Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 22:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
ArchPup 12.12.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 22 of 31 [461 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
rameshiyer

Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 232
Location: Calicut, Kerala, India

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 07:19    Post subject: Arch Puppy
Subject description: Clock Reset
 

Dear Stifiling

Thank you very much. As suggested by you , I have solved the clock problem. Now I am getting time from BIOS. Thanks once again.. How to change clock from 24 hours to 12 hours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 07:41    Post subject:  

Firefox (ver 17.0.1) in archapps is now outdated, and because it's hard to maintain with its frequent updates my plan is to switch to ESR (Extended Support Release). See ESR overview here http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/organizations/faq/. I will add ESR-17.0.2 that will recieve security updates until firefox 19. Also will compile transmission to use qt for user interface, as in latest versions support for gtk2 is removed.
Back to top
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2411
Location: near here

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 12:28    Post subject: Re: Arch Puppy
Subject description: Clock Reset
 

rameshiyer wrote:
Dear Stifiling

Thank you very much. As suggested by you , I have solved the clock problem. Now I am getting time from BIOS. Thanks once again.. How to change clock from 24 hours to 12 hours.


Hi rameshiyer,

It looks like the time format hwclock returns is tied to a locale setting-
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-general-1/12-and-24-hour-clock-timings-arggh-152446/#post2827245

did you solved the Wired LAN problem. Have you tried the commandline pns-tool? It could be some firmwire file is missing?

---
@stifiling I agree with your approach to making archpup as flexible as possible. However, simply stating number of users or youtube views doesnt mean anything - if it did Windows would be the best OS.

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10523
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 13:00    Post subject:  

Place holder for report how it behaves on an three years old
HP Compaq Desktop cheapest 64bitmdodel. I get back
if I managed to load it.
Any suggestion what boot code to load the Arch sfs
with the Firefox at boot? I use grup4dos menulist

Iuse this for lupu would that work for archpup too?

Edit from within ArchPup but have not tested things other
than rebooting creating savefile and doing load sfs of firefox
the clock had two hours wrong time first but then some script
without me telling it too seem to have looked in my HWclock something.

Haha most likely one don\t need both rootnoverify (hd0,0)
and (hd0,0) everywhere. I am too hasty not thinking things through.


title archpup
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/archpup/vmlinuz PMEDIA=idehd PDEV1=sda1 psubdir=archpup pfix=fsck
initrd (hd0,0)/archpup/initrd.gz


So what am I supposed to test what is important to know?
Haha I must tell it to do Swedish keyboard how does one do that?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Arefacti

Joined: 10 Oct 2012
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 13:28    Post subject: frenchy, froggies, français quoi !
Subject description: help demandée
 

Hello,

I installed in frugal install Archpup next to my puppy (the metropuppy) on my Compaq Presario 2100 528MB ram.

I had a previous experience Archlinux and a great keepsake of this distribution in reinforced concrete, very educational and pacman (or yaourt) hyper efficient.
it works fine, I even wifi with my PCMCIA D-link card !

Thank you for this great job: hold good: just seen too new and Puppy disappear, not that one please.

Question: are there in the forum of French speaking people in order to help people like me for this distribution?

Example: Backups: I do NOT understand! : oops:

Well, thank you.

------------------------------------------------------------------------



Bonjour,

j'ai installé en frugal la Archpup à côté de ma puppy (la metropuppy), sur mon compaq Presario 2100 528 Mo de ram.

j'avais une expérience passée de Archlinux et un souvenir formidable de cette distribution en béton armé, très pédagogique et son pacman (ou yaourt) hyper performant.
elle fonctionne bien, j'ai même le wifi avec une carte pcmia D-link !

Merci pour ce travail formidable : tiens bon : enfin du neuf et on voit trop de Puppy disparaître, pas celle-là s'il te plaît.

Question : y a t'il dans le forum des personnes parlant le Français afin de pouvoir aider les gens comme moi pour cette distribution ?

Exemple : les sauvegardes : je n'ai RIEN compris ! Embarassed

Voilà, merci.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10523
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 13:32    Post subject:  

Need help telling it to use Swedish keyboard but
English in menu.

I first used setxkbmap se but so much have made a typo
now it works thanks.

How does one tell it to use mplayer instead of what it uses now
to play mp3?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Fri 11 Jan 2013, 17:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 13:41    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Need help telling it to use Swedish keyboard but
English in menu.

I tried to use setxkbmap se but that seems to not work in terminal?
I\ve forgotten how one do it

Archwiki suggest this
KEYMAP=sv-latin1


Me bein Swedish me self makes me wanna hjälpa dig

My experience:
Yeah, setxkbmap works on everything else except terminal.
Geany, Firefox and so on works fine.

Maybe you can pacman a unicode terminal, I think that solves it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10523
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 13:51    Post subject:  

I've tested setxkbmap se and that works good thanks


What else to test.

I guess me should change mp3 to mplayer instead .

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Fri 11 Jan 2013, 17:29; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1388

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 15:16    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:

mavrothal: adrv will be there even if only 2 or 3 MB, because it will allow easy remasters with different DE, window managers, or in other languages. I will continue to make separate archapps with my prefered applications, so it will be there for those who wants to use it. Also I think that all hard work around adrv is done, it would be bad to throw that away.


Well, I guess this is one reason we have so many distros and pupplets (with so few users each Rolling Eyes ).

However, I still believe that offering a complete package in the ISO is a good idea if you want to go beyond linux enthusiasts.
On the other hand I have no wish to build an Archpup spin.
So here is what I did:

The attached initrd1-3.patch and initrd2-3.patch files will add also a YDRV sfs in the union!
So now you can have 3 SFSs (besides zdrv) that will autoload if found. Very Happy

Currently the YDRV name is set to "archapps-12.12.sfs" but can be changes as needed in DIDTRO_SPECS.
Th 1-3 patch is for the original 12.12 sfs while the 2-3 patch is for today's version (with the adrv sfs)

Hopefully someone will put it to use...
Of course an ISO with the 3 SFSs will be bigger than 80MB but you'll be actually able to do something with it (other than download packages).

If you want to test it here is an initrd.gz that will load the 3 sfs.
The relevant names as included in DISTRO_SPECS are:
Code:
DISTRO_IDSTRING='1212ARCH09012013XXXXXXXXXXXX1234'
DISTRO_PUPPYSFS='archpup-12.12.sfs'
DISTRO_ADRVSFS='adrv-12.12.sfs'
DISTRO_YDRVSFS='archapps-12.12.sfs'


Later If you use YRDV, is also suggested to patch your SFS_load with this patch
initrd2-3.patch.gz
Description  Patch to add a ydrv, in initrd that support adrv
gz

 Download 
Filename  initrd2-3.patch.gz 
Filesize  2.8 KB 
Downloaded  71 Time(s) 
initrd1-3.patch.gz
Description  Patch to add an adrv and a ydrv
gz

 Download 
Filename  initrd1-3.patch.gz 
Filesize  3.57 KB 
Downloaded  74 Time(s) 

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Last edited by mavrothal on Sat 12 Jan 2013, 07:58; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 16:42    Post subject:  

Newly added package musl (for building static binaries) in archdev.sfs made problem in this: after ldconfig that is run on every boot it switches /usr/lib/libc.so symbolic link target from libc-2.16.so to ld-musl-i386.so.1. That breakes compiling of some packages , so I made new archdev-12.12.2.sfs with this coflicting package removed. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Last edited by simargl on Fri 11 Jan 2013, 16:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 16:54    Post subject: Re: Arch Puppy
Subject description: Clock Reset
 

darkcity wrote:
@stifiling I agree with your approach to making archpup as flexible as possible. However, simply stating number of users or youtube views doesnt mean anything - if it did Windows would be the best OS.


I don't think Arch Linux is better than Puppy or vice versa....I think they're a head to head tie. The two best Linuxes of all. until now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 16:54    Post subject:  

12.12.2... With PWireless2 working? Well... Works and look awesome!

Long time no see such a great Puppy. Maybe since BoxPup...

Great job! Thank you!

_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 17:12    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
The attached initrd1-3.patch and initrd2-3.patch files will add also a YDRV sfs in the union!


YDRV!!...i think it's unique, new, a step in the right direction away from normal tradition, and also.....a GREAT idea. ppl love new. Just opening it up and seeing it's something different attracts attention. Like, "OK...this is something different, let me fully check this out."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 1847
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 19:31    Post subject: Re: frenchy, froggies, français quoi !
Subject description: help demandée
 

Hi

Arefacti wrote:
...
Question: are there in the forum of French speaking people in order to help people like me for this distribution?

Example: Backups: I do NOT understand! : oops:

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Question : y a t'il dans le forum des personnes parlant le Français afin de pouvoir aider les gens comme moi pour cette distribution ?

Exemple : les sauvegardes : je n'ai RIEN compris ! Embarassed


Pls look at the French, German, Spanish sections of the forum: I did open a thread on Archpup. But I will not answer myself in those days because I did have a terrible death at home and have actually other things to bring in order! I hoppe that other contibutors will help. The chances are good to get answer as with have divers really good contributors of Quebec.

---

Consulte s.v.p. les sections francophone, allemande et espagnole du forum, où j'ai ouvert une discussion sur Archpup dans chaque langue. Mais je m'abstiendrai actuellement de répondre en raison d'un terrible décès dans ma famille qui m'impose d'avoir à régler d'abord des tas d'autres choses. Cependant les chances sont quand même bonnes d'obtenir répondre de la part d'autres, car nous avons d'excellents et actifs contributeurs du Québec.

rgds / slts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ickefes

Joined: 29 Sep 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri 11 Jan 2013, 21:32    Post subject:  

thank you for making the Pwireless2 actually working on my computer. Now I will really try this pup out! Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 22 of 31 [461 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0936s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0175s) ][ GZIP on ]