Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 01 Nov 2014, 08:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko-5.4 feedback and bug reports
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 19 [281 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
gulk


Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Thu 10 Jan 2013, 22:57    Post subject: Audio CD  

tlchost wrote:

It is my understanding that older puppies did show an icon for music cds. Is there any way to incorporate that feature in 5.4?

I think in the "Desktop->Desktop Drive icon manager", there is an option to check that is unchecked by default:
"Tick box for auto-launch 'handler' when media plugged"

It might or not create an icon on the desktop, but at least it will launch your default player with the music CD.

tlchost wrote:

Slacko is great...thanks heaps for your efforts!

Indeed, this is the best Puppy I've tried so far. The attention to details is very impressive, considering the wide array of hardware it supports right out of the box.

PS: I had my mom over for Christmas; she came with her laptop and I thought, what the heck, let's try to introduce her to Linux using Slacko 5.4, without believing she would buy into it... Guess what, she's hooked now. She is extremely computer challenged and doesn't know the difference between an application and an OS... Well, you guys made it so easy to transition to your distribution, there is no excuse to not show it off anymore!!!

PPS: I made my mom run on a USB flash drive, but that prevent the laptop from going into "suspend" mode, because of the following in the /etc/acpi/actions/suspend.sh script:
Code:
# do not suspend if usb media mounted
USBS=$(probedisk2|grep '|usb' | cut -d'|' -f1 )
for USB in $USBS
do
   mount | grep -q "^$USB" && exit
done

I had to manually comment these lines out, and now the laptop goes to sleep and resumes from sleep without issue, by clicking the hard power button, then pressing the "susupend" button.
Would you be able to detect if the Puppy runs from a USB stick and not apply this check in that case?

PPPS:
in the /etc/acpi/actions/acpi_poweroff.sh script, there is a typo:
Code:
    <label>Susupend</label>

should be
Code:
    <label>Suspend</label>



I'm very impressed. You bested yourself once more, 01Micko et al.
Gulk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Master_wrong

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 456

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 07:05    Post subject:  

during install into usb flashdisk there is syslinux error
Quote:
possibly unsafe /tmp/ permissions

fix
Quote:
chmod 1777 /tmp

then run installer

_________________
Cluster-Pup v.2-Puppy Beowulf Cluster
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=499199#499199
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 07:52    Post subject:  

Perms are already 1777 on /tmp. You may have installed a bad package.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1082

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 09:18    Post subject:  

@Master_wrong & @01micko

That's strange, but in my case /tmp sometimes has 1777 and sometimes 777.
Eg. in my install (pmedia=ataflash on internal SATA HDD) it had 777 by default and I couldn't make it to preserve 1777 after reboot.
(/initrd/pup_ro2/tmp has 777 as well, perhaps that's why?)
I simply added chmod 1777 /tmp to rc.sysinit to achieve this.

On the other hand, when I switch to pmedia=atahd, /tmp suddenly becomes 1777 and, in addition, it appears as a mount point.
(I checked this a few minutes ago in VBox, 5.4-PAE)

Also, pristine boot without a savefile also gives /tmp 777.

IIRC I noticed this also in 5.3.3, but I didn't report it, because usually I have "luck" of experiencing "it's_just_me" kind of issues...

@Mick:
Any progress regarding savefile deadlocks? Have you been able to recreate the problem, at all?

HTH
Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Master_wrong

Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 456

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 10:23    Post subject:  

@sfr and @micko

I'm testing the firefox version, pristine boot/no save file. trying to install to a usb flasdisk.

thanks

_________________
Cluster-Pup v.2-Puppy Beowulf Cluster
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=499199#499199
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 16:14    Post subject:  

Ah, @ SFR and master_wrong, I think I found the source of this issue. Thanks!

SFR: I can't reproduce the savefile deadlocks! I'm wondering if you can capture a log. Say, boot pfix=ram after the issue occurs and grab /var/log/messages from the affected savefile.

Thanks

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 16:36    Post subject: Re: Two jwmconfig2 bugs and suggested fixes reported elsewhere  

npierce wrote:
01micko,

You're welcome.

01micko wrote:
Actually I am doing a full rewrite of all the stuff in jwmconfig2, Joe is releasing a new version soon (he's up to r635 now) and some things have changed.

Thanks for keeping jwmconfig2 up to date with JWM (as well as all the other work you do supporting Slacko).
I think I have to reverse that decision (full rewrite) because the i18n guys have just spent a lot of time translating these files.I will just fix what breaks and try to include some backwards compatibility.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 16:42    Post subject:  

gulk,

There is a reason I have disabled suspend on USB installs, this is a very generic script and it's designed to avoid RAM crash because USB installs run entirely in RAM until the scheduled save occurs, but if it works for you then that's fine, maybe someone else will find that useful. Thanks for the typo fix.

Users may find that installing acpid from Slackware repo may fix suspend issues as they have many rules for many different machines. YMMV though as I have no need to test. Reports needed. Use at own risk.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1082

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jan 2013, 19:02    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
SFR: I can't reproduce the savefile deadlocks! I'm wondering if you can capture a log. Say, boot pfix=ram after the issue occurs and grab /var/log/messages from the affected savefile.

Ok, to avoid some influences from my daily savefile contents, here's what I did:
1. Booted with pfix=ram and didn't change any settings.
2. Rebooted, creating 1GB slackosave.2fs on NTFS partition (sda2).
3. After reboot:
a). cat /dev/urandom > /root/bigfile until ~400MB
b). Clicked 'Save' icon (reminder: I have pmedia=ataflash in menu.lst) and I had "luck" on the first try: after ~150MB it started its deadlock->save_few_MB->deadlock->save_few_MB->... cycle.
After a while all opened ROX windows stopped responding, but I had terminal opened, so I killed cp process, and after ~1.5 min. everything went back to normal.

But like I said earlier, sometimes it's conversely - at the first time everything's ok, and then after 4th-5th try the deadlock appears - can't predict...

I attached /var/log/messages, but nothing new appeared there after clicking 'Save'.

BTW, regarding the "direct" method to recreate the issue (cat /dev/zero > /initrd/pup_ro1/root/bigfile):
I noticed that if the first attempt continuously goes good, it's worth to change output filename a couple of times (bigfile1, bigfile2, etc.), then even get back to one of older names.
That increases the chance to catch the deadlock.

If I could recreate the problem in 5.3.3 I would suspect my hardware then, but anyway I'll try it out also on my Acer, one of these days...
[Update: Acer AO 722, similar scenario (just bigger, 4GB savefile) - deadlock on the second try, nothing new in .../messages.]

For the time being, the echo 1 > .../dirty_(background)_ratio workaround in 9/10 cases still saves my days...

EDIT:
Almost forgot - I don't know if this matters, but some time ago I noticed the following difference between 5.3.3 and 5.4 in mount parameters:
In 5.4 is:
Code:
/dev/loop1 on /initrd/pup_ro1 type ext2 (rw,noatime,errors=continue,user_xattr,acl)

In 5.3.3 there's no user_xattr neither acl.
I wasn't able to "erase" them, so I did remount with nouser and noacl, but it didn't make any difference really.
(my knowledge regarding mount parameters is minimal, btw)

Thank you for your interest &
Greetings!
messages.gz
Description  Remove fake .gz
gz

 Download 
Filename  messages.gz 
Filesize  97.8 KB 
Downloaded  138 Time(s) 

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gulk


Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jan 2013, 19:59    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
gulk,

There is a reason I have disabled suspend on USB installs, this is a very generic script and it's designed to avoid RAM crash because USB installs run entirely in RAM until the scheduled save occurs, but if it works for you then that's fine, maybe someone else will find that useful.

I understand the reason now. Then maybe the script should give the option to force save (with optional check box, like "remember for next time") to savefile, then allow to suspend. If you think there is a need, I can look into this. If not, I'll happily live with these lines commented out.
01micko wrote:

Users may find that installing acpid from Slackware repo may fix suspend issues as they have many rules for many different machines. YMMV though as I have no need to test. Reports needed. Use at own risk.

I tried the acpid from Slackware repo, but that didn't work any better.

One more note: I installed Skype SFS from the quick SFS installer and all worked out of the box, including webcam and sound. Bravo, definitely the best puppy I used so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 07:21    Post subject:  

Thunor has released gtkdialog-0.8.3 recently. I have packaged it for slacko BUT it's versioned as gtkdialog-0.8.4. Don't worry! It's the same as the stable version 0.8.3, just built from SVN. It is needed for the latest Pburn and upcoming Pmusic-3.1 by zigbert.

See Main Post!

Cheers!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 848
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 16:48    Post subject:  

the new gtkdialog works just fine. I tested it with the new pBurn and pMusic.
_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Windows 7
(Slacko) Puppy Arcade 11 on USB Stick, Kali Linux and Windows XP in their own Virtual Machines
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5760
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 14:15    Post subject:  

I am trying to extend my Slacko 5.4, and met the following issue:

- installing inkscape from ppm and all the detected dependencies.
- since gtkmm is already installed statically ppm does not detect this missing dep until the last verifying - Puppy has the .a and .la libs, but misses the .so
- I just search up gtkmm in ppm and tries to install the dynamic version of gtkmm, but this fails. I guess it is because it is marked (ALREADY INSTALLED).

How can I bypass this?


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 16:14    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
- installing inkscape from ppm and all the detected dependencies.
Inkscape was broken until 2 days ago. It should automatically now get it's dependencies gsl and aspell however you should update PPM and when doing so reject all repos that are puppy except slacko14. Also, PPM has a bug where it repeats dependencies from ALL available repos! Including wary. Please uncheck all duplicate deps from other repos and ensure that just one dep is marked. Yeah, not very user friendly Sad

zigbert wrote:
- since gtkmm is already installed statically ppm does not detect this missing dep until the last verifying - Puppy has the .a and .la libs, but misses the .so
- I just search up gtkmm in ppm and tries to install the dynamic version of gtkmm, but this fails. I guess it is because it is marked (ALREADY INSTALLED)
I just tried to download gtkmm and succeeded (it comes in from Salix repo). After it is installed it says cairomm, atkmm (and others) are missing, I guess you get them manually. The reason they are not detected as deps is the same as the reason you found ..(ALREADY INSTALLED). Yeah, not very user friendly Sad . (I should perhaps rename the static versions to gtkmm_S or something).
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5760
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 17:18    Post subject:  

Thank you Mick for the explanation.
I have to agree with you that ppm is not the most logical interface I have seen.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 19 [281 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1067s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]