Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Sep 2014, 09:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Puppy Network Wizard-Lost the modules?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jan 2013, 04:23    Post subject:  Puppy Network Wizard-Lost the modules?  

Puppy Slacko 5.3
When using the above wizard it gives you a way to load a module so you can get hardware to work . In my case a wireless adapter to the ADSL2 modem.

While using this program all the modules suddenly disappeared . I think all the files are still there just the mdule load operation does not find them .

Anyone know anything about this wizard and what might have gone wrong . Can I fix it so I get the modules back in the window?

There is a screen shot of the blank window for what its worth
ModuleLoadscreen.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  ModuleLoadscreen.jpg 
Filesize  81.29 KB 
Downloaded  187 Time(s) 

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 564

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jan 2013, 02:11    Post subject:  

Open down-left Menu-System-Boot Manager configure bootup. Click on "blacklist" or "add new modules" to manipulate modules. Do you find the modules?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jan 2013, 19:06    Post subject:  

Yep get modules on both of those!
_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 564

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 00:48    Post subject: networkmodulkes  

Control you have /etc/networkmodules. Open it with geany and see its content: in my case there are the modules for networking. You can copy it from a live if damaged. Now I am in precise and I have such a file. The location could be different in other puppies: use pfind searching "module" to locate your file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 17:49    Post subject:  

Hmm Thanks
I could not get the wifi adaptor to work . That was the problem so I moved up to "precise" myself to fix that problem
looking back into the "slacko" save file for 5.3 there was no file there of that name but there was one called "networkusermodules" which leads me to the conclusion that it should have been there but had been wiped

I'll check that out in a minute by booting from the 5.3 live disk and as I have copied that file across from "precise "anyway I'll know if that really was the problem .

I'll let you know.

EDIT Yes the modules now come up in the window so that most likely was the problem. However looking at the live CD sfs file I do not see any of them there. I attached a screenshot of the rox listing

So as I see it ,pressing the module LOAD button reads that file then the program goes off and looks for the kernel module you choose and loads it.

In my case it seems it still could not find that modue rtl8192cu and told me so. In fact I suspect it may not have even been in that release

Do you know where the actual "ko"module is stored so I can check?
Snapshot of slacko sfs.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Snapshot of slacko sfs.png 
Filesize  495.4 KB 
Downloaded  67 Time(s) 

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 564

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 01:51    Post subject:  

tytower wrote:

In my case it seems it still could not find that modue rtl8192cu and told me so. In fact I suspect it may not have even been in that release

Do you know where the actual "ko"module is stored so I can check?


Try:

Code:
modprobe rtl8192cu


If you have the module it will be loaded. Now I am in wary and the kernel modules of wireless are in /lib/modules/2.6.32.59/kernel/drivers/net/wireless. Browse in directory /lib/modules in your case to find the kernel modules.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 02:25    Post subject:  

Thanks
I should remember all these unix commands but they fade
It is there @ 353 kb and dated 30/8/12
So it must be as "~pemasu" said , it is just not mature enough yet.

OK thanks the post was to find out why they disappeared and I think that is answered now.

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0575s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0087s) ][ GZIP on ]