Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Oct 2014, 05:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
ArchPup 12.12.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 26 of 31 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2013, 17:23    Post_subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
Scooby, nooby, et all,
But you have to learn. Right? so here we go.
Code:
mkdir initramfs
cd initramfs
gunzip -c /path/to/initrd.gz | cpio -i
# apply patches/modify initramfs
mv /path/to/initrd.gz /path/to/initrd.gz.orig
find . -print | cpio -H newc -o | gzip -9 > /path/to/initrd.gz

Make sure you know what to do and how to boot your system if you get a "kernel panic", "can not find files", etc...


I worked my way through this. I must say pipes and redirection
twists my brain a little bit.

In the last command do you write the initrd.gz straight into ISO?
Or do you have another script that creates ISO?

I get "bash: /mnt/testdisk/initrd.gz: cannot overwrite existing file"
Maybe cause ISO is mounted read-only?

thanks for the lesson, I never used cpio before and was unfamiliar with newc format.
Does newc ad any compression?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1705

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2013, 17:34    Post_subject:  

Scooby wrote:

In the last command do you write the initrd.gz straight into ISO?
Or do you have another script that creates ISO?

I get "bash: /mnt/testdisk/initrd.gz: cannot overwrite existing file"
Maybe cause ISO is mounted read-only?

Yes. If you want a CD, you must rebuild the ISO with the new initrd.gz and burn it.

Scooby wrote:
Does newc ad any compression?

No. "gzip" does

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2013, 17:34    Post_subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
And if you want to offer a no-apps ISO so Arch users will customize their sticks, while the rest will just pass (without even a GUI package manager), is your choice.
I just never figured out why the picky Arch users can not just skip the apps SFSs if included?... But that's probably because I'm not an Arch user.


I agree that the archapps.sfs should also be included on the iso as the ydrv. and the wm.sfs as the adrv....and the main.sfs as 'base'.

i wouldn't want to see any user "just pass". i feel this is a way to give every type of user what they might or might not want. So i agree with you man. Give them the three layers, and let them peel them off and use the system 'completely' the way they choose.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2013, 18:27    Post_subject:  

Sim, if i do a:

Code:
pacman -S xfce4


using just the main.sfs, it's trying to reinstall 4 packages that's already installed and that is:

procps-ng
libusbx
libcups
util-linux

it's as if the files in /var/lib/pacman/local...aren't telling pacman that these apps are already installed. So the only way to get xfce installed is to use:

Code:
pacman -Sf xfce4


which will overwrite those 4 packages, pretty much making duplicates of them.

If i install those 4 apps on another 12.12 installation.....and copy and replace the 4 folders from /var/lib/pacman/local...into the main.sfs, and resquash it, then pacman does notice that they're already installed. So there's a glitch somewhere with those files in the local folder.

Also...thunar isn't in the main.sfs....so shouldn't it be removed from the 'IgnorePkg' line in pacman.conf. Removing thunar from that line will let the 'Root Account Banner' thunar be installed, but a pkg of the other version can be available for download.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 842
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2013, 18:59    Post_subject:  

darkcity, I am having major difficulty downloading anything from the first 3 links. I need major help.
_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Windows 7
(Slacko) Puppy Arcade 11 on USB Stick
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2013, 19:36    Post_subject:  

When you do
Code:
pacman -S xfce4

you are actually installing whole group and its expected to overwrite some already installed
packages, same would happen in any Arch Linux based system. Also that command would
install gtk3 that is used by one dependency but is absolutely not necessary for xfce to run.
For creating small xfce sfs module see this http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=673308#673308.

I think ydrv sfs is not needed and will not add it, this splitting already increased iso size for
700 KB. Off course it is still possible and very easy to combine archapps with adrv, and
make single adrv sfs, if you want to. On first page for archapps with big letter is written
Recomended and what packages are inside, users who like more complete solution in
terms of pre-installed apps will download it. Also I don't expect this OS to draw a lot of
attention from tradition Arch Linux users, as they are unfamiliar with this concept of frugal
installs, making save file etc. And indeed it is unusual when you first meet it.

Note: After today's update my work on 12.12 is finished, it is now stable, fast OS that boots
straight to nice looking (imho) desktop, and use 37MB of RAM on first boot. It's there for you...
Back to top
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2013, 20:07    Post_subject:  

simargl wrote:
you are actually installing whole group and its expected to overwrite some already installed packages


those packages do not have to be overwritten though. they are already installed. there's something the matter with those 4 folders in /var/lib/pacman/local folder. they aren't telling pacman that they are already installed the way that they are supposed to:

libcups-1.6.1-6
libusbx-1.0.14-1
procps-ng-3.3.501
util-linux-2.22.1-3

that are inside the folder /var/lib/pacman/local.

when i do a pacman -S xfce4...those 4 dependencies shouldn't show up at all. because they are installed already....there's a glitch in the files in the /var/lib/pacman/local folder.

a way to resolve it is to install those 4 packages on another 12.12 installation, and copy those four folders from /var/lib/pacman/local, after they reinstall, and replace only those 4 folders in the main.sfs. that will fix the glitch in those files, and pacman will see that they are already installed. those 4 folders = 17.4KB, reinstalling those 4 packages = more than that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2462
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2013, 20:20    Post_subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
darkcity, I am having major difficulty downloading anything from the first 3 links. I need major help.


my apologies, those links are just for reference. i've amended the post.

I've found the firmware files that might work, from this link
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=71777, but I've attached them here also (compressed).

BTW the brcm files might be present on lina-lite 005, in which case you could trying copying those files.

----

instructions

1) decompres brcm80211-firmware-0.0.1.tar.gz, copy the brcm directory to /lib/firmware on your archpup installation

2) use modprobe brcmsmac then ifconfig to test
brcm80211-firmware-0.0.1.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  brcm80211-firmware-0.0.1.tar.gz 
Filesize  219.59 KB 
Downloaded  111 Time(s) 

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 842
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 07:19    Post_subject:  

Thank you, I'm going to try it right now.

EDIT: That didn't work at all. It said that the module doesn't exist.

_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Windows 7
(Slacko) Puppy Arcade 11 on USB Stick
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ickefes

Joined: 29 Sep 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 10:26    Post_subject:  

I am still trying to get the swedish keymap to work at startup but sv-latin1 does not seem to work. Maybe "se" will work better? Then theres the problem with the clock too but I guess it is really my fault and that I am to much of a noob to be able to handle Arch/Openbox.

By the way, how come the precompiled DeadBeef (by the way, thanks for including this app) does not support ogg but it does support mp3? Doesn't linux usually support ogg a lot more than mp3? Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 842
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 10:52    Post_subject:  

ogg? isn't that a low-quality audio format? MP3 is a common format and is a lot better than ogg. Almost no music stores use ogg, they use MP3.

EDIT: Still that module doesn't work at all.

_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Windows 7
(Slacko) Puppy Arcade 11 on USB Stick
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 11:11    Post_subject:  

ickefes wrote:
I am still trying to get the swedish keymap to work at startup but sv-latin1 does not seem to work. Maybe "se" will work better? Then theres the problem with the clock too but I guess it is really my fault and that I am to much of a noob to be able to handle Arch/Openbox.

Swedish Keyboard: Edit file /root/.start

Change line from
Code:
setxkbmap us &

to

Code:
setxkbmap se &



Observe will work in Firefox, Geany but not in terminal, You want Swedish characters in terminal you have to get another version from repo. For example below
Code:

pacman -Sfd xterm


and then start with

Code:
xterm &


in default terminal

*EDIT*
There is a way to make default terminal sakura type swedish letters by setting locale

checkout simargls teaching oui's archpup french
www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=82494&start=135&sid=91a3a6e844a13628f3c3ad618c7a6698

the same can be done foe sv_SE.UTF-8


Clock: Edit file /root/.xinitrc

add line first in file

Code:
hwclock --localtime --hctosys &



These solutions from earlier in the thread and are not mine
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 11:53    Post_subject:  

Simargl

I have blown any number of savefile trying to configure touchpad.

I wanted to disable automatic login and searched forum- The soution you explain in
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=82494&start=180&sid=2122f1ece3ead154e048d00e71d816e4

is it outdated? There doesnt seem to be those five lines you are referring to in the post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1705

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 12:21    Post_subject:  

Scooby wrote:
There doesnt seem to be those five lines you are referring to in the post.

They just look a bit different Smile
Code:
if [ -z "$WINDOW_MANAGER" ]; then
  echo "Sorry, cannot start X. Environment variable WINDOW_MANAGER is not set."
else
  exec archpupx
fi


"else
exec archpupx"
is what you really want to comment out.
Or just move/rename the ".sh" part of /etc/profile.d/openbox.sh.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
xstylezx

Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2013, 16:28    Post_subject:  

Great puplet, I love it! I have borked a number of savefiles trying to work out a few things though. Wireless, I'm also one of those having trouble getting wireless to work. I tracked it down by myself and figured out what drivers are needed by using Lxpup, which detected my wireless out of the box.

The issue really lies in keeping the drivers installed. When I add the folder for my wireless dongle(I have to use an older wireless dongle to connect one of my desktops to my wireless network) to /lib/firmware it doesn't save it there after reboot. Well it saves the folder "zd1211" that I place in /lib/firmware but the actually files inside "zd1211" never save to my usb stick like theyre supposed to. So with every reboot I have to copy over the drivers into the "zd1211" folder to get my wireless connected.

Why is this? I'm assuming it has something to do with the udev errors I get on every shutdown when its doing its usual save to save file. I'm itching to get these few little quirks worked out as I love Arch and Puppy and both together is awesome!

In case I didn't make it clear enough, I'm using a usb with a savefile.4fs. The savefile is saved on my usb, making my install totally portable. As a note saving some items does seem to save and some areas it just does not, such as the issue with my drivers. It has to be this udev thing, as the errors i get at reboot or shutdown are happening when its saving to my 4fs file. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated, thanks a lot! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 26 of 31 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1125s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0148s) ][ GZIP on ]