Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 23:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How do I make fewer than 4 virtual desktops?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
xan

Joined: 25 Nov 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2012, 05:11    Post subject:  How do I make fewer than 4 virtual desktops?
Subject description: In Slacko
 

I have tried changing this:
<Desktops count="2"/>
but it stays at four. This is in Slacko but I'm sure it worked in Lupu.

Also, is there a keyboard shortcut to swap desktops?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 1724
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2012, 05:37    Post subject:  

I don't know how it's done in later versions of Puppy, but under my 4.3.1 setup...

Menu > Desktop > JWM configuration

The JWM Configuration Manager should pop up. Make sure you're on the JWM tab, then click on the button next to "Tray management".

Another window should pop up with the "Tray Configuration Options". Click on the button next to "Virtual Desktops". Another dialog should appear that lets you specify the number of desktops you want (anywhere from one desktop to eight). Click all of the OK buttons to save. Very Happy

I don't normally use the virtual desktops, but if I remember correctly, it's Alt+(the number of the desktop you want to switch to), to switch between them using the keyboard.

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * My Pidgin Builds for Puppy 4.3.1+
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 299
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2012, 06:02    Post subject:  

how i do it is manually in jwm
go to /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal and open with text editor, then edit line 6 to your liking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
xan

Joined: 25 Nov 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2012, 06:10    Post subject:  

Makoto wrote:
it's Alt+(the number of the desktop you want to switch to), to switch between them using the keyboard.


Ah thanks, that does the trick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
xan

Joined: 25 Nov 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2012, 06:13    Post subject:  

scabz wrote:
how i do it is manually in jwm
go to /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal and open with text editor, then edit line 6 to your liking.


Yes I've done that, and I've tried the tray management option. Neither one works in the version of Slacko I'm using. It does work in the earlier Lupu version and other Puppies I have tried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2012, 08:48    Post subject:  

<Desktops width="3" height="1"/>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2476
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2012, 09:14    Post subject: How do I make fewer virtual desktops than 4?
Subject description: openbox
 

Just in case it is not jwm but openbox that you are using...
openbox_desktops.png
 Description   
 Filesize   21.25 KB
 Viewed   269 Time(s)

openbox_desktops.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
xan

Joined: 25 Nov 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2012, 22:52    Post subject:  

npierce wrote:
<Desktops width="3" height="1"/>


Thank you, now it works, and the tray management option works now too. Putting in the other format in jwmrc-personal must have disabled the tray management option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2012, 23:56    Post subject:  

You're welcome.

xan wrote:
. . . and the tray management option works now too.

Oh good, I feared that might have been a bug. Glad to know it's not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0878s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0404s) ][ GZIP on ]