5.4 to hardDrive ?
Subject description: How to go from LiveUsb to hardDrive ?
 

Greetings,
I just installed PuppySlacko.5.4 to liveUsb.
Then ran it .
Very smooth, nary a hitch ! Thanks !
And now I would like to install it to my hardDrive .
Following the guide here:
http://operating-systems.wonderhowto.com/how-to/set-up-your-computer-dual-boot-windows-7-and-linux-341450/
I allocated 20gb for puppySlacko.5.4 .

Seems like under puppySlacko.5.3.3 there was a deskTop Icon for this .
How do I now install puppySlacko.5.4 to my hardDrive ?

Thanks...Vernon

_________________
Using Puppy Slacko 5.4 on Win7 x64 Lenovo Laptop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vmars316


Joined: 26 Apr 2012
Posts: 62
Location: Brownsville, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 10 Dec 2012, 16:58    Post subject:  

From the PuppyUniversalInstaller :
it shows 4 entries. None are my '20gb puppy partition' .

I clicked on 'FileSystem in Partition' Button .
Gparted now shows the 4 entries above + '20gb puppy partition' .
This '20gb puppy partition', has a label and fileSystem of "unallocated" .

Under the "Device" Tab are two menu entries :
'Create Partition' and 'Attempt Data Rescue' .
When I click on 'Create Partition Table' Button ,
up comes a Warning Window, with a choice to "Select new partition table type" .
The default is "msdos" .
I was expecting (EXT2, EXT3, EXT4 or REISERFS) .
I would like to do "A full installation" .

Pls, which should I select ?
And what should I expect next ?

Thanks...vm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 882

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2012, 16:03    Post subject:  

Hey Vernon.

First of all, do not attempt to "Create partition table" or you'll lose all partitions (not irreversibly, but it's very hard to recover).
In Gparted right-click the unallocated space -> New
Then you can choose desired filesystem.
After that Universal Installer should see the new partition.

I have never done a full install (I'm happy with frugal), so can't help with that, but if you plan to install Puppy alongside with Win, have you seen this?
It's much lesser invasive method (but frugal).

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vmars316


Joined: 26 Apr 2012
Posts: 62
Location: Brownsville, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2012, 17:33    Post subject:  

Hi SFR,
Quote:
In Gparted right-click the unallocated space -> New

When I do that I get an errorMsg:

GParted02.png
Saying "it is not possible to create more than 4 primary partitions" .

See partitions in GParted-01.png :

What to do next ?

Thanks...Vernon
GParted02.png
 Description   
 Filesize   12.84 KB
 Viewed   2096 Time(s)

GParted02.png

GParted01.png
 Description   
 Filesize   16.65 KB
 Viewed   2071 Time(s)

GParted01.png


_________________
Using Puppy Slacko 5.4 on Win7 x64 Lenovo Laptop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 882

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2012, 18:24    Post subject:  

Yes, there can't be more than 4 Primary partitions on a single HDD - you have'em already: sda1, sda2, sda3 and sda4; sda5 is Logical.
The only solution I see ATM is to resize your Extended partition sda3 "to the left" (right-click -> Resize/Move) to make the unallocated space included in it and then should be possible to create Logical partition, but I'm not sure if it won't affect your Windows installation...

Resizing etc. is always risky to some extent, so it's better to make a backup before you proceed and make sure you will have constant power supply during the whole process.
I've done this only 3 times (successfully) in my entire lifetime, but with heart in my mouth. Wink

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vmars316


Joined: 26 Apr 2012
Posts: 62
Location: Brownsville, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 14:06    Post subject:
Subject description: Tooo many Primary Partitions
 

* Too many Primary Partitions, how to fix ?
I am trying to install PuppyLinuxSlacko.5.4 from a LiveUsb to an unallocated-Partition in my Lenovo-G770 Laptop, Win7 .
My G770 shows that I have two disks: C:\ and D:\ .
But the Using (Linux) GParted program shows there are 4-Primary Partitions already (see pic GParted01.png below) .


And when I try to Format the Unallocated Partition, I get an Error Msg (GParted02.png below) .
[url]

I've been told that to try and fix it in Linux is too risky .
I (not Lenovo) set up the unallocated 20gb partition.
Can I just merge it into the 29gb Extended Partition ?
If I did merge, How would I access it ? Which Partition is it an extension of ?
I am on thin ice here, and would rather fix the prob in Window7 , because I am brand new to Linux .

Here is the PartitionsDetail using AomeiPartitionAssistant -note the differences:

Is there a way to tell what's in the partitions , especially the two 29gb partitions and the 14gb partition ?

Worst case: Is there a way to reset my 'Lenovo G770' computer back to factory settings under win7 ?

Thanks...vmars316...Vernon

_________________
Using Puppy Slacko 5.4 on Win7 x64 Lenovo Laptop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vmars316


Joined: 26 Apr 2012
Posts: 62
Location: Brownsville, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 15:45    Post subject:
Subject description: Another thing that alarms me is
 

Another thing that alarms me is that Aomei shows 5 partitions. And no mention of extended .
GParted shows 6 partitions .
I am wondering , How will this play out ?
And still, what is the extended partition an extension of (which drive) ?

...vm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4631
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 22:23    Post subject:  

See if I can help clear the confusion.
Partition basics:
On a hard drive /storage device.
Can have up to 4 primary partitions.
Or 3 primary and one extended partition.
The extended partition can be divided into any number of logical partitions.

The extended partition is a special partition that can be further divided into usable logical partitions. No restriction on number of logical partitions. The logical partitions make the space in the extended partition usable to the file system.

You have primary partitions sda1, sda2, sda4.
Extended partition sda3 with a logical partition sda5.

The logical partition sda5 is using all of the space in the extended partition sda3.
Notice sda5 is same size as sda3. (29GiB)

The unallocated space is before the extended partition so it has to be added to the extended partition to be used.

Here is the tricky part. to use the unallocated space you will have to resize the extended partition adding the unallocated space to it.
Then you will be able to make a new logical partition inside the extended partition.

The thing is there is a chance that you will loose the already made logical partition sda5 in the process of resizing the extended partition.
Gparted help manual
http://gparted.sourceforge.net/display-doc.php?name=help-manual#gparted-resize-partition

Gparted is a good program to do what you need.
The best way to use Gparted to do really heavy patition work is to get the latest live version of Gparted.
Gparted live CD

For partitioning I would suggest you use the Gparted live CD that you can get from here.
You can download a free version to make your own Gparted live CD.
It is up to date and specifically made to run Gparted.
Info:
http://gparted.sourceforge.net/livecd.php
Download:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/gparted/files/gparted-live-stable/

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8565
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 00:19    Post subject:
Subject description: Tooo many Primary Partitions
 

vmars316 wrote:
Worst case: Is there a way to reset my 'Lenovo G770' computer back to factory settings under win7 ?

Supposedly, that is discussed in your computer's documentation.

However, the data needed to perform that recovery is probably stored in those other partitions. Once you start mucking around with them, there's a chance that you can break the recovery procedure. Simply resizing them may be enough to cause the damage.

You need to decide how important your Win7 setup is before you go any further.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vmars316


Joined: 26 Apr 2012
Posts: 62
Location: Brownsville, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 14:43    Post subject:  

Quote:
bigpup

Thanks for the "partition basics" info .
I understand my predicament now .

Would it be any more safe, if I dumped the unallocated space back into C:\ and then tried to take from C:\ to feed sda3 ?

Thanks...Vernon

_________________
Using Puppy Slacko 5.4 on Win7 x64 Lenovo Laptop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4631
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 20:46    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 brings up a very important point and warning to very much consider.

Most computer manufacturers put backup and recovery data in a hidden partition. Hidden to the operating system. Windows will not see it in normal operation.
Most likely it is sda4 or sda5 or both.

Do not do anything to partitions sda1 and sda4.

Quote:
Would it be any more safe, if I dumped the unallocated space back into C:\ and then tried to take from C:\ to feed sda3 ?

Is this how you got the unallocated space by taking it from C?
If yes,
Anything you do with unallocated space will be the same thing. Resizing an already made partition.
Just make sure to do it to one next to the unallocated space. sda2(C) or sda3.

Will Windows or Puppy file explorer show what is in drive D (sda5)?
That way you will know what may get lost if you resize sda3 and you loose sda5. Loosing sda5 on resize of sda3 is just a possibility, but you must be warned.

Just to make sure you know. Puppy can be frugally installed to any partition with no affect on what is already there. It will just be data files stored at the location you choose.
Will need to have info in the bootloader to boot the Puppy frugal install.
The Grub4dos bootloader config, that can be run from Puppy live CD, can install a bootloader that will boot Windows or Puppy, from a boot menu at startup.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked

Last edited by bigpup on Sat 15 Dec 2012, 21:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4631
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2012, 20:58    Post subject:  

From what AomeiPartitionAssistant is showing it seems that sda4 is possibly a hidden partition used by the manufacturer to store backup and recovery data. Notice it has no drive letter.
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vmars316


Joined: 26 Apr 2012
Posts: 62
Location: Brownsville, Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 15:03    Post subject:  

I am overwhelmed, so I bought some Lenovo support.
Basically they did as follows:
Create C:\Backup Folder
Copy D:\ to C:\Backup
Delete Unallocated-20gb, Delete D:\ 29gb
Download/Run EaseUS Partition Mgr Home
Create New D:\LENOVO 49gb
Move C:\Backup to D:\

And here I sit.
Aha, I found GParted (PupControl/DriveTab)
Here is the new PartitionsDisplay: (see sda3 Extended & (sda5))

http://www.vmars316.com/ShowMe/49gbPartition.png
Btw: What is an executable called in Linux ? GParted.exe ?
The FIND program shows lots of GParted related stuff, but no .exe .

On a separate sansDisk I have GParted-live-0.14.0-1.iso
and GParted-live-0.14.0-1.Zip and grub4dos-0.4.4.zip

Could someone Step me thru the process of
Setup 20gb Partition(s) in D:\ as ' Puppy Boot-and-files ' ?

Thanks...Vernon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4631
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 18 Dec 2012, 02:55    Post subject:  

Quote:
Could someone Step me thru the process of
Setup 20gb Partition(s) in D:\ as ' Puppy Boot-and-files ' ?

You are back at the beginning. You have made the extended partition sda3 bigger and are using all of it for partition sda5 (D/).
You have to make more partitions using unallocated space in extended partition sda3. You have none.
Should have made more partitions when you did this:
Quote:
Delete Unallocated-20gb, Delete D:\ 29gb
Download/Run EaseUS Partition Mgr Home
Create New D:\LENOVO 49gb


You need to make sda5 (D/) smaller.
Then make a new partition from the unallocated space that this will produce.

Do this before you try:
Create C:\Backup Folder
Copy D:\ to C:\Backup


Quote:
On a separate sansDisk I have GParted-live-0.14.0-1.iso

You need to use a burner program and burn this iso file to a CD. Make sure to use burn as image option.
Here is how to do it in Windows 7
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Burn-a-CD-or-DVD-from-an-ISO-file

Now you have a bootable CD of Gparted.
Boot your computer with it and it boots to a desktop screen where you can run Gparted.
Also has other maintenance and repair programs.

This tells you how to make a live Gparted USB drive if you can not use a CD.
http://gparted.sourceforge.net/liveusb.php

You can also boot with the live Slacko USB and run Gparted from it.

Run Gparted
make partition sda5 smaller.
Now you will have unallocated space in extended partition sda3.
Make a new logical partition from the unallocated space in sda3.
Format the new partition ext2 or ext3. (Linux format)
Now you will have a linux formatted partition for Puppy installs.

Here is a Youtube video of how to partition with Gparted.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zdgv8xOrKYs

You can do a frugal install of Puppy and do not need to do anything to the partitions you have.
A frugal install can be placed in any partition.
Has no effect on what is there. Only takes up space with data files.
If you do a frugal install I would do it to drive C (sda2). Only because drive D is a Lenovo data backup.
Do not put anything on sda1. That is a special partition used by Windows 7 for it's boot files.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 18 Dec 2012, 09:55    Post subject:  

I would not shrink or otherwise manipulate Win 7 without
having the system install disks or another method of
reinstalling.

Win 7 makes this quite easy by providing a method of
creating a system image (iso), and a repair disk. (needed
to fix boot problems and use the system image)

Always defragment any partition first before shrinking.

http://www.elmajdal.net/win7/back_up_windows_7_by_creating_a_system_image.aspx

edit:

My repair disk is on cd.
Sys image is on external usb hard drive.

The Win 7 os had previously been installed to the netbook
from a retail disk, which makes it possible to install the
image to different computers; unlike oem installs.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1018s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]