Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 29 Aug 2014, 22:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to get Puppy to work in my Gateway Solo 2550 laptop?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
dmohr

Joined: 17 Jan 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 23:56    Post subject:  How to get Puppy to work in my Gateway Solo 2550 laptop?
Subject description: 32 MB RAM
 

Ive been trying to get Linux running all evening, through a bunch of different formats. I couldnt make a functional Boot Disk, so I saved the Puppy 540(?) Firefox.exe to a flash drive and ran it on the target computer. Said CPU is a Gateway Solo 2550 laptop. Before my pap stored it he put a fresh version of XP Pro. On it, and it works fine, but I want something faster as I want to use this CPU for simple forum surfing and document work. I get it to boot Puppy, and it lets me choose to either load or not load data. I can choose either and it will go to a screen and boot through some more functions then go to a black screen... What do I do??? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3402
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 04:17    Post subject:  

dmohr:

Welcome to Puppy.
:::::::::

Specs:

Intel® Mobile Pentium® III 450, 500, 600, 650, and 700-megahertz (MHz)
Intel® Mobile Celeron™ 450, 500, and 550-MHz
Pentium II 333 and 366 MHz

http://support.gateway.com/s/Mobile/Solo_Series/P2550/p255044.shtml

Video memory 4 MB SGRAM

Maximum colors displayed 18-bit; 262,000 colors

Onboard RAM

32 megabytes (MB) onboard RAM (PC 100)

"""""""

" he put a fresh version of XP Pro."

How much ram have you.???

::::::::

Someone here will post an older suitable Puppy.
Your current Puppy is too new mate.

Hang in there.....Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dmohr

Joined: 17 Jan 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 07:38    Post subject:  

I see... Thanks... I cant get any boot discs to work though... Ill have to play with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sfeeley

Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 809

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 12:54    Post subject:  

This thread has a case study for a computer with less ram (16mb). The thread is old, but some of the tips might still stand
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=36678008&t=48214
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RJARRRPCGP

Joined: 09 Dec 2008
Posts: 98
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 19:14    Post subject:  

And he couldn't have installed XP with 32 MB!

XP requires 64 MB and it will run like crap at 64 MB!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 907
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 01:04    Post subject: How to get Puppy to work in my Gateway Solo 2550 laptop?
Subject description: Max RAM expansion
 

dmohr,
Welcome to the forum.
I may be wrong but I don't think you can upgrade the RAM in a Gateway Solo 2500.
I think it's glued to the *motherboard*.
http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=Solo%202500%20Series

EDIT: I am wrong. Max RAM can be 288MB. The machine has two slots.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 02:06    Post subject:  

dmohr wrote:
I see... Thanks... I cant get any boot discs to work though... Ill have to play with it.


I have 5.25 Retro running on an old 333MHz Compaq laptop.

The 5.25 Retro thread:

http://208.109.22.214/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=67724&sid=db97dfeeb774a8f7558461ef548d742e

I crammed 256MB RAM into mine, and have a 512MB swap partition (you can also use a swap file). I recommend that RAM + swap = at least 512 MB.

Can you tell us if you really only have 32 MB (as the first post indicates)?

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 907
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 02:21    Post subject: How to get Puppy to work in my Gateway Solo 2550 laptop?  

Hello dmohr,
I was given a Gateway Solo 2300 last week. The machine has 128 mg of RAM.
There just isn't enough wriggle room in the RAM.
I'd like to get into the machine in order to delete the contents of the HDD so that I can properly depose the equipment.
I've considered trying DamnSmallLinux.
I did try WakePup Floppy disc boot and that worked to a point but because the machine only has a bay for either a floppy drive or a CD drive and no extension cord came with the floppy drive ... things got a bit awkward.
Personally, there are so many orphaned PC out there with more resources than the 2550, I'd go out searching for one to adopt.
But, that's just my take on Gateway Solo's of this vintage. They sure make tough door stops though.
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2834
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 12:41    Post subject:  

Idea

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78941
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83550

One of those may work. Try the stuff in the 2nd link first.

Consider upgrading your laptop's RAM. If there's a door on the bottom of the system, that goes to the RAM, it's easy -- and I can help you find the RAM you need. I'd just send it to you, but TBH I'm all out of PC100 at the moment.

If there's no door, that means laptop disassembly time -- it's likely under the keyboard. At that point, if you've not disassembled a laptop before (it's a real pain in the donkey) you probably should look for a system with somewhat better specs.

TBH I'd offer to send you my spare Dell -- it's a C600 somethingorother I think... but it needs its internal BIOS battery replaced and that's not something I've done yet.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0627s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]