Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 18:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
ArchPup - First Puppy with pacman for installing apps
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 709
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 14:43    Post subject:  

I'm surprised that nobody thought adding pet package compatibility was a good idea. If it was I would have seen at least one response to it.
_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Board, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 160GB WD HDD, Windows 7 and Slackware64 14.1
Netbook: Acer AOD257 with 2GB upgrade, NoOS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 14:59    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
I'm surprised that nobody thought adding pet package compatibility was a good idea. If it was I would have seen at least one response to it.


I have used many different pups but since I started with archpup I must say I haven't missed
or even thought of .pet packages.

Between pacman and sfs I feel them satisfyingly covering my needs.

Can you elaborate on a situation where you feel the need for pets are pressing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 15:01    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:

Scooby: So, thunderbird needs some libraries from folder /usr/share/firefox. This is not firefox from Arch repository, but
newer firefox (ESR), I moved its files to /usr/share/firefox and created links in /usr/lib to some libraries in that folder -
otherwise flash plugin didn't work in other browsers. I might have just added /usr/share/firefox/ to LD_LIBRARY_PATH that
seems better and cleaner solution.
Edit: I will move firefox files to /usr/lib/firefox like in Arch https://www.archlinux.org/packages/extra/i686/firefox/files,
and add that folder to LD_LIBRARY_PATH.


Thanks for taking time to explain.

I like to understand the why's and the how's of things.
Your explanation was crystal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1388

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 15:02    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
I know ArchPup nativley can't use pet pkgs. But here is a tool that does allow you to use .PET pkgs.

Look for it here: Download from AUR

Converting pet to tar.gz does not make them Arch packages.
If you want to install pets in Archpup try this tool

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 15:06    Post subject:  

Scooby wrote:
I have used many different pups but since I started with archpup I must say I haven't missed
or even thought of .pet packages.


I agree. when i first started using archpup, i had copied all the 'puppy package manager' scripts out of a traditional puplet....and placed them inside of archpup. it worked perfectly to install pets (petget) but i never used it. i noticed that i totally didn't need it, and installing pets had a chance of breaking something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 709
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 15:18    Post subject:  

Scooby wrote:
I have used many different pups but since I started with archpup I must say I haven't missed
or even thought of .pet packages.

Between pacman and sfs I feel them satisfyingly covering my needs.

Can you elaborate on a situation where you feel the need for pets are pressing?


well at times a .sfs may be a waste. I've liked green_dome's Wine .pets over Arch Linux's Wine package. Also some puppy packages are faster than the same package from another distro. I also feel that since it is a "puppy", it should be natively be able to use Puppy packages. Also pmusic only comes in .pet. pmusic IMO is the best for playing music. I think without that .pet compatibility, it is just a Arch remaster that mimics Puppy a bit.

mavrothal wrote:
Converting pet to tar.gz does not make them Arch packages.
If you want to install pets in Archpup try this tool


I know that, but it allows you to use .pets though

_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Board, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 160GB WD HDD, Windows 7 and Slackware64 14.1
Netbook: Acer AOD257 with 2GB upgrade, NoOS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2411
Location: near here

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 15:27    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
bark_bark_bark wrote:
I know ArchPup nativley can't use pet pkgs. But here is a tool that does allow you to use .PET pkgs.

Look for it here: Download from AUR

Converting pet to tar.gz does not make them Arch packages.
If you want to install pets in Archpup try this tool


Is the conversion tool here- https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/pet2tgz/
the same as the one that is included in most Puppies?

Also, as a newcomer to Arch, when you load an SFS or even a PET how does it (if at all) communicate with Arch to know whats been loaded - and therefore, not breaking pacman?

I'm interested as I may in the future want to create a SFS with audio editing tools?

---

On a similar if we want to bring a Puppy program to Archpup, we could make it run on Arch standard and set up a AUR page?

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 709
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 15:33    Post subject:  

darkcity wrote:
...the same as the one that is included in most Puppies?


yes that is the same tool that most puppies use.

_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Board, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 160GB WD HDD, Windows 7 and Slackware64 14.1
Netbook: Acer AOD257 with 2GB upgrade, NoOS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 15:39    Post subject:  

darkcity wrote:
On a similar if we want to bring a Puppy program to Archpup, we could make it run on Arch standard and set up a AUR page?


this could be done. pburn is in the aur and functional on Arch Linux. pmusic is not though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 15:52    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
I do not know how easy this may be (and I do not intend to find out...), but I do think that is not a good idea to go through a series of Q&A to boot your machine.

(Also the current thinking is that too many options for the user to choose, actually mean that the designer has no clear idea what (s)he wants to accomplish or how to do it)

Besides, if you want to change adrv or ydrv you do not need to make up your mind at boot time.You can maybe decide a couple of minutes earlier before you hit "reboot"...


well if you were to get tired of answering the question, move or delete one of the adrv files. same like how you'd do if you were getting tired of being asked which save file do u want to use...

if there's only one, it won't ask, it'll load the only one that's there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2411
Location: near here

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 16:10    Post subject:  

I think it would be better if you could set the default savefile which would load after a time out. This could also be used to provide a menu option for no-savefile if only one is present.
_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mike delaw

Joined: 17 Jan 2013
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 04:38    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
Hi mike delaw, and welcome Cool
For changing keymap to slovenian I believe you should edit /root/.start and replace
Code:
setxkbmap us
setxkbmap si



Should this work immediately after I change it or after make save file-reboot? If yes, it is not working ...

Could you write on first page of ArchPup a proper procedure on how to make save file? Maybe enter ArchPup - change nothing - click on reboot - make save file - reboot?

Because sometimes I don't get a notification that a save file was created although I have made one or the save file is smaller than the size I wanted. The end result - after reboot it won't boot (it gave me some errors in red Smile ).

If I make a frugal install on USB with ext4 - will changes that I made (files that I left inside ArchPup, new software) stay there even if I don't make a save file after reboot or do I have to make save file inside ext4 like in ArchPup Live?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 05:16    Post subject:  

mike delaw wrote:

Should this work immediately after I change it or after make save file-reboot? If yes, it is not working ...

Changing keymap, like every other addition in /root/.start will work only after restarting Xorg server. Regarding save file - you can create it whenever you like on reboot after question dialog or before, changes made during that session will be saved.
Back to top
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 1847
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 05:50    Post subject:  

Hi

Why did you not announce this new thread in the old one?

I am not happy about the new figures of ArchPup-12.12.2, especially the introduction of new steps making the use slower like new indirect shutdown with own sub menu and asking for save file needing an answer to continue shutdown. The freshness (nothing to much, directly access to the functions etc.) of the firt ArchPup's is down... I find it is important to have a direct «reboot» function without any loosing (questions) of time! I am not (already) senile and know what I do! I don't need some backslapping Wink

Also the command bar now at the bottom instead of the left border occupies considerably more surface area than left and user with high resolution's screen being wider than high and lose valuable space in graphics applications (in seamonkey you can process geographic online applications near without some tool bar on the screen hitting one key differently from Firefox where you have to enter in a menu to do that, and have so all the area of the screen for the graphic to get high resolution snapshots! It is not possible as well, if the command bar is at the bottom! The north-south direction is the terrible direction for example in land maps where the size of screens is to little and you reduce it without need with the new command bar Embarassed ! And in a lot of languages writers write from left > right! the cursor is automatic left at the end of each entry! not at the real bottom of screen for ex. if you begin your work! An ergonomic screen need in occidental language the tool bar left!

oui wrote:

I actually yet use a marvelous actual version of Slitaz (under 1 Go with full TeX live and Lyx installed (unquashed full installation! As it is also possible to remaster Slitaz exactly like Puppy, I would say it would probably produce only a 300...400 MB ISO with about all the usual Puppy scope of application PLUS the high quality text processing system ; please, it is no provocation from me: Slitaz did have big problems in the last 2 years but they are evidently solved by the new developper helping Slitaz since the 2 years! an perfect X windows, a Linux conform management of users and password excepted that user 'tux' is standard (can be changed; if changed at installations time, or after the first start under installation from a real password) that I did discover to overcome my difficulties in ArcPup. if user created at installations time, he doesn't need some password (and can do 'su' or 'sudo' without password Idea ; 'root' does also co exist with password 'root' or other password). if created after first start, it become a full linux with full password control! what can be more flexible? a great among of applications in the 44 MB Iso of the "rolling version" (the stable version stay on ab. 30 MB Iso but is 1 year old, really old...), a really full support with an absolutely transparent organisation: www.slitaz.org, forum.slitaz.org, mirror.slitaz.org, doc.slitaz.org in a lot of languages, an automatic versions control in the doc between language versions Idea (a real dream for not English spoken Puppy users Razz ), a full repository with all packages from slitaz and from users, and sources for all the stuff since version 1.0 and an old as well as a full actualized new Slitaz scratch book! this are really heavy high standards for a little troupe! the installations system is an best specimen of the art using the browser as frontend (Slitaz panel with abilities to install new packages)! it is possible to bind the main partition as /home/ and create at installations time in that /home/ the user dir /home/tux properly so that you can reinstall without difficulty and changes in the main partition other as in /home/tux and never have to mount it extra! extraordinary performances from the smallest linux distro Idea : half of ArchPup, quarter of other actual Puppy's. There is no icecat or libre kernel but my own copy of icecat works properly in it. Please, look at it to develop ArchPup as modern with an equivalent high logical organization!


logical organization and size that we are missing more and more in Puppy excepted if the new Quirky 50 MB can help to solve both, a new start (as Slitaz 4.0 by the new developer): Slitaz did save better is wonderful size all the time and would be able to be distributed on a check card CD. Both did start with about 20 MB size! Both have the modern X.org stuff. Both can be easily remastered. Slitaz recognizes and accepts each USB-stick in ext3 automatic as save file Wink without to have to do something... And Slitaz is completely FOSS (non free can be downloaded extra with explicit «get-something» scripts, so flashplayer, skype, etc.). and the only French language politic of Slitaz belong now to the past, the main language is now English as in all important distributions (but it was immediately a 4 language distribution as coming from Swiss Wink ; yet as it was only 20 MB ISO!).

This is the level with have to compare us with Idea ...

ArchPup have to bring more: Pacman only is not enough - it is certainly possible to realize a script making the Arch depositories usable in all development environments without to need Pacman itself... Same thing for yaourt, more perhaps for those packages non being totaly included! The crux packaging system works so.
ArchPup is small, not really far from the expected 50 MB from next Quirky, only 50 % more, and have a good tool equipment and did have that freshness I already speak about: small menu, no unneeded transactions in menu's etc. It is yet not so any more in his new versions...

That is my opinion!

ArchPup cann't become an usual Puppy: try to install all the usual Puppy stuff in it: it size would explode!

Kind regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 05:54    Post subject:  

pinstall.sh and puninstall.sh scripts from sfs modules, will be inside folder /run Smile, because
having those scripts on filesystem root looks ugly. Evil or Very Mad
I have adjusted sfs_load program to load them only if they are in folder /run.

Also after changing DISTRO_ADRVSFS to 'adrv-*_132.sfs' to support different sfs names, as
suggested by stiffling, adrv module is now listed in sfs_load - that's wrong.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1126s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0101s) ][ GZIP on ]