Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 29 Nov 2014, 04:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
ArchPup - First Puppy with pacman for installing apps
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 11:25    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
Just don't break the kernel like you did with the 3.6.8 kernel.

Hmm.. wise guy? And very optimistic if you think that, I care about YOUR problems!

Last edited by simargl on Wed 16 Jan 2013, 11:36; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 11:31    Post subject:  

This distro needs a thread on the Arch Linux forums as well. because there's 'no way' they won't find it useful.
Last edited by stifiling on Wed 16 Jan 2013, 11:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 903
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 11:36    Post subject:  

whoa.. no need to be hostile, bro. I just want to have your puppy become better (as well as stable). I could help by testing the ISO before release though. I don't care which kernel you use (as long as it's from January 2012 or newer). I want to make sure the kernel is fully stable, but I have confidence in the fact that kernel compile errors are less likely to happen for the next version.

i know in pre-ArchPup 12.12.x that broadcom devices worked, but they don't in that version because of kernel-related errors.

Anyways I will be happy to help your Puppy become a success. Don't let that post fool you into thinking it was 100% your fault that the kernel was broken, the kernel sources itself is to blame too. (I know because I've done some test compilations of kernels.)

Remember think proudly about your puplet. I think it's very unique. I would recommend it to anyone who want to switch from arch to Puppy.

Just keep experimenting, it will pay off.

EDIT: You may think you know what my problems are, but you don't and you never will.

_________________
......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1812

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 12:51    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
Also I'm thinking to replace thunar + pup-volume-monitor with spacefm.

That may be a ggod idea. Mostly because I _think_ that the patched glib required for pup-volume-monitor gives problems

simargl wrote:
so maybe I will use 3.4.25 or latest from that series, it was updated 2013-01-1

Wise.
Also calimero's kernels and ausf-utils suggested by cinclus_cinclus below may be a good idea. Did you check if their config matches yours?
(is always a good idea to follow "upstreams". Less work for you Wink )

bark_bark_bark wrote:

Aufs is a joke to me. Plus the SFS files used by puppy aren't Aufs, they're SquashFS 4.x format (Puppy 3/4 used v3).

Shocked
You do not have a clue what aufs is. Do you?...

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 903
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 12:55    Post subject:  

I know what Aufs is, I just think it sucks.
_________________
......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1812

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 13:26    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
I know what Aufs is, I just think it sucks.

I see.
And what your preferred layered filesystem would be? (and why?)

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 903
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 13:30    Post subject:  

Aufs is not a layered FS, but I'll just deal with it's existence for now.
_________________
......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1812

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 13:41    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
Aufs is not a layered FS

Is not?
How would you characterize it then?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 13:49    Post subject:  

http://aufs.sourceforge.net/

Quote:
Aufs3 -- advanced multi layered unification filesystem version 3.x
http://aufs.sf.net
Junjiro R. Okajima
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 903
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 14:08    Post subject:  

oh wow thank you for the clarifaction.
_________________
......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1812

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 14:22    Post subject:  

pemasu,
you are not fun at all... Laughing

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 17:04    Post subject:  

For new release there will be 3 sfs files in main iso:
archpup-132.sfs (core + Xorg)
adrv-132.sfs (openbox+thunar+geany)
archapps-132.sfs (qt firefox and everything else)


If for example archpup-132.sfs need some fixing I can after upload only that file not the whole iso.

development files from archpup-132.sfs will be moved to archdev.sfs, but
adrv and archapps will be self-containable -> nothing will be splitted Mad, that is only right way

Adequate photo Razz
Back to top
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2479
Location: near here

PostPosted: Wed 16 Jan 2013, 17:57    Post subject:  

this is my system-

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1812

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 01:53    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:

mounting cd-rom, dvd, and usb Surprised fat-32 formatted all works
but Exclamation mounting internal hard disk drive (ntfs or ext4), failed with something like 'specify partition type error'
In devices list in spacefm are shown mount loop files, I couldn't disable that.
Interesting is that usb devices are handled properly with spacefm but they don't show at all in thunar without restarting pup-volume-monitor.
If I am able to fix problems with mounting internal disk and hiding loop devices, this could easily replace thunar and pup-volume-monitor.


To remove loop files I added this to /root/.config/spacefm/session*
Code:
dev_show_hide_volumes-s=-/dev/loop0 -/dev/loop1 -/dev/loop2 -/dev/loop3 -/dev/loop4 -/dev/loop5  # etc


Like you I had problem mounting internal drives but also USB srives (ext or fat). It says "no mount program was found" and asks for udisks a 3+MB download.
Maybe a custom command to use pmount... Wink

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 04:31    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
Like you I had problem mounting internal drives but also USB srives (ext or fat). It says "no mount program was found" and asks for udisks a 3+MB download.
Maybe a custom command to use pmount...

It works also with udevil, only that drives are mounted to /run/root/* instead of /mnt/.
Maybe make custom script apmount Idea with options mount and unmount and call that from spacefm.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0829s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]