Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Aug 2014, 04:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
latest versions of FF won't open Yahoo Home Page
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1033
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 18 Dec 2012, 05:27    Post subject:  latest versions of FF won't open Yahoo Home Page  

This issue may be specific to Windows (XP, Vista), but since version 13 some users are having a problem with Firefox not opening Yahoo Home Page. Anyone having this problem? I could still get to Yahoo divisions if I knew the URL, but the Yahoo Home Page remained blank and never loaded.

These divisions of Yahoo are typically available:
http://mail.yahoo.com/
http://sports.yahoo.com/
http://finance.yahoo.com/

The Yahoo Home Page won't load, particularly when signed in:
http://www.yahoo.com/

Last edited by nubc on Tue 18 Dec 2012, 10:31; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barkin


Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Posts: 690

PostPosted: Tue 18 Dec 2012, 08:00    Post subject:  

All of the above are working for me (in the UK using FireFox on Vista and Puppy).

Unusually I was temporarily prevented from accessing my yahoo mail a few days ago because of Yahoo's "scheduled maintenance".

There are websites where you can find out if a website is down for everyone ... http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/

http://www.google.com/search?q=website+down+for+everyone
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 1789
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Tue 18 Dec 2012, 14:55    Post subject:  

I know Yahoo 'revamped' its main page, recently... but not most of the subpages/sites, for all I've seen.

Are the users using NoScript? If so, they could try NoScript's "Temporarily allow all this page" feature (it should automatically reload the page), and see if that helps. If all else fails, go to Help > Restart with Add-ons Disabled..., and see if the page loads then. (Can't remember if that's equivalent to Firefox's Safe Mode, though.)

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * My Pidgin Builds for Puppy 4.3.1+
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5710
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 18 Dec 2012, 15:28    Post subject:  

No problem with any of the links here with Firefox 17.0.1 and Windows 7.I'll try to reboot into XP and check a bit later.
Since my Firefox homepage is Yahoo anyway, I was automatically logged in when I checked those links...no problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barkin


Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Posts: 690

PostPosted: Tue 18 Dec 2012, 16:03    Post subject:  

Makoto wrote:
Are the users using NoScript?

NoScript can't block Yahoo pages entirely, (it can't produce a totally blank page when visiting the Yahoo site).

The only other possibility which occurred to me is some sort of browser redirect : a (failed) browser hijack attempting send you to another website when you go to yahoo, which is now simply blocking you from loading the real Yahoo page ...

Quote:
... The exploit allows purveyors to hijack Yahoo! email accounts, redirecting legitimate users to malicious websites when they try to log on.
http://www.infosecurity-magazine.com/view/29543/yahoo-mail-exploit-on-sale-for-700/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 1789
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Tue 18 Dec 2012, 16:55    Post subject:  

Actually, if some elements fail to load or are blocked, it can cause a page to come up blank (I've seen it happen, though I'm not one hundred percent sure it was largely due to NoScript's blocking or timeouts that resulted from blocking).

I do doubt it's happening with Yahoo's pages, though.

...and I forgot the first thing to try - force-reloading the pages, or emptying the cache and then trying again. Embarassed

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * My Pidgin Builds for Puppy 4.3.1+
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5710
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 18 Dec 2012, 19:49    Post subject:  

For what it's worth, no problems with Firefox 17 in XP here either.......
yahoo.JPG
 Description   
 Filesize   73.37 KB
 Viewed   689 Time(s)

yahoo.JPG

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1033
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 18 Dec 2012, 20:04    Post subject:  

Mozilla Support: Firefox won't load some Yahoo sites, yet will load others like My Calendar, etc.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/808307
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 790
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 18 Dec 2012, 20:20    Post subject:  

James C, is that the Royale Visual Style you are using on XP?
_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 160GB WD HDD and 500GB WD HDD, Windows 7
I am looking for a working Atari ST that can be bought for less than $100.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5710
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jan 2013, 21:24    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
James C, is that the Royale Visual Style you are using on XP?


Yes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11084
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 14:44    Post subject:  

peoter wrote:
bark_bark_bark wrote:
James C, is that the Royale Visual Style you are using on XP?

Quote:
Mozilla Support: Firefox won't load some Yahoo sites, yet will load others like My Calendar, etc.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/808307


Anyone having this issue on win7?


Here is a quote from the link above.
    I have been having the same problem for months and finally gave up and started using IE with no problem.


How convenient, Microsoft lost a customer and got her back. This is not uncommon. Nearly everyone 'reasons' that the application, in this case Firefox is the problem.

I've not seen anyone swear their trust and allegiance to Microsoft in this thread. But there certainly isn't any suspicion.

The Operating System in this topic are Microsoft's?

You all know that Yahoo has at a minimum a strategic ad selling partnership with Microsoft. If you didn't know, you have now been informed.

Are any of you having problems visiting web pages known NOT controlled or influenced by Microsoft? And/or an MS OS?

For an example: Is it hard to visit murga-linux.com and use its features and controls? How does Google work for you?

_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WindUpToy


Joined: 21 Oct 2008
Posts: 89
Location: melbourne.au Slick525DVD

PostPosted: Mon 29 Apr 2013, 05:50    Post subject:  

Quote:
You all know that Yahoo has at a minimum a strategic ad selling partnership with Microsoft. If you didn't know, you have now been informed.


MS bought nearly 50% of Yahoo about 15 years ago.
As part of the deal, Yahoo had to turf out their Linux servers and put in MS crap.

"You have now been informed."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JesseP

Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 02:13    Post subject:  

I've had the same issue with win7. You still experiencing this issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Security
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0746s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]