Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Nov 2014, 15:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Graphics
Icon Finder v1.4
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1097

PostPosted: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 07:54    Post_subject:  

Hey RSH
RSH wrote:
LazY Puppy has installed gtkdialog4 (0.8.0) ---> which version of gtkdialog4 do you use?

The very same version.

RSH wrote:
Everything works fine if using 12 columns instead of 8 columns!

Confirmed. It seems that the "bug" reveals itself when the list is too long (too height).

but then again...

When IconFinder is launched directly through:
- .desktop symlink (/usr/share/applications)
- .dekstop file (/usr/share/applications-desktop-files/applications)
- shortcut created on the pinboard
- "LazYPuppy" menu in the bottom left corner (!)
it runs without any problems again (5076 icons, 5 columns).

So, the problem pops up when IconFinder is launched via (right click menu entry OR urxvt) AND the list is too long (height).
BTW, it happens also in regular Lupu-528, so it's not LazY specific issue.

But it's still weird and beyond my understanding, so honestly I've no idea how to fix it. Confused

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1097

PostPosted: Fri 26 Oct 2012, 09:25    Post_subject:  

v1.0 uploaded (see the first post).

Not much has changed really, just a few internal mods to handle errors and to display appropriate messages in such cases.
I just wanted to finish with those beta versions at last. Wink

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7081
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 08:14    Post_subject:  

Menu fix, see my blog:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=03071

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1097

PostPosted: Sat 27 Oct 2012, 09:48    Post_subject:  

Thank you Barry, I must have overlooked this when I (briefly) tested the app in Precise.
I've done it like this:
Code:
Categories=Graphics;Viewer

because in Slacko (and probably in other Pups too) if there's just "Viewer", the menu entry appears in "Utility" submenu only.

Thanks again!
____________

Also, there's a problem in Lupu (again) with checking if the app is already running (to prevent multiple instances), so I've removed this until I find more reliable way.

Looks like I was too hasty in ending betas, lol. Wink

First post updated.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1097

PostPosted: Sun 11 Nov 2012, 09:28    Post_subject:  

From Precise thread:
drblock2 wrote:
[...]iconfinder had left my local machine and had started to download the addresses of all the jpg's on my server. This is why the program appeared to hang.

This unexpected behavior was caused by an unintended interaction with YASSM. iconfinder is configured to search /root among other directories and YASSM mounts the network shares in /root/YASSM - hence the entire network is included in the search rather than just a few local directories where icons are likely to be found.[...]

Whoa, that wasn't planned! Laughing
But it can be useful actually, because IconFinder is flexible enough to search for...wallpapers or photos, for instance.

Fixes & additions in version 1.1:
- from the above issue - added appropriate checkbox in settings; user can choose if any encountered mount point should be included or not (default = not).
- deleted '/etc' path in default settings - icons were never there anyway...
- ".desktop" file rectified again, this time to "Category=X-Graphic-Viewer;Graphics"; the menu entry will be only in Graphic submenu (no longer in Utility) and it's still compatible with Precise (in fact, from there I took the first part of that category name).
- "multiple instances prevention" fixed at last (hopefully).
- Added few checkboxes in settings to get control on filetypes of searched pictures.

First post updated.

Greetings!
settings.png
 Description   screenshot
 Filesize   31.38 KB
 Viewed   805 Time(s)

settings.png


_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1287
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sun 11 Nov 2012, 11:40    Post_subject:  

Dear SFR,

Very nice little app. Thanks for the update.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1097

PostPosted: Tue 13 Nov 2012, 13:44    Post_subject:  

Thanks Vovchik!

And here's another update.

I was playing with Fatdog for a while and noticed that IconFinder doesn't work there due to different yaf-splash syntax.
It was a good excuse to replace it entirely with Xdialog and do some other fixes.

Version 1.2 changelog:
- yaf-splash replaced with Xdialog
- progress bar while filtering images (at last one can see "are we there yet?")
- scanning of .svg files is much faster now
- Akita has no 'exiv2', but has 'feh', so .JPGs and .TIFs will be recognized using 'feh' in this Puppy
- added .pnm format
- some internal improvements

First post updated.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1097

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 12:49    Post_subject:  

I switched to Slacko-5.4 and using Gtkdialog-0.8.2 I was able to display max. ~6000 icons, not ~9000 as it was with Gtkdialog-0.8.0...

I decided to resolve this issue once and for all. I followed RSH's advice and I applied "Tabs".
Number of icons per one tab is set to 1024 (can be amended in Settings; min. 256).
Switching between tabs, with this amount of icons/tab, takes 2-3 seconds, what is quite acceptable IMHO.

Note: There can be problems with menu entry in latest Puppies due to recent changes in petget/woof.
For now I'm not going to do anything with this until the whole situation will be stabilized.
If menu entry won't appear, one can try:
- fixmenus
- launch IconFinder from the terminal (via iconfinder)
- or make a shortcut on the pinboard

Version 1.3 was tested only on Slacko-5.4.
First post updated.

EDIT: I changed the default number of icons/tab from 1024 to 1000...I'm thinking too much in binary. Wink

Greetings!
screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   176.08 KB
 Viewed   747 Time(s)

screenshot.png


_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 21:07    Post_subject:  

I gave this a run -seemed to work great .

However I could not drag the icon to another filer or window to use that icon . I had to reach for paper to write down its location as I was not able to copy its location any way I could find

Writing it down is slow laborious and inaccurate I find

Any way to copy its location? or better be able to drag it as a link?

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1097

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 08:44    Post_subject:  

What happens when you click an icon?
Such an action should open ROX-Filer window and the icon (its file, actually) you've chosen should blink several times to reveal its exact location.

BTW, if you have thumbnails preview enabled, it may takes some time to refresh all icons in newly opened Filer window (and therefore it's hard to notice that blinking), but it always acts better on the second try, when thumbnails are already cached.

Thanks & Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 23:43    Post_subject:  

Aha click on the icon and i can then drag from the location -Thanks
Would still be nice to be able to copy the path to clipboard or save

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1097

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 10:04    Post_subject:  

Hey Tytower

I doubt if it'd be possible to, eg. drag'n'drop anything from Gtkdialog window to Filer window, but now (in version 1.3.1):
- left-click = locate an icon via ROX-Filer
- right-click = copy icon path to the clipboard (the main clipboard, IOW: CTRL+V to paste, not mouse middle-click)
- middle-click = open dialog window to save an icon in selected dir.

In addition I've added checking if clicked icon still exists and appropriate message if not.

First post updated!

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 17:59    Post_subject:  

Hi again - I'll stop pestering you after this.
I just went looking for an icon in a file /arduino-1.0.3/ that I knew was there because I could not see it on the prepared list. So I changed the directory that it searched in and it found some but not the one I wanted which was an Arduino .png and tried pointing directly at it but it still did not find it

I attach a screen shot here
Is there a particular reason it did not find it or is it something I have not done properly?
UnfoundImage.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  UnfoundImage.png 
Filesize  288.15 KB 
Downloaded  366 Time(s) 

_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1097

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 18:25    Post_subject:  

Did you check dimensions of that icon?
By default IconFinder shows images that have max. 64x64 px (you can adjust it in settings).

Another cause could be fake extension - see my first post, "Known issues" paragraph.

This should show is it really .png or sth else:
Code:
file icon_name.png

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tytower

Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 440
Location: Green Island Cairns for the winter

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 17:49    Post_subject:  

Yep - changed size to 200 x 200 and down she came
_________________
Neither my Family nor my Property are Government issues. Governments should do what they were designed to do Manage the larger issues best done by Governments
To stop corruption give them 3 times the penalty. Get their agreement on first employment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Graphics
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0848s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]