Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 20 Nov 2014, 19:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
How to connect Slacko 5.4 using Broadcom BCM43224 wireless?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Rydberg

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jan 2013, 05:36    Post subject:  How to connect Slacko 5.4 using Broadcom BCM43224 wireless?  

Hi, I'm new to puppy linux (and linux overall) and would need some help.

I'm sitting in school and we have a 802.1x network (I think). However, when I was logging in from Windows is needed to enter a username and password (which i have), but when I'm trying to connect via the network manager or the Frisbee software i can't connect. The software just asks for a password, and my guess is that it connects to the network and thinks it's WPA2 encrypted.

I have no idea how to do this, so I would really appreciate any help i can get. My puppy linux is installed to my HDD, which doesn't seem normal around here...

I tried some fast searches on google and the forum but couldn't find anything I understood.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 1058
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jan 2013, 08:31    Post subject:  

Puppy has a nasty habit of picking up any old wireless internet and tries connecting to it. So you may actually be being asked to supply a password for a "neighbor's" wireless.
You may need to select the correct connection.

_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rydberg

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jan 2013, 12:09    Post subject:  

Are you sure that puppy Linux is fully compatible with 802.1x networks without any modifications of the network wizard?

I saw somewhere that someone had written about some wpa_supplicant thing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 1058
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jan 2013, 14:29    Post subject:  

I think he meant the x to be a variable of unknown value.
_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rydberg

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jan 2013, 15:04    Post subject:  

Hm, okey. So you're saying that, if i connect correctly to the network, there should be no problems at all? Cause when you go and create a network profile, you can only choose WPA, WEP and so on802.1x (WPA2-EAP-...).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 1058
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jan 2013, 15:27    Post subject:  

I'll need to try here from Puppy to double check this.
I can't check at the moment as my router died and I'm in the middle of setting another up and don't have ANY wireless just yet.

_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rydberg

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jan 2013, 15:39    Post subject:  

Okay, thanks a lot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
grump


Joined: 10 Oct 2011
Posts: 104
Location: Melbourne, Oz

PostPosted: Tue 08 Jan 2013, 18:55    Post subject:  

The OP's problem seems to be that he needs to log in to the school's Windows (or maybe Novell) network. My guess is that he needs a client in order to do so. He would definitely need one for Novell.

In the school I worked in (as computer support person) the wireless was open - there was no point in having security on the wireless routers because although you could get a wireless connection you could not see anything on the network or use the internet without being authenticated on the network or knowing the proxy server details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rydberg

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 03:01    Post subject:  

You're exactly right, grump. Sorry for my incompetent question, but what is Novell?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rydberg

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 07:22    Post subject:  

Maybe I should add that it worked perfect while I was running Ubuntu for a few weeks, so I guess it's just some certificate or something that tells the adapter that you need to enter both an username and a password...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 1058
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 12:54    Post subject:  

You need to use the network set up wizard.
Tell it you want wireless, then scan. It will produce a list of available connections. choose you school one and fill in/choose the options.

_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11150
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 13:07    Post subject:  

Rydberg, it might help if you told us which version of Puppy you're using.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rydberg

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 18:45    Post subject:  

Burn_IT wrote:
You need to use the network set up wizard.
Tell it you want wireless, then scan. It will produce a list of available connections. choose you school one and fill in/choose the options.


I think I tried this and couldn't get any encryption type that let me put in username and password, but I'll try again tomorrow!

I think I'm running Puppy Slacko 5.4. I downloaded and installed it 30 Dec 2012. I can't really check that now since my computer is in school this night.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rydberg

Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jan 2013, 06:49    Post subject:  

Yes, I am running 5.4. The frisbee software says that it's going to detect encryption bu it doesn't. The strange thing is following:

When I look at all the wireless networks available I see that my schools network (LND_Elev1-1) is encrypted with [WPA2-EAP-CCMP], but when I go to the profile created automatically both Auth-Alg and Encryption is None/Open.

Any ideas why?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
grump


Joined: 10 Oct 2011
Posts: 104
Location: Melbourne, Oz

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jan 2013, 07:12    Post subject:  

Can you see the internet after you connect to the wireless?

If your computer was set up by the school techs it might have some settings in Windows to allow the browser to get through the proxy server, so have a look in the browser setting to see if it has proxy settings. If so, write them down and put them in the Puppy browser. You could sound out the school techs to see if they are interested in helping you.

For others info a school network is usually set up like a corporate network - all users have to log on to the network, and when successful a login script runs which maps network drives including the user's home directory. The small school I worked for had nearly 1000 users/clients (incl 600 student and teacher laptops), making it a as big and complex a network as would be found in many middle to large corporates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0750s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]