Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 08:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Slacko Puppy 5.3 with SCSI not happy with GRUB
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
davygrvy

Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 22:49    Post subject:  Slacko Puppy 5.3 with SCSI not happy with GRUB  

System is a supermicro P6DBU mobo with a built-in aic-7890 scsi controller with an ultra2 wide lvd 19GB drive and three cdrom drives.

So yes, this really is true ancient/true scsi. And no, I don't yet have an adaptec aro-1130u2 zero-channel raidport-III controller, but I'm looking. Real western digital wde drives are hard to find these days.. I wonder why?

Ok, so where'd I find this build?

http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/puppy-5.3/ for slacko-5.3-SCSI-PAE_HIGHMEM-ALT.iso

It runs great from the cd, but I can't do a full install. I guess it is stage-1 that bombs. first line is essentially:
kernel panic not syncing: VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)

I installed on the first ext2 (with boot flag) partition (200mb) sda1 to jump to sda3 ext3 hd(0,2), but no luck. sda2 happens to be the swap, btw.

So I guess the unknown-block(0,0) refers to itself as the grub loaded vmlinuz doesn't know about scsi even with the pmedia=scsihd option?

here's the contents of menu.lst
Code:

root (hd0,2)
kernel vmlinuz root=/dev/sda3 ro vga=normal
append initrd=initrd.gz pmedia=scsihd


How do I fix this? where am I supposed to place initrd.gz in the filesystem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 00:51    Post subject:  

A full install does not use an initrd line.
There should be a title line above root line.
(title can be practically anything you want)
Example;

title Lucid (on /dev/sda2)
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 ro vga=normal

Grub needs to be on mbr.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davygrvy

Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 01:55    Post subject:  

all that's there, but still no joy.

yes, I didn't include the title line in the example. Why can't it see itself? scsi drivers not included in the kernel it installs, just the kernel that's run off the cdrom?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 02:10    Post subject:  

There is a bug in full installs with regard to SCSI. You can overcome this manually. You need to boot live and open the initd.gz and copy all the kernel files under /lib/modules to their appropriate place in your full install. That's where the SCSI drivers are hiding and why I withdrew support for SCSI in Slacko later on.

HTH

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davygrvy

Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 03:16    Post subject:  

answers! you rock! Thanks.. I'm on it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davygrvy

Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 13:43    Post subject:  

01micko, can you recommend a build with true scsi support?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 16:33    Post subject:  

davygrvy wrote:
01micko, can you recommend a build with true scsi support?
No. As far as I know, all puppies will exhibit this bug.


EDIT: no, what I wrote here would waste your time.

If your full install failed then you probably need an initial ram disk to load scsi, which would be possible in puppy but a lot of work and you would need to find someone to help... install slackware or debian, but RTFM first!

Good Luck.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davygrvy

Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 18:34    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
EDIT: no, what I wrote here would waste your time.


I started looking into merging initrd.gz with /lib/linux2.6.xxxx/ and got all confused. It's beyond my current Fu.

Debian worked fine out of the box, but I like your desktop Wink ATM, I'm fighting xorg.conf with OpenSuSE 12.2 and Gnome. Your video probe method is *spot on*, but there's is poopoo on my old '99 pIII/agp/scsi system.

Thanks for the help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davygrvy

Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 18:45    Post subject:  

Should I just build a kernel from scratch specific for my system?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8550
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 19:06    Post subject:  

It looks like this MOBO also has IDE slots. It might be easier to stick an IDE hard drive on one and boot off it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davygrvy

Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 19:27    Post subject:  

NO!

I had this same discussion with SuSE tech support back in 1999, but back then the Adaptec drivers were garbage. As I recall, Adaptec even hired the BSD guy that wrote the first ones and he kicked-ass for a couple years making them sweet. But I didn't go back to Linux on this machine then.

It's been sitting idle in a closet since 2005.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 21:56    Post subject:  

If it works ok live just run it live. You can mount your data partitions at boot. The kernel itself should be fine if you could boot live. I still think you may need an initrd, but if you are feeling adventurous you could try to "fix" the full install by merging the kernel DOTpet with the filesystem.

Unpack the kernel pet (found on ibiblio and mirrors in the pet_packages-slacko directory). You can unpack it with tar, as it's only a tar archive with md5sum appended. Ignore the errors. Then just use cp -a --remove-destination to the root of the filesystem. If that fails to boot you surely need an initrd.

HTH

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davygrvy

Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 00:28    Post subject:  

totally above my Fu

I feel challenged to solve this. This box was a pain 13 years ago and still is today. Don't know what I'll do yet, but will RTFM before I do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davygrvy

Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 01:35    Post subject:  

CONFIG_AIC7XXX_BUILD_FIRMWARE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0639s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]