Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 02:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Ongoing disaster
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
LeithR1

Joined: 16 Dec 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 11:15    Post subject:  Ongoing disaster
Subject description: Started off well having loaded lupu 5.2
 

My friend and I set out to implement a puppy on his Dell Inspiron 1150 with 256M RAM.

Initially The machine was happy with a copy of Lupu 5.2. We were able to partition the drives with approx 37Gbit main partition and 1G swap partition and loaded Lupu 5.2 onto the HD. My buddy then tried to set up - (in error) - GRUB4Dos (there is no MSW on the machine). Since then he was only getting error messages and BIOS seemed to be ignoring the DVD - so today we got together to explore the situation further. Initially we tried to use a Slacko 5.3.3 liveCD to over-ride all that had gone before. The machine still ignored BIOS and continued to go to the HDD with the same result as before.

We tried to rectify the situation:-
We removed from the inspiron and set up the HD as a USB connected HD on my compaq Presario running Slacko 5.3.3, We were able to re-partition the HD and we then loaded a copy of slacko 5.3.3 onto the primary partition (and then re-inserted the HD back into the the DELL Inspiron.

Puppy universal installer obviously sees the USB connected HD as an external device as it creates a couple of files with names starting ext... We are not sure how much effect this will have when the HD is re-inserted back into the Inspiron
The situation now is that we're getting error messages, I'm guessing from BIOS or Boot menu saying:
"Try (hd0,0): EXT2: No grldr
Try (hd0,1): non-MS: skip
Try (hd0,2): invalid or null
Try (hd0,3): invalid or null
try (fd0): invalid or null
Cannot find grldr
Press space bar to hold screen, any other key to boot previous mbr..."

trying the latter option gives msge
"Loading pbr for descriptor 1...done.
Boot error"

Now we are way in above our heads - help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 11:47    Post subject:  

Instructions for a full install:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=29653

Instructions are a bit old; drives are now 'sda', not 'hda'.
Grub needs to be found in the menu.


I use 'Wary 5.3' on older Dell laptops, and choose 'i810'
video module during setup.
I don't use Grub4dos.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR1

Joined: 16 Dec 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 12:02    Post subject:  

Hi there rjbrewer,
This is great stuff which I've used successfully in the past. But it doesn't apply in this situation as we are only getting to about image 22 installing the OS to the HD

Because of the error which seems to have come out of setting up GRUB4DOS on the Inspiron we removed the Inspiron's HD and set it up in a cradle on my machine with Slacko on it. The HD is now seen as a USB connected HD by Slacko. The HD partitions ok and loads up with Slacko all ok. The next steps tried was to re-insert the HD back into the Inspiron with the plan to set up GRUB but its coming up with the errors noted above.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8557
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 12:12    Post subject:  

Quote:
Cannot find grldr

That message is pretty specific. Is grldr anywhere on the drive?

Because your friend started to install Grub4Dos, it has put its initial code on the MBR of the drive. But it also requires the two secondary files - grldr and menu.lst to be somewhere on the drive. Apparently they are not.

Run Grub4Dos again - you need some kind of bootloader.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR1

Joined: 16 Dec 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 12:49    Post subject:  

hi there rcrsc51,
Can either GRUB or GRUB4DOS be run when the HD is in the cradle attached to my machine?

It is no possible to run any bootloader on his machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8557
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 12:56    Post subject:  

Use Grub4DOS. Make sure that you select the attached hard drive as the target device - not your own hard drive!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 703
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 13:11    Post subject:  

what is the name of the folder where you put slacko in on the hard disk? Could be a culprit
_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Board, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 160GB WD HDD, Windows 7
Netbook: Acer AOD257 with 2GB upgrade, Lubuntu 14.04 LTS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR1

Joined: 16 Dec 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 13:26    Post subject:  

Hi again rcrsn51,
I ran GRUB4Dos on sdb1(external drive) and it loaded grldr and menu.lst.
It seemed to do everything before quiting.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8557
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 13:51    Post subject:  

So did the drive boot when you replaced it in the original machine?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR1

Joined: 16 Dec 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 14:01    Post subject:  

My thanks yet again rcrsn51,
That was successful. I now have a new pup for my mate, we're going out for a pint tonite so the drinks are on him me thinks!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR1

Joined: 16 Dec 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 04:53    Post subject: Ongoing disaster (Solved)  

Solved
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3252
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 06:12    Post subject:  

Mark the title [SOLVED]. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LeithR1

Joined: 16 Dec 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 08:47    Post subject:  

I did exactly that in the first instance but the subject line is blank and when I typed in "Ongoing disaster (SOLVED)" and submitted it that didn't work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 460

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 04:39    Post subject:  

edit the first post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0585s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]