Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jul 2014, 05:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4.3
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2012, 22:09    Post subject:  

npierce wrote:
This is a continuation of a Precise 5.4.2 discussion started on the Precise 5.4 thread.

(By the way, to avoid confusion, does the name of the Precise 5.4 thread (currently named "Precise Puppy 5.4 and 5.4.2") need to be corrected, and should this thread -- the real Precise 5.4.2 thread -- be made sticky?)

On Sat 08 Dec 2012, backi wrote:
During process of downloading from repo the whole letters which are indicating download suddenly changed to lttles squares ,became unreadable .

On Sun 09 Dec 2012, backi wrote:
I am using the latest version of Precise .

On Tue 11 Dec 2012, backi wrote:
grep PUPMODE /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
PUPMODE=13


Hi backi,

Although there are a number of reports of the symptoms you are experiencing (text characters turning into little squares when installing a package) from folks running in PUPMODE 2 (full install), this is the first I have seen for PUPMODE 13.

Barry has a fix for users running PUPMODE 2, but it applies only to that mode.

Since many things could cause the text characters to be corrupted, your problem may be something totally unrelated to the problem PUPMODE 2 users ran into. But because it happens during package installation (as was the case for the other problem), it could well be related to the other problem.

That said, I have not yet found anything in the code that would explain what you are seeing in PUPMODE 13.

I have no experience with PUPMODE 13, so may not be able to help with this. But I can suggest a few items of information that you could provide which might help someone else figure this out.

1. The problem experienced by PUPMODE 2 users also caused the desktop icons to change. Did this also happen for you?

2. Do you remember what package you were installing when you ran into this problem?

3. What output do you get for these commands?
Code:
ls -ld /lib/i386-linux-gnu
ls -ld /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu

(This will tell us if those items are still symbolic links, as they should be, or if the installation of the package changed them to directories or removed them entirely.)

4. What output do you get for this command?
Code:
grep -E "PUP_LAYER|SAVE_LAYER" /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE

(These variables are used by the installation script, so we need to see if they are set correctly.)


Try SP 5.4.2.3.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2012, 22:11    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
i compiled the rtl2832u driver for precise puppy, it's needed for various dvb usb devices
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=62408


Thanks, it's in SP 5.4.2.3.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2012, 22:12    Post subject:  

artsown wrote:
Ok Barry. Deleted the old .2fs to start fresh. Started Precise 5.4.2
PAE and installed your 5422 upgrade. Did the save file for a fresh
frugal and began doing machine reboots. No black screens in
twenty reboots. Looks good. As I've said, the frequency of black
screens was about 1 in 5 so 20 in a row seems convincing that
you've fixed the problem. It was nice to see a consistent 13
seconds from the last startup screen message to the GUI. Has
the feeling of solidity now.


Good!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2012, 22:14    Post subject:  

Service Pack 5.4.2.3 has been released:

http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00069

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 11:28    Post subject:  

Precise Puppy 5.4.3 has been released:

http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00070

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4976
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 12:59    Post subject:  

Futwerk has made some new Precise wallpapers.
They are located here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=659058#659058

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2055
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 13:22    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.4.3  

I did a manual frugal install to the hard drive.

VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.4.3
Chip description:
Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1280x1024
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe
Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): intel
Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 extmod fb glx kbd mouse record
Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1280x1024 pixels (338x270 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes
OpenGL
Vendor Tungsten Graphics, Inc
Renderer Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ironlake Desktop x86/MMX/SSE2
Version 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4
Direct Rendering Yes
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
302 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.342 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.018 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.020 FPS
Computer
Processor 4x Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU 540 @ 3.07GHz
Memory 6087MB (95MB used)
Linksys Compact Wireless-G USB Adapter rt73

I installed several applications from ppm including firefox 17.01 and
kde games.
No problems so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   86.65 KB
 Viewed   121038 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1087
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 14:25    Post subject:  

Hi,

I upgraded my multisession DVD direct from 5.4 to 5.4.3.

With the minor exception that desktop icons and positions
and some file icons needed resetting - all goes very well.

I will report in the unlikely event of any problem arising.
However, I have not experienced any problems with 5.4 so
I'll continue using it and just test 5.4.3.

My regards and thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 15:26    Post subject:  

Concerning my wireless problems on the latest versions of Precise,
Racy and Slacko, one of the problems is a sudden drastic drop
in download speed while surfing. Pemasu's advice does seem to work
but I found that the power off command must be issued at each startup.

I added the following (last) lines to /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit

iwconfig wlano rate 24M
iwconfig wlan0 freq 2.437G
iwconfig wlan0 channel 6
iwconfig wlan0 power off

Then after startup I issue a iwconfig and see that the rate is indeed 24M
and power management is off. I dropped the rate down from 54M for extra
reliability.

I googled on the topic and discovered that I'm far from the only Linux
user who's been driven nuts with the power management bug. It
looks like I'm fortunate to have a way to work around it.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 16:44    Post subject: gnome-mplayer blue screen  

preicse 5430
manual frugal

I went to ted.com to see a video, it played in Seamonkey, but would retrain because of a slow internet. So I decided to download and watch off-line.

http://www.ted.com/talks/robin_chase_excuse_me_may_i_rent_your_car.html

downloaded the talk in small format
RobinChase_2012G-light.mp4

It opened in: gnome-mplayer 1.0.3

The sound was there but no video, only blue screen.

I tried the same mp4 in racy5300, it played sound and video.
MPlayer SVN-r34150-snapshot-4.3.4

I also tried the same mp4 in wary5492, it played sound and video.
MPlayer SVN-r34150-snapshot-4.3.4

Any ideas?

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 17:18    Post subject:  

Launch the video in mplayer from console. You might get some useful debug informatin in console. That video played just fine in Upup Precise using same Mplayer - Gnome-Mplayer combo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3208
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 17:32    Post subject: extract-pet  

Wrong thread Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 19:35    Post subject:  

5.4.3 live CD started up ok on a old Dell Dimension 8200 that would hang
during startup using previous versions.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2012, 19:39    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Launch the video in mplayer from console. You might get some useful debug informatin in console. That video played just fine in Upup Precise using same Mplayer - Gnome-Mplayer combo.
Thank you, here is the output when trying to play that file:

153224 mplayer /mnt/home/downloads/RobinChase_2012G-light.mp4
MPlayer svn r34540 (Ubuntu), built with gcc-4.6 (C) 2000-2012 MPlayer Team
mplayer: could not connect to socket
mplayer: No such file or directory
Failed to open LIRC support. You will not be able to use your remote control.

Playing /mnt/home/downloads/RobinChase_2012G-light.mp4.
libavformat version 53.21.0 (external)
Mismatching header version 53.19.0
libavformat file format detected.
[lavf] stream 0: video (h264), -vid 0
[lavf] stream 1: audio (aac), -aid 0, -alang und
VIDEO: [H264] 320x180 24bpp 13.000 fps 40.1 kbps ( 4.9 kbyte/s)
Clip info:
major_brand: isom
minor_version: 1
compatible_brands: isom
creation_time: 2012-12-12 16:43:57
media_type: 0
title: TED: Robin Chase (2012 Global)
artist: TED
date: 2012
album: TEDTalks
comment: To learn more about this speaker, find other TEDTalks, and subscribe to this Podcast series, visit www.TED.com
Feedback: contact@ted.com
genre: Podcast
Load subtitles in /mnt/home/downloads/
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
[vdpau] Error when calling vdp_device_create_x11: 1
==========================================================================
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
libavcodec version 53.35.0 (external)
Mismatching header version 53.32.2
Selected video codec: [ffh264] vfm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg H.264)
==========================================================================
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg/libavcodec audio decoders
AUDIO: 24000 Hz, 1 ch, s16le, 24.0 kbit/6.24% (ratio: 2997->48000)
Selected audio codec: [ffaac] afm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg AAC (MPEG-2/MPEG-4 Audio))
==========================================================================
AO: [pulse] Init failed: Connection refused
Failed to initialize audio driver 'pulse'
AO: [alsa] 48000Hz 1ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
Starting playback...
Unsupported PixelFormat 61
Unsupported PixelFormat 53
Unsupported PixelFormat 81
Movie-Aspect is 1.78:1 - prescaling to correct movie aspect.
VO: [xv] 320x180 => 320x180 Planar YV12
A: 48.8 V: 48.8 A-V: 0.000 ct: 0.078 0/ 0 4% 1% 1.3% 0 0
===== PAUSE =====

Exiting... (Quit)

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 18 Dec 2012, 01:10    Post subject:  

broomdodger.
I see exatcly the same mplayer output in my Upup Precise, but the video plays. So I cant find exactly useful debug info though there are several error messages. I have them also but the video still plays.
There seem to be some version mismatches from some reason.

It can be graphics card problem also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1048s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0097s) ][ GZIP on ]