Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 20:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
GUI to download LibreOffice - beta quality
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 11 of 18 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
DC


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 353
Location: Maidenhead, England

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 14:35    Post_subject: Failed install  

Hi 01micko,
Here's what happened with

get_libreoffice-0.19.pet install to a new frugal of precise puppy 5.4.1

Code:
# get_libreoffice
ok
en-GB
Is it ok to build in RAM? yes
building in /tmp
this is 3.6.4test
major ver: 3.6
/usr/sbin/get_libreoffice: line 734: 21654 Terminated              gtkdialog-splash -close never -icon /usr/share/pixmaps/throbber.gif -bg green -text "$INFOMSG1"
true
true
LibO-Dev_3.6.4.1_Linux_x86_helppack-deb_en-GB
/tmp/libre_download/LibO-Dev_3.6.4.1_Linux_x86_install-deb_en-US/DEBS
/usr/sbin/get_libreoffice: line 495: cd: /tmp/libre_download/LibO-Dev_3.6.4.1_Linux_x86_install-deb_en-US/DEBS/workdir/opt/libreoffice3.6/share/xdg: No such file or directory
/usr/sbin/get_libreoffice: line 372: 22943 Terminated              gtkdialog-splash -close never -icon /usr/share/pixmaps/throbber.gif -bg yellow -text "$INFOMSG2a $LIBO_EN_US $INFOMSG2b"  (wd: ~)
cp: cannot stat `usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/libreoffice3.6-base.png': No such file or directory
/
_en-GB
EXIT="Exit on timeout"
#


The testing version of Libre office was selected.
My test PC is a AMD 4 core with 4gig of ram and a 2gig save file


best regards

DC

_________________
a little bit of knowledge and I'm dangerous
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 22:31    Post_subject: LibreOffice, get_libreoffice and Slacko on bootable usb  

get_libreoffice-0.18-3 creates a script,pinstall.sh, that changes the run action associated with the write, calc, paint and draw desktop icons to use LiobreOffice instead of the deafult values. The script works with slacko5337, but not with 5.4

This occurs with a USB installed Slacko 5.4

The following menu options do not work with either 5.4 or 5.337 installed as a bootable USB

document > compose > new document
business > sheets > new database
business > sheets > new spread sheet
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 06:51    Post_subject:  

tlchost,

Try the 0.19 version in the main post, the forks haven't caught up yet. Works fine for me in a fairly pristine 5.4 (tested on a USB install, 1GB RAM, 1 GB swap).

-

DC

Trying testing right now. It's grabbing 4.0.0.0-beta1 [ Shocked ]. Should have a result shortly.

LATER: DC, it mostly works as long as I add missing deps, gnomevfs [ Rolling Eyes ], ORBit [ Rolling Eyes Evil or Very Mad ] and libbonobo [ Rolling Eyes Evil or Very Mad Sad ]. i don't care about menu icons in the beta versions or the %U bug. If it works in the stable version then I'm happy. Beta is for testing, do we need the frills? Stable is of course recommended in the GUI. Beta works good enough.
capture9229.jpg
 Description   menu entry, no icon, yes a bug but not to worry as it's the beta, works in stable
 Filesize   16.74 KB
 Viewed   1205 Time(s)

capture9229.jpg

capture11644.jpg
 Description   showing the beta on start
 Filesize   29.93 KB
 Viewed   1184 Time(s)

capture11644.jpg


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1111
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 08:37    Post_subject:  

Hi 01micko et al,

If you load LO using load-on-the-fly (or say, seaside's SFS-Exec) and
then unload - do you still have a 20 MBish LO folder in /root/.config?

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 09:25    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
tlchost,

Try the 0.19 version in the main post, the forks haven't caught up yet. Works fine for me in a fairly pristine 5.4 (tested on a USB install, 1GB RAM, 1 GB swap).


Thanks.....all the menu items now work correctly.
I got this error:
cp: cannot stat ‘/usr/local/bin/defaultpresentation’: No such file or directory

Also, the script did not ask what drive(device) I wanted to use....I run bootable USB. It wrote the sfs file to /tmp ... took me while to find it. Perhaps add back in the ability to specify where you want the sfs file created?

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 17:36    Post_subject:  

tlchost

The "defaultpresentation" error is meaningless. Really I should suppress it, but it does no harm. Noted for next version.

If shinobar or L18L want to fork version 0,19 I'm sure they can add a choice where to save. Since this is designed to load the sfs with sfs_load (shino) you are given the choice to copy to /mnt/home anyway. Also, if you notice the splash messages they tell you where the sfs is being built so you can easily find it that way. The idea is that you can build the sfs even if you don't have a hard drive as long as you have the RAM.

-

Jasper,

The size of the hidden libreoffice directory will vary with how much you use it and what you do. Mine is only 2 M. Feel free to delete it or link it, whatever you choose.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1111
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 17:52    Post_subject:  

Hi 01micko,

Thank you for your helpful response.

Whilst I could test to see what happens if I link/save my
LO config folder, I ask (for the benefit of all) might I
expect my LO sfs to load faster than usual when I reboot?

My regards

PS I use a multisession CD with sfs files on a USB stick,
which is where I save new sfs files and data as I work - so
I very rarely add anything or make any changes to the CD.

ADDENDUM:

Hi - I tried it - there is a huge impovement in load speed.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 00:51    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
tlchost

The idea is that you can build the sfs even if you don't have a hard drive as long as you have the RAM.


Good idea...and I overlooked the splash messages.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 04:23    Post_subject: GUI to download LibreOffice
Sub_title: get-libreoffice and wary 5.3
 

Versions 0.19 of get-libreoffice fails to obtain a working sfs for wary 5.3. In precise 5.4.3 it works. The sfs obtained with version 0.19 in wary 5.3 can't be mounted. With version 0.13 of get-libreoffice previously used by mine to obtain a earlier sfs of Libreoffice3.5.0 I was instead able to obtain a sfs of libreoffice3.6.4 working in wary and precise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 07:09    Post_subject: Re: GUI to download LibreOffice
Sub_title: get-libreoffice and wary 5.3
 

watchdog wrote:
Versions 0.19 of get-libreoffice fails to obtain a working sfs for wary 5.3. In precise 5.4.3 it works. The sfs obtained with version 0.19 in wary 5.3 can't be mounted. With version 0.13 of get-libreoffice previously used by mine to obtain a earlier sfs of Libreoffice3.5.0 I was instead able to obtain a sfs of libreoffice3.6.4 working in wary and precise.
Did you build in Precise then try to mount in Wary? If the kernel supports xz compression then that will be used. Wary's kernel does not support xz compression. I tested in an old version of Slacko that does not support xz compression and it worked fine.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2012, 02:38    Post_subject: Re: GUI to download LibreOffice
Sub_title: get-libreoffice and wary 5.3
 

01micko wrote:
watchdog wrote:
Versions 0.19 of get-libreoffice fails to obtain a working sfs for wary 5.3. In precise 5.4.3 it works. The sfs obtained with version 0.19 in wary 5.3 can't be mounted. With version 0.13 of get-libreoffice previously used by mine to obtain a earlier sfs of Libreoffice3.5.0 I was instead able to obtain a sfs of libreoffice3.6.4 working in wary and precise.
Did you build in Precise then try to mount in Wary?.


Confirm what I previously said. I have builded in wary 5.3 Libreoffice 3.6.4 with version 0.19 of get-libreoffice: it cannot be mounted and it doesn't work. Sometime ago I builded Libreoffice 3.6.3 in precise 5.4.1 with get-libreoffice version .19: it works in precise but not in wary. Problems with scripts I suppose. Libreoffice3.6.4 obtained with version 0.13 of get-libreoffice in wary works in wary and precise but in wary the first mounting and/or start is difficult. Then it finally works. No problem instead with Libreoffice3.5.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2012, 06:35    Post_subject:  

Thanks watchdog.

there are 2 bugs actually, one is my fault the other is a wary "bug" (or maybe a feature).

First, when I added support for the RAM mode installation I didn't take into account that bootmanager can't shift the file like sfs_load can. If you have less than 2 GB usable memory (eg 1 GB RAM, 1 GB swap) you wouldn't notice that bug.

Second, wary semi-supports xz compression. That is, it can compress and decompress with xz but it can't mount it. I don't know if it's a bug or by design but anyway I am now testing if the kernel is greater or equal to a 3x kernel then we default to xz, else gz for 2 series is used, and this is also now reflected in the filename (xz or gz is appended). I think that is the bug you and other wary users may have been getting.

Version 0.20 should fix your issue. posting it now.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2012, 15:42    Post_subject: USB Problem  

01micko wrote:


Version 0.20 should fix your issue. posting it now.


Running Slacko 5,4 as bootable USB. Version 2 reports that it will not work with low memory/usb drive.

I have 16 gigs memory...so it must not like the USB drive. Reverting to 1.9 which works for me.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 556

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2012, 17:18    Post_subject: Testing get_libreoffice 0.20 in wary 5.3  

01micko wrote:

Second, wary semi-supports xz compression. That is, it can compress and decompress with xz but it can't mount it. I don't know if it's a bug or by design but anyway I am now testing if the kernel is greater or equal to a 3x kernel then we default to xz, else gz for 2 series is used, and this is also now reflected in the filename (xz or gz is appended). I think that is the bug you and other wary users may have been getting.

Version 0.20 should fix your issue. posting it now.


Testing successfull. Builded working Libreoffice-3.6.4_xx_gz.sfs in wary 5.3. It works in precise, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2012, 17:35    Post_subject:  

tlchost, thanks for testing, probably something silly I did fixing the calculations for lupu's busybox. I'll fix it shortly.

watchdog, thanks for the report, glad your issue is fixed.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 18 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 16, 17, 18 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0939s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]