Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Sep 2014, 16:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-611 Final (Updated 12-14-2012)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 23 [339 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
Barbol

Joined: 19 Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Wed 26 Dec 2012, 15:07    Post subject:  

Hi, Aung. The thing seems to be switching correctly. The three ttyUSB ports are made by the option module, and wwan0 is made by cdc_ether, a module for ethernet connections through USB if I'm not wrong. I think it all looks normal.
I'm not sure about the "APN_USER="*99#". Is that right?? It is more like the dialing number..
Quote:
It will output some "expr: syntax error" but still works.
sakis3g works far better with the full version "expr" from coreutils. I found it in the coreutils-8.13.tar.bz2 package from the fatdog repository but I'm not sure which is the best way of adding it to fatdog, I'm new to this compiling thing (compiling and installing the whole pckg doesn't look good, maybe someone in the forum could instruct the proper way).
This is what I did: downloaded and unpack the pckg to a tmp directory, then configure and compile it with new2dir. After that I copied the new expr binary to /bin (removing or renaming the link to busybox as same as withh chat).
Once done sakis works with no errors, even the interactive function is running with the line:
Code:
sakis3g --iterm --pppd
You can explore the "more options menu" for a solution. If still doesn't work can try unloading the drivers with "rmmod cdc_ether ; rmmod option", an let sakis load the appropriate ones. Or you can go back to CLI and force it to use specifics module and port with something like:
Code:
# sakis3g connect USBINTERFACE="0" MODEM="OTHER" OTHER="CUSTOM_TTY" CUSTOM_TTY="/dev/ttyUSB0" USBDRIVER="option" APN="VirginBroadband" APN_USER="xxxxx" APN_PASS="xxxxx" --pppd -d
but I'm not sure if your modem could connect through ttyUSBx, or it needs to use wwan0 (never had one of those with ether port).
Good luck!! Smile

Barbol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aung

Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 119
Location: Hervey Bay

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2012, 08:12    Post subject:  

Barbol, I have given up. Thanks for all your help. With 'sakis3g --iterm --pppd' I had to link expr, after doing the compile bit, to /bin and /usr/bin and rub out the links to busybox . (Had to get new2dir from slacko, anyhow got through it) Could get as far as No. 4, custom APN, but then 'cannot connect' in red writing. Thats as far as wvdial and ppp -d gets also. It does not do its thing in resolv.conf and does not make a 'modem' folder in dev. I use Slacko 5.3.3 live cd for internet banking so I have now done a frugal of Slacko for my internet. I feel like its owning a V12 Jag and having the road tax mafia making me take out 6 spark plugs to drive around. I was using doze xp for internet because Virgin broadband has a good dashboard with a up and down load speed graph, handy to look at when nothing is happening, no data coming in. Also have another problem with using doze. Had to go to msdog to get a direct x file for this mobo and since then my logitech trackball develops bad habits and becomes unusable and I have to clear the bios
and DMI pool and reload bios to teach it some manners. I have found its mainly the DMI pool thats the culprit but have to do the bios rewrite also to be able to clear the DMI pool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1515
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2012, 12:02    Post subject: 3G modem support  

Gobbi, Barbol, Aung, jamesbond,
Smokey01 has just alerted me to your efforts with 3G modems. Congratulations on creating an executable usb_modeswitch for fatdog64. As for automatic recognition of the modems, I will look into the details of that function and supply, if necessary, any other components that are needed.

Although I have an Athon64 PC, I have yet to install the latest fatdog. Once I do that, I can sort things out. Please give me a few days, though.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barbol

Joined: 19 Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2012, 13:43    Post subject:  

rerwin, that's great news! I'm glad to hear that fatgod64 will have a proper 3G modem support now.. Very Happy

As for Aung's connection problem, I red repeatedly that Virgin Broadband require PAP authentication rather than CHAP, and this could be solved by adding the line:

-chap

in the file /etc/ppp/options. This could be part of the solution..
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=297910#297910


Barbol

Last edited by Barbol on Thu 27 Dec 2012, 15:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 760
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2012, 15:02    Post subject:  

Has anyone managed to get any version of Filezilla running on Fatdog64 ?
_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, Quirky, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1515
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2012, 16:13    Post subject:  

Barbol wrote:
As for Aung's connection problem, I red repeatedly that Virgin Broadband require PAP authentication rather than CHAP, and this could be solved by adding the line:

-chap

in the file /etc/ppp/options. This could be part of the solution..
You are exactly right! This should be handled automatically, but the files that do that are missing. The missing directory is /etc/wvdial_options, which I attach here. Extract it to the /etc directory. It should be included in the distro as part of wireless modem support, part of puppy infrastructure.
Richard
etc-wvdial_options.tar.gz
Description  Fixes virgin_broadband dropped connection.
wvdial_options directory, to be extracted into /etc directory.
gz

 Download 
Filename  etc-wvdial_options.tar.gz 
Filesize  219 Bytes 
Downloaded  207 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2012, 16:21    Post subject:  

Fatdog is too advanced for me but want to ask anyway.

I've tried to find my old menu.lst but it is on another computer
that I have not booted up now. And using search I failed too
and on FAQ only for those good at understanding RTFM

Here is one explanation why html on local disk failed to show.
The real??? address is
file:///aufs/devsave/bookmark.html

while at /mnt/home there is nothing on sda1
sda1 is on file:///aufs/devsave/

I had no idea it has that name.

the savefile ended up on the HD but outside of the fd64 so I moved it
there maybe that mess up things? I reboot to find out. yes worked well

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aung

Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 119
Location: Hervey Bay

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2012, 19:06    Post subject:  

Hi Barbol, rerwin,
BINGO
Thunderbirds ago with Fatdog, thanks all
now i'm off to learn how to hack into the commonwealth bank to fund meself a V12 Jag!!
Hmmm, wonder how I can get 'snap to' to work on my trackball. Aung
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5258
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2012, 20:10    Post subject:  

Aung wrote:
Thunderbirds ago

"ago"??
Surely a phonetic misinterpretation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1817
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2012, 20:17    Post subject:  

Terryphi,

FileZilla-3.6.0.2 is the latest and it works fine.

http://www.smokey01.com/software/Fatdog64-600/FileZilla-3.6.0.2-fd64.pet

Terryphi wrote:
Has anyone managed to get any version of Filezilla running on Fatdog64 ?

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2097
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2012, 20:43    Post subject: Fatdog64-611 Final (Updated 12-14-2012)  

I installed fatdog 611 to a usb 3.0 hard drive with the fatdog installer.
Hardinfo isn't available so not much of a report here.
Fatdog is working well so far on this hp desktop pc.
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   37.81 KB
 Viewed   468 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   18.02 KB
 Viewed   564 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Fri 28 Dec 2012, 12:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2012, 21:38    Post subject: Re: Fatdog64-611 Final (Updated 12-14-2012)  

Billtoo wrote:
... Hardinfo isn't available so not much of a report here.
Fatdog is working well so far on this hp desktop pc.
@Billtoo, this might help.
  1. Open terminal
  2. type hardinfo
Cheers! Smile

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2097
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2012, 21:42    Post subject: Re: Fatdog64-611 Final (Updated 12-14-2012)  

gcmartin wrote:
Billtoo wrote:
... Hardinfo isn't available so not much of a report here.
Fatdog is working well so far on this hp desktop pc.
@Billtoo, this might help.
  1. Open terminal
  2. type hardinfo
Cheers! Smile


This is what I get when I run hardinfo:
hardinfo.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   16.24 KB
 Viewed   547 Time(s)

hardinfo.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2012, 00:27    Post subject:  

In 611's Shutdown processing, there "may" be a bug.

If one is to start the Save-session processing to sda1, then, 2 screens later decides to have it save to the booting DVD by selecting the "Previous" buttons, the Shutdown subsystem will continue to behave as though it will store on an HDD instead of the DVD. In other words, if you backup and change it to the DVD, the subsystem will behave as it would for a HDD instead of the expected DVD screenings.

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2012, 01:37    Post subject:  

611 has so much new stuff. Here one that might need be revisited.

I know it is reasonably easy to turn on SWAP when there is a SWAP partition present, it can easily be overlooked. Even experience "Puppylanders" have come to know that if it is present at boot-time, the distro will incorporate it into the booted system. FATDOG is not folding the SWAP into the desktop at boot.

The only reason one might not want to do so is if one is in a forensics/auditing mode or one may be modifying the partition layouts where Gparted will alert the user should it be mounted. Most of us are rarely in this mode

Questions
  • Would this warrant reconsideration where the SWAP partition gets used by the booted system without having to hunt for the reason why it is not?
  • Also, I may have missed something about Linux operations, but does having a SWAP partition negatively impact system performance?
I present this as a ease of use idea.

P.S. Over the years, I have noticed the subtle changes in Hardinfo that you continue to make. It does make our lives easier where in one tool we see so much about the system. Don't know if I mentioned this before, but Thanks again.

Hope this helps too

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 23 [339 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0989s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]