Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 29 Aug 2014, 16:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko-5.4 feedback and bug reports
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 19 [281 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5096
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2012, 23:16    Post subject:  

LinuxUser review of the new versions of Puppy.
Slacko
Precise
http://www.linuxuser.co.uk/reviews/puppy-linux-5-4-review-new-dog-new-tricks

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sat 29 Dec 2012, 12:22    Post subject:  

Two problems with Slacko 5.4.

The first problem is a certain kind of black screen at startup. Barry fixed this
for Precise 5.4.3 but it exists on Slacko 5.4 and Racy 5.3.9. It occurs on
about 1 in 5 startups on all four of my PCs here all having Pentium 4 cpus
with clock rates between 1.7 and 2.0 ghz. Barry said it's a problem with
Rox Filer. The task bar at the bottom of the screen is ok but the rest of the
screen is black when the problem manifests. Doing a restart X server results
in the desktop appearing.

The other problem is due to a power management bug in some 3.X kernels
that makes wireless almost unuseable with certain hardware. A work-
around is to insert the line:

iwconfig wlan0 power off

in some file that runs at startup such as /etc/rc.d/rc.local (or rc.sysinit)

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kevin bowers

Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Sun 30 Dec 2012, 13:33    Post subject: XMMS in Slacko 5.4  

I've been using XMMS for audio playback for a decade now and didn't want to change, but on Slacko 5.4 the version in PPM won't run. Trying from console there was a lib not found, GTK I think? Anyway I uninstalled and instead installed the old faithful .pet from Smokey01's site, and it works fine. Fried Hockey Boogie, anyone?

Other multimedia notes: both MHWaveEdit and Avidemux seem fine, but don't try to read recordings made by Windows Media Center with Avidemux. Not only does the importer module crash, the whole application does.

Has anyone come up with a declicker module for MHWaveEdit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 448
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Mon 31 Dec 2012, 06:33    Post subject:  

Two things Ive noticed so far using Firefox edition.

1)Unable to get the Firefox to update from the 'About tab'.

2)Audio cd's when loaded don't place an icon on desktop but will play once located in Gnome player,vlc etc.

Very nice work as always.Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Mon 31 Dec 2012, 08:52    Post subject:  

Brown Mouse wrote:
Two things Ive noticed so far using Firefox edition.

2)Audio cd's when loaded don't place an icon on desktop but will play once located in Gnome player,vlc etc.


Slacko is one of the few recent puppies that sees my 16 gig of memory, all processors in an I7 and a 2 TB drive.....

I run Slacko as a bootable USB, and have also noticed the lack of a desktop icon for a music CD and Pmount can not mount the CD. As you stated, various media players can access the content.

It is my understanding that older puppies did show an icon for music cds. Is there any way to incorporate that feature in 5.4?

Slacko is great...thanks heaps for your efforts!

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1680
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Mon 31 Dec 2012, 09:58    Post subject: Updating Opera  

Running Slacko 5.4 opera on bootable USB

Opera version is 12.11 Opera says Opera 12.12 is available:

What is the proper way to upgrade opera ? The Package Manager does
not show 12.12

Thanks

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 863
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jan 2013, 05:08    Post subject:  

This is more a problem of ffmpeg than of Slacko, but the backwards compatibilty is a headache. Linphone compiles OK in Slacko 5.3.3 but fails in Slacko 5.4 apparently because the ffmpeg version is too new.

I can compile and install ffmpeg 0.8.12 and then Linphone will compile, but that means my final executable package (and dot pet) has to contain the rather large older version of libavcodec.so.* increasing it to over double the size.

Is there any way to re-establish the compatibilty with the existing ffmpeg in Slacko 5.4?

By the way, the DeaDBeef developer points out:-

Quote:
the ffmpeg developers have been breaking their APIs many times before, and we were fixing the plugin again ang again, but this time (ffmpeg-0.11) they broke it in a way which makes it impossible to use together with deadbeef libmms plugin.


....so it is not just me that has encountered problems.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jan 2013, 07:54    Post subject:  

tlchost,

Until I package a pet, the Opera deb works fine, except for one detail. The menu entry ends up in "Utility" Confused . You can edit /usr/share/applications/opera-browser.desktop replacing Categories=Utility with Categories=X-Internet

-

OscarTalks

Yes, this is a problem with a few apps, Audacity included. A real pain. I really don't know the solution. Ffmpeg is past version 1.0 now so 0.8x is getting old. We'll leave the jury out on that one for a little while.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jan 2013, 10:44    Post subject: Two jwmconfig2 bugs and suggested fixes reported elsewhere  

Here are a couple of jwmconfig2 bugs that were discovered in other Puppy versions, but look to be in Slacko 5.4 as well. Suggested fixes are included.


The first was found in Slacko 5.3.3, so I reported it in the Slacko 5.3.3 thread, but it looks like Slacko 5.4 uses the same version of the script with the bug, so I am adding a link to the bug report here.

Slacko 5.3.3 bug reports and feedback: panel-buttons script corrupts .jwmrc-tray


The second bug was found in the current jwmconfig2 pet used by Woof when building Precise (jwmconfig2-20111110.pet in the Packages-puppy-noarch-official repo), so I reported it in the Precise 5.4.3 thread. But since Slacko now seems to be maintaining its own jwmconfig2 .pet
(jwmconfig2-121105.pet in the Packages-puppy-slacko14-official repo), and the bug is in that .pet as well, I am adding a link to the bug report here in hopes that the bug can also be fixed in that .pet.

Precise Puppy 5.4.3: jwmconfig2 "Quick Info" text for keyboard masks is obsolete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
debernardis


Joined: 12 Nov 2005
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jan 2013, 05:50    Post subject:  

Hello, and thanks for all this Slacko Smile

Bug report: I can't set proxy in Internet Connection Wizard / Setup a Proxy Server.
I think that /etc/profile.d/http_proxy and /etc/profile.d/ftp_proxy don't get executed at boot time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Tweenman


Joined: 27 Oct 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jan 2013, 11:08    Post subject: No bark on boot, no audio.  

Hello,

I upgraded to Slacko 5.4(Firefox) and I've lost audio on a Dell Latitude D610 (I usually stream internet radio); I've had no audio problems with the previous versions (5.3.3 and 5.3.1). After I run the audio wizard, I get an initial pop from the speaker and that is all.

I use Slacko/D610 as a backup, because I run an unstable branch on my main notebook.

Installed pets:

emacs24.2
truecrypt-7.1
links-2.7
tinylogin-1.4
flashplayer11-11.2...
cursor_themes.0.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 07:05    Post subject: Re: Two jwmconfig2 bugs and suggested fixes reported elsewhere  

npierce wrote:
Here are a couple of jwmconfig2 bugs that were discovered in other Puppy versions, but look to be in Slacko 5.4 as well. Suggested fixes are included.


Thanks for that npierce.

Actually I am doing a full rewrite of all the stuff in jwmconfig2, Joe is releasing a new version soon (he's up to r635 now) and some things have changed. The nifty icon changer for the window buttons will be obsolete as the icons now scale with the height of the title bar.Also, things have changed a little bit in the tray. I envisage 1 gui to control all tray settings. Why do we need a separate gui for tray height, virtual desktops.. etc? I'll probably go with your fixed keyboard script though.

There are also includes that cover includes. This is messy. I'll see what can be done about that.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 09 Jan 2013, 19:47    Post subject:  

Joe Wing has released JWM-635 which is getting closer to the next stable release.

There are some significant changes which does break some existing configuration tools mentioned in my previous post.

A brief summary;
  • compositing is fixed
  • window buttons now scale with title bar height (this breaks the gui to change the buttons)
  • the entries in the pager and the buttons in the task bar (menu, launchers) are now square, not rounded. This is by design. Windows are still rounded. This partially breaks the launcher gui (mentioned in previous post), as the launcher icons can now have a border or no border. This is controlled inside the <TrayButton> tag with the border="true" or "false". With a border it looks a little like Icewm.
  • for more read the changelog


I recommend you back up /usr/bin/jwm in case you don't like this new version.

As usual use at own risk.
jwm-635-i486-s14.pet
Description  you may wish to back up /usr/bin/jwm before installation
pet

 Download 
Filename  jwm-635-i486-s14.pet 
Filesize  91.32 KB 
Downloaded  135 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jan 2013, 09:54    Post subject: Re: Two jwmconfig2 bugs and suggested fixes reported elsewhere  

01micko,

You're welcome.

01micko wrote:
Actually I am doing a full rewrite of all the stuff in jwmconfig2, Joe is releasing a new version soon (he's up to r635 now) and some things have changed.

Thanks for keeping jwmconfig2 up to date with JWM (as well as all the other work you do supporting Slacko).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 137
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jan 2013, 16:45    Post subject: JWM shading - updated 27/1/13 - fix from JWM creator  

Anyone know how to turn off shading in JWM? My fumble-fingered mousing keeps shading apps. I could install Icewm, but Slacko 540 is so good I don't want to mess it.
** Edit - Joe W, creator of JWM has allowed shading to be disabled - see link. **

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=680510

Last edited by ozsouth on Sun 27 Jan 2013, 01:41; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 19 [281 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0947s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]