Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 16:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
pnethood can't access shared folders
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
martigej

Joined: 10 Jan 2013
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 11:31    Post_subject:  pnethood can't access shared folders
Sub_title: on windows 7
 

Hi.
I'd like some help on accessing shared folders using pnethood.

When I try "rescan network", the PC server (named x-pc) is found, but with "no shares".

I can access the shared folders from another windows pc.

The environment is:
Puppy 5.3.3
pnethood 0.6.9

Server:
windows 7

See attached the log error.

I appreciate any help.
2.png
Description  Log error
png

 Download 
Filename  2.png 
Filesize  30.64 KB 
Downloaded  410 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
frorgaba

Joined: 17 Jan 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 13:40    Post_subject: same with toutoulinux in french  

have the same problems

pnethood can find my 2 PCs but impossible to share

toutou LINUX 4.3.1
PC - Windows 8
PC - MSH 2010
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9158
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 13:59    Post_subject:  

@martigej:

Have you been doing some upgrading? I checked in Slacko 533 and it has Pnethood 0.6.8.

Also, your error message shows that smbclient is missing libldap. But in my Slacko, no such dependency is required.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9158
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 14:25    Post_subject:  

@frorgaba

Instead of Pnethood, try YASSM. It works for me in Puppy 4.3.1 with Win7 shares.

However, there have been no reports on how it works with Win8, so this may take several tries. Please report back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
martigej

Joined: 10 Jan 2013
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 19:29    Post_subject:  

Thank you for the replies.
I solved the problem simply installing "AGAIN" the packets:
- samba_mount_cifs-3.0.37-s131 and
- samba_client-3.0.37

I can't understand, because pnethood has worked some days ago....

Now I'm fighting to get "RemoteDesktop RDP client" to work...
When I click on it, nothing happens...

Any suggestion?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3938
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 19:45    Post_subject:  

Run the executable from a console.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
martigej

Joined: 10 Jan 2013
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 20:12    Post_subject:  

I don't know what is the command to run.
I tried
# rdp
return: command not found

So, I have two questions:
- What is the command for this app?
- How can I find the command for the apps installed?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3938
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 20:25    Post_subject:  

If it's rdesktop you've got there, I'm guessing the exec's tsclient..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
martigej

Joined: 10 Jan 2013
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 20:47    Post_subject:  

I ran the rdesktop from console and got the errors on image attached.

[/img]
1.png
Description  rdesktop ERRORS
png

 Download 
Filename  1.png 
Filesize  12.2 KB 
Downloaded  397 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3938
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 20:56    Post_subject:  

Hmm.. that might be something rcrsn51's seen. Can you choose between rdp4, five or six on your Windows end?

Maybe check: http://www.yolinux.com/TUTORIALS/LinuxTutorialMicrosoftWindowsNetworkIntegration.html#RDP
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
martigej

Joined: 10 Jan 2013
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 11:26    Post_subject:  

No good Semme, but thanks. I'm still not sure what to try.

@rcrsn51, do you have any further suggestions for me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9158
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 21:35    Post_subject:  

Sorry. I don't know anything about remote desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7805
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 02:13    Post_subject:  

rdesktop runs with just that, rdesktop [-options]

Code:
# rdesktop -help
rdesktop: A Remote Desktop Protocol client.
Version 1.7.1. Copyright (C) 1999-2011 Matthew Chapman et al.
See http://www.rdesktop.org/ for more information.

Usage: rdesktop [options] server[:port]
   -u: user name
   -d: domain
   -s: shell
   -c: working directory
   -p: password (- to prompt)
   -n: client hostname
   -k: keyboard layout on server (en-us, de, sv, etc.)
   -g: desktop geometry (WxH)
   -f: full-screen mode
   -b: force bitmap updates
   -L: local codepage
   -A: enable SeamlessRDP mode
   -B: use BackingStore of X-server (if available)
   -e: disable encryption (French TS)
   -E: disable encryption from client to server
   -m: do not send motion events
   -C: use private colour map
   -D: hide window manager decorations
   -K: keep window manager key bindings
   -S: caption button size (single application mode)
   -T: window title
   -N: enable numlock syncronization
   -X: embed into another window with a given id.
   -a: connection colour depth
   -z: enable rdp compression
   -x: RDP5 experience (m[odem 28.8], b[roadband], l[an] or hex nr.)
   -P: use persistent bitmap caching
   -r: enable specified device redirection (this flag can be repeated)
         '-r comport:COM1=/dev/ttyS0': enable serial redirection of /dev/ttyS0 to COM1
             or      COM1=/dev/ttyS0,COM2=/dev/ttyS1
         '-r disk:floppy=/mnt/floppy': enable redirection of /mnt/floppy to 'floppy' share
             or   'floppy=/mnt/floppy,cdrom=/mnt/cdrom'
         '-r clientname=<client name>': Set the client name displayed
             for redirected disks
         '-r lptport:LPT1=/dev/lp0': enable parallel redirection of /dev/lp0 to LPT1
             or      LPT1=/dev/lp0,LPT2=/dev/lp1
         '-r printer:mydeskjet': enable printer redirection
             or      mydeskjet="HP LaserJet IIIP" to enter server driver as well
         '-r sound:[local[:driver[:device]]|off|remote]': enable sound redirection
                     remote would leave sound on server
                     available drivers for 'local':
                     alsa:   ALSA output driver, default device: default
         '-r clipboard:[off|PRIMARYCLIPBOARD|CLIPBOARD]': enable clipboard
                      redirection.
                      'PRIMARYCLIPBOARD' looks at both PRIMARY and CLIPBOARD
                      when sending data to server.
                      'CLIPBOARD' looks at only CLIPBOARD.
   -0: attach to console
   -4: use RDP version 4
   -5: use RDP version 5 (default)


It works fine for me with XP and Win7.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
martigej

Joined: 10 Jan 2013
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 08:05    Post_subject:  

I'm using the following line code, but the system returns with ERRORS.
Is the line code correct?


Code:
sh-4.1# rdesktop -u martigej2 -p edson1 -g 1200x950 192.168.1.104
ERROR: modulus len 0x108
ERROR: send: Connection reset by peer
ERROR: Connection closed


Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7805
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 08:09    Post_subject:  

Start with small steps, leave off the -p (you will be prompted for password) and -g options. Be sure that the windows user is allowed to accept remote connections. The last part is critical.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0763s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]