Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 12:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
RT5370 driver for Puppy 3.0.1 (Resolved)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
mrdz12

Joined: 29 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat 29 Dec 2012, 02:46    Post subject:  RT5370 driver for Puppy 3.0.1 (Resolved)
Subject description: Driver help
 

Hello all, newbie Linux/Puppy user here.

I was given an IBM Thinkpad 600 with 98m of memory and a 4gig hard drive. I'm not looking to upgrade the hardware, so I was only able to get Puppy 3.0.1 to load successfully.

As stated, I have 3.0.1 Puppy loaded on the hard drive, and it would be great out of the box if I could have gotten the wireless adapter to work. It's an RALink 5370 from what I gathered. I've tried Google for a solution to my problem (I can usually find what I'm looking for), but being Linux ignorant, I'm coming up short.

I found drivers on the RALink website, I've tried doing the dir2pet, I've tried using Windows drivers. I'm going on 3 days now, LOL. I tried installing the pet file listed in this thread...

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=452425&sid=dc9912001f934fc9f405074e2eff1ee9

... (I know, you shouldn't have done that...I know that now Razz). Now I'm reinstalling Puppy 3.0.1 because I think I broke the 'connect' program since I uninstalled the pet file. Now I can't open up the wireless setup. I'm banging my head, and I'm not even listening to Quiet Riot!

Any help or a solid direction any of you could give me would be greatly appreciated!

puppy 3.0.1
linux version 2.6.21.7
gcc version 4.1.2

T: Bus=01 Lev=00 Prnt=00 Port=00 Cnt=00 Dev#= 1 Spd= 12 MxCh= 2
B: Alloc=0/900 us (0%), #Int=0, #Iso=0
D: Ver=1.10 Cls=09(hub) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=1
P: Vendor=0000 ProdID=0000 Rev=2.6
S: Manufacturer=Linux 2.6.21.7 uhci_hdc
S: Product=UHCI Host Controller
S: SerialNumber=0000:00:07.2
C:* #Ifs=1 Cfg#=1 Atr=e0 MxPwr=0mA
I:* If#=0 Alt=0 #EPs=1 Cls=09(hub) Sub=00 Prot=00 Driver=hub
E: Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=2 Ivl=255ms

T: Bus=01 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=00 Cnt=01 Dev#=2 Spd=12 MxCh=0
D: Ver=2.00 Cls=00(>ifc) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=1
P: Vendor=148f ProdID=5370 Rev=1.01
S: Manufacturer=Ralink
S: Product=802.11 n WLAN
S: SerialNumber=1.0
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr=450mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 7 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=ff Driver=(none)
E: Ad=81(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=01(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=02(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=03(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=04(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=05(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms
E: Ad=06(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS= 64 Ivl=0ms

Processor Intel Pentium II 300.0 MHz
Memory 98.0 MB ( 32.0 MB soldered) / 288.0 MB (max)
Hard Drive 4.1 GB
Operating System Microsoft Windows 98
Display Type 13.3 in TFT active matrix Integrated
Max Resolution 1024 x 768 ( XGA )
Graphics Processor AGP
Optical Drive 1.0 x CD-ROM - Plug-in module

Last edited by mrdz12 on Thu 03 Jan 2013, 08:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mrdz12

Joined: 29 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat 29 Dec 2012, 04:31    Post subject:  

Make that Puppy 4.0
Linux kernel 2.6.21.7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kattman

Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jan 2013, 20:09    Post subject:  

You need the firmware "rt2870.bin"!
Put the attach file in " /lib/firmware " unplug and replug the adapter and surf!

You can download it from address: http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=00250594769329972239
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mrdz12

Joined: 29 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jan 2013, 19:37    Post subject:  

Thanks for your response.

I looked for /lib/firmware , but that folder did not exist. I 'mkdir'd and placed the file there, then unplugged then replugged it in, but I got nothing.

I then tried running the connection wizard, but it still wouldn't detect the adapter.

I did see a /sys/firmware folder, but I got the following message ...

Permission denied
Failed to copy '/lib/firmware/rt2870.bin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jan 2013, 22:18    Post subject:  

mrdz12 wrote:
Linux kernel 2.6.21.7
...
P: Vendor=148f ProdID=5370 Rev=1.01
S: Manufacturer=Ralink

mrdz12, thank you for providing this critical information. It's so much easier to help newcomers when they provide this information.


kattman wrote:
You need the firmware "rt2870.bin"

Careful ...., the information you find for other Linux distributions and other versions of Puppy do not necessarily apply to Puppy 3.01/4.0
Sure, the Ralink rt5370sta driver utilises the firmware file, rt2870.bin, as do most other Ralink USB wifi drivers ...
... but this firmware file is quite useless in the absence of the rt5370sta driver itself!


mrdz12, at the heart of your problem is that you're using a very modern USB wifi dongle, which requires a very modern driver, but you're running an old version of Puppy, on old low-spec hardware!

My suggested (easy) solution i)
get an old (circa 2008) wifi dongle on eBay.

or my suggested solution ii)
install Puppy Lucid 5.2.8, and then you can use the rt5370sta driver I provided.
With only 96MB RAM this is a bit tricky, but it can be done - I think you need to have a swap partition present while booting the CD, then you must do a FULL HD installation, not frugal.
First, you should use a third-party disk manager under Windows 98 to shrink your existing FAT32 partition back to about 3GB.
Then boot the Puppy 3 CD, using the "pfix=ram" boot parameter, and once booted, use gparted to create a 750MB ext3 partition and the remaining 256MB as swap partition. Make sure the swap partition is formatted as swap.
Now you should be able to boot the Puppy 5.2.8 CD, and do a full HD installation to the ext3 partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mrdz12

Joined: 29 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jan 2013, 22:59    Post subject:  

Quote:
... at the heart of your problem is that you're using a very modern USB wifi dongle, which requires a very modern driver, but you're running an old version of Puppy, on old low-spec hardware!


I kinda figured it would be my hardware choice. I had this dongle laying around after upgrading my wife's box.

Quote:
install Puppy Lucid 5.2.8, and then you can use the rt5370sta driver I provided.
With only 96MB RAM this is a bit tricky, but it can be done...


I have a 128MB module coming in a day or so, for a total of 224MB RAM (128MB+64MB+32MB soldered). Will this be enough for 5.2.8 (any install option)?

Quote:
First, you should use a third-party disk manager under Windows 98 to shrink your existing FAT32 partition back to about 3GB.
Then boot the Puppy 3 CD, using the "pfix=ram" boot parameter, and once booted, use gparted to create a 750MB ext3 partition and the remaining 256MB as swap partition. Make sure the swap partition is formatted as swap.
Now you should be able to boot the Puppy 5.2.8 CD, and do a full HD installation to the ext3 partition.


I went all Gun-Ho and deleted the Win98 partition (thinking I would dive in and sink or swim Razz ), then used pdisk partition manager to create one partition, into which I loaded Puppy 4.0.

I'll follow your instructions using gparted or pdisk to create the partitions, and I will post my results. Worst case, I'll have to rewipe the hard drive Razz

Thank you for your time!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mrdz12

Joined: 29 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jan 2013, 01:11    Post subject:  

Ok, so since I don't have Win98 installed, I used Puppy 3 to create 2 partitions ...

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 326 2618563+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 327 498 1381590 82 Linux swap

I downloaded 'lupu-528.005.iso', burned to disc, and rebooted the laptop.

I keep getting the following error ...

Quote:
Loading drivers needed to access disk drives ... done
Searching for Puppy files in computer disk drives ...
Searching deeper, sub-sub-folders in partitions ... lupu_528.sfs not found. Dropping out to initial-ramdisk console ...
/bin/sh: can't access tty; job control turned off


...so then I copied the sfs file to the swap partition, and I got it to boot to 5.2.8. Now working on doing a full HD install.

Thanks so much for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mrdz12

Joined: 29 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jan 2013, 02:32    Post subject:  

Installed rt5370sta-v2.5.0.1-k2.6.33.2.pet, but when I tried to load the driver I get ...

Quote:
Loading rt5370sta failed witht he following message:
FATAL: Error inserting rt5370sta (/lib/modules/2.6.33.2/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/rt5370sta.ko): Device or resource busy. Maybe try a different driver.


Currently blacklisting rt2870sta and loading rt5370sta...will post with update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mrdz12

Joined: 29 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jan 2013, 02:53    Post subject:  

Adapter is working and seeing my network, but I can't get it to connect.

I'll try again when I'm not sleepy.

Thanks again tempestuous for the info and direction to take!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mrdz12

Joined: 29 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jan 2013, 08:42    Post subject:  

I ended up having to copy the iso files to the swap partition with a USB stick, then booted off the USB stick to install 5.2.8.

After the install, I installed rt5370sta-v2.5.0.1-k2.6.33.2.pet. I used the Bootmanager to have that module run at start up, then rebooted. After the reboot, the adapter was recognized and I was able to see my network.

After some trial and error, I managed to connect to the network and get online with dillo. Now checking other browser options.


Many thanks for the support and direction!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jan 2013, 09:38    Post subject:  

Good to hear. So you have a full HD installation, right?
Just a few points:
I trust you used gparted to format the first partition as ext3, and the second partition as swap.

Once you increase your RAM, you can start again and do a frugal installation. Frugal installations run entirely in RAM (assuming there's enough RAM available) and this will result in quick system response, especially noticeable on older hardware such as yours.

mrdz12 wrote:
I used the Bootmanager to have that module run at start up

More correctly, you would use the Bootmanager to give preference to the new rt5370sta module over any other modules which might compete. But in theory, no other modules in Puppy 5.2.8 are compatible, so this shouldn't be necessary anyway.

mrdz12 wrote:
After some trial and error, I managed to connect to the network

I hope you're using the "Network Wizard" - the "Simple Network Setup" is too basic for its own good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mrdz12

Joined: 29 Dec 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jan 2013, 08:52    Post subject:  

Quote:
So you have a full HD installation, right?


Correct, I currently have a full HD install.

Quote:
I trust you used gparted to format the first partition as ext3, and the second partition as swap.


Also correct. I have 2.5g as ex3 (sda1) and ~1.5g as linux-swap (sda2).

Quote:
Once you increase your RAM, you can start again and do a frugal installation. Frugal installations run entirely in RAM (assuming there's enough RAM available) and this will result in quick system response, especially noticeable on older hardware such as yours.


I currently have 224Mb of RAM. Will that be sufficient to run in RAM? Also, when I reinstall as frugal instal, do I need to wipe the ex3 partition?

Quote:
I hope you're using the "Network Wizard" - the "Simple Network Setup" is too basic for its own good.


Yes, I was using the wizard, but I was sleepy and was getting frustrated (LOL), so I was plugging in my key incorrectly (haha). My only complaint now is that I have to reload my connection profile every time I boot up, but I can live with that. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8557
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jan 2013, 10:06    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
Once you increase your RAM, you can start again and do a frugal installation. Frugal installations run entirely in RAM (assuming there's enough RAM available) and this will result in quick system response, especially noticeable on older hardware such as yours.

This is not quite correct. Since early Lupu, the default behaviour (once you have made a save file) is to NOT load the main sfs file into RAM.

If you want this, you must use "pfix=copy" on the kernel line of your GRUB menu.lst entry.

And your save file is NEVER loaded into RAM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0835s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]