Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 11:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
ArchPup - First Puppy with pacman for installing apps
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
Anniekin


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 04:53    Post subject:  

interested... compiled for i686 or wat?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 05:27    Post subject:  

Yes, Arch Linux is optimized for i686 cpu.
mavrothal: I made apmount script, works with every tested device and is so simple that I will add it below. Smile
Code:
#!/bin/bash

mount_function() {
  DRIVE=$(echo $DRIVE_FULL | sed 's/\/dev\///')
  if [ ! -d /mnt/$DRIVE ]; then mkdir /mnt/$DRIVE; fi
  mount /dev/$DRIVE /mnt/$DRIVE
}

umount_function() {
  umount $DRIVE_FULL
}

case "$1" in

  mount)
    DRIVE_FULL="$2"
    mount_function ;;

  umount)
    DRIVE_FULL="$2"
    umount_function ;;
   
  *)
    echo "apmount
options: mount umount" ;;
esac
Back to top
mike delaw

Joined: 17 Jan 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 05:58    Post subject:  

Hi!

I like ArchPup a lot since everything works and works good. But I have a couple of questions ( I am a complete newbie in Arch based Distros so please bear with me):

- how do I set a keymap to Slovenian language?

I have installed additional software (I didn't set any mirrors since default one is really fast!), but I have ran into problems with Wine and VLC:
- I have installed wine (or I think I did) bu it's not showing in menus ...
- I have installed VLC through yaourt but it didn't show up in menu. I tried pacman -S vlc and then it showed up in the menu, but refused to open.

What are proper commands for those two - pacman -S wine and pacman -S vlc or should I do something else ...

I am sorry that I have to ask these elementary questions, but I just want to know ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 06:36    Post subject:  

Hi mike delaw, and welcome Cool
For changing keymap to slovenian I believe you should edit /root/.start and replace
Code:
setxkbmap us
setxkbmap si

VLC will not run as root, that is decision of its developers, so use this (to start it as user arch)
Code:
su arch
vlc

For wine first start winecfg from terminal, setup your options and it will then work.
Also you might consider using makesfs wine, to have program wine in sfs module and load only
when you need it. Wink
Back to top
mike delaw

Joined: 17 Jan 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 06:36    Post subject:  

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 10:06    Post subject:  

Sim you don't like the idea of using the ydrv for archapps.sfs on the second iso?

This is the way i was seeing it as being for clean and easy use:

DISTRO_PUPPYSFS='archpup-12.12.sfs'
DISTRO_ADRVSFS='adrv-*-12.12.sfs'
DISTRO_YDRVSFS='archapps-12.12.sfs'

this way, if you use the * in the distro specs for adrv...the DE/WM can be easily changed...but still keeping the archapps useable.

so on the main.iso it would be:
adrv-openbox-12.12.sfs
archpup-12.12.sfs

and second.iso would be:
adrv-openbox-12.12.sfs
archpup-12.12.sfs
archapps-12.12.sfs

and also having premade and downloadable:
adrv-mate-12.12.sfs
adrv-xfce-12.12.sfs
adrv-kde-12.12.sfs
adrv-e17-12.12.sfs
adrv-lxde-12.12.sfs

to easily switch environments, but still being able to use the archapps.sfs. the user could download the mate.sfs and delete the openbox.sfs....and be ready to use the system using mate, and archapps.

and if the * is used in the distro specs file....it'll see whichever DE sfs the user may have in place. rather than having to rename it or something like that...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 10:27    Post subject:  

I will use 3 sfs files as mentioned in page 2 in post with that funny picture Very Happy
This:
adrv-mate-12.12.sfs
adrv-xfce-12.12.sfs
adrv-kde-12.12.sfs
adrv-e17-12.12.sfs
adrv-lxde-12.12.sfs
... sounds perfect, but I don't know if DISTRO_ADRVSFS='adrv-*-12.12.sfs' is supported Question
Back to top
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 10:29    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
I will use 3 sfs files as mentioned in page 2 in post with that funny picture Very Happy
This:
adrv-mate-12.12.sfs
adrv-xfce-12.12.sfs
adrv-kde-12.12.sfs
adrv-e17-12.12.sfs
adrv-lxde-12.12.sfs
... sounds perfect, but I don't know if DISTRO_ADRVSFS='adrv-*-12.12.sfs' is supported Question


it works sim...i tested it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 11:35    Post subject:  

mavrothal,
In /tmp/bootsysinit.log this error is reported
Quote:
df: '/pup_new': No such file or directory

So I opened init script from initrd.gz, and it must be problem with these lines */1239-1241/
Code:
#RW (top) layer now has a tmpfs, PDEV1 or ${DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX}save mounted on it. calc free space...
[ $FREEK -eq 0 ] && FREEK=`df | grep ' /pup_rw' | tr -s ' ' | cut -f 4 -d ' '`
[ ! $FREEK ] && FREEK=0

This is with new initrd.gz (adrv and ydrv), with old one that had just adrv this error is not
reported. I will atach init script, so you could compare maybe I didn't apply patch correctly.
init.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  init.tar.gz 
Filesize  28.37 KB 
Downloaded  183 Time(s) 
Back to top
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1794

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 13:36    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
mavrothal,
In /tmp/bootsysinit.log this error is reported
Quote:
df: '/pup_new': No such file or directory

So I opened init script from initrd.gz, and it must be problem with these lines */1239-1241/
Code:
#RW (top) layer now has a tmpfs, PDEV1 or ${DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX}save mounted on it. calc free space...
[ $FREEK -eq 0 ] && FREEK=`df | grep ' /pup_rw' | tr -s ' ' | cut -f 4 -d ' '`
[ ! $FREEK ] && FREEK=0

This is with new initrd.gz (adrv and ydrv), with old one that had just adrv this error is not
reported. I will atach init script, so you could compare maybe I didn't apply patch correctly.


I do not know why (did you apply the patch "manually"?) but in your init (lines 1879-1880) you have:
Code:
mount -t aufs -o udba=reval,diropq=w,dirs=${UMNTRW}${UMNTRO0}${ALAYER}${UMNTRO1}${ZLAYER}${UMNTRO} unionfs /pup_new
 mount -t aufs -o udba=reval,diropq=w,dirs=${UMNTRW}${UMNTRO0}${ALAYER}${YLAYER}${UMNTRO1}${ZLAYER}${UMNTRO} unionfs /pup_new

Comment out the first one if you want adrv and ydrv. Comment out the second for ardv only.

I trust that you have added all the needed mount points in initramfs

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 326

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 13:48    Post subject: thunderbird  

In archpup 12.12.2

I installed thunderbird but got errors about missing shared object file.

I thought about simargls comment on problems with dependencies in
unloaded sfs files. So I loaded everyone I had - still the same problem.

I figured it had something to do with firefox being in archapps.sfs

So I started thunderbird with

Code:
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/share/firefox/ thunderbird


and it worked.

Why is it so? Why is library paths wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 895
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 13:58    Post subject:  

I know ArchPup nativley can't use pet pkgs. But here is a tool that does allow you to use .PET pkgs.

Look for it here: Download from AUR

_________________
......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 14:02    Post subject:  

Yes, that was the problem, your are actually right I edited init script manually because I thought patching it wouldn't work
because of my little changes -> more pup_ro* mount points, for additional sfs modules and removing line when it makes
symbolic link to X11R6 in /usr. And after this error, was lazy to search again.
Scooby: So, thunderbird needs some libraries from folder /usr/share/firefox. This is not firefox from Arch repository, but
newer firefox (ESR), I moved its files to /usr/share/firefox and created links in /usr/lib to some libraries in that folder -
otherwise flash plugin didn't work in other browsers. I might have just added /usr/share/firefox/ to LD_LIBRARY_PATH that
seems better and cleaner solution.
Edit: I will move firefox files to /usr/lib/firefox like in Arch https://www.archlinux.org/packages/extra/i686/firefox/files,
and add that folder to LD_LIBRARY_PATH.
Back to top
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 14:18    Post subject:  

another thing that would be nice, if it's accomplishable, is if the adrv-'environment'-12.12.sfs were able to be chosen by the initrd at load time...same like how you are able to choose a different save file 'if' multiple ones exists. so while the machine is loading, it can ask:

Code:
Type a number to choose which desktop environment file to use:
1 adrv-openbox-12.12.sfs
2 adrv-xfce-12.12.sfs


and then ask:

Code:
Type a number to choose which personal file to use:
1 archsave.2fs
2 archsave-backup.4fs
3 archsavetest.4fs


i think this would be difficult to implement, but not impossible. i also think this would be taking it to the 'next' level. the same like ydrv. so what do u guys think??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1794

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 14:39    Post subject:  

stifiling wrote:
another thing that would be nice, if it's accomplishable, is if the adrv-'environment'-12.12.sfs were able to be chosen by the initrd at load time...

I do not know how easy this may be (and I do not intend to find out...), but I do think that is not a good idea to go through a series of Q&A to boot your machine.

(Also the current thinking is that too many options for the user to choose, actually mean that the designer has no clear idea what (s)he wants to accomplish or how to do it)

Besides, if you want to change adrv or ydrv you do not need to make up your mind at boot time.You can maybe decide a couple of minutes earlier before you hit "reboot"...

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0944s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0061s) ][ GZIP on ]