Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 07:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Upup Precise 3.7.2 with kernel 3.7.2, no pae
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 8 [118 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1006
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 03:41    Post subject:  

Hi,
this might be indicative ...
on a Dell620 laptop running idle in POWERSAVE mode, screenshot combination of the tempicon shows 20°C temperature difference between uPup54X7 and uPup3.7.2.
CPUtempk3.7.2vsk3.2.29_idle.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   16.36 KB
 Viewed   1304 Time(s)

CPUtempk3.7.2vsk3.2.29_idle.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1399
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 05:36    Post subject: New frisbee announced  

Rerwin has announced a new version of "integrated frisbee" for testing at:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64472&start=108

For some reason? the pop-ups display at different parts of the screen in Upup Precise as compared to Precise 5.4.3 or Slacko 5.4? Anybody know why this might be?

Some of the components are already in Upup Precise 3.7.2 from an earlier less developed release - but to be safe all of the new components should be loaded.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2086
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 21:54    Post subject: Upup Precise 3.7.2 with kernel 3.7.2, no pae  

I did a manual frugal install to the hard drive.
I installed your amd_fglrx_catalyst-legacy-12.6-k3.7.2-upup.pet
VIDEO REPORT: Upup Precise, version 3.7.2
Chip description:
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RS780 01.00
Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe
Drivers requested to be loaded: fglrx
Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): fglrx
Loaded modules: amdxmm dbe ddc dri dri2 extmod fb fglrxdrm glesx glx kbd
mouse ramdac record vbe vgahw
Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes
OpenGL
Vendor ATI Technologies Inc.
Renderer ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics
Version 3.3.11653 Compatibility Profile Context
Direct Rendering Yes
# glxgears
19537 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3907.197 FPS
19552 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3910.321 FPS
19574 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3914.723 FPS
Computer
Processor 4x AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 810 Processor
Memory 3374MB (235MB used)
Linksys WUSB54GC v1 802.11g Adapter [Ralink RT73]

It's working well so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   75.03 KB
 Viewed   1168 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 647
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jan 2013, 22:03    Post subject:
Subject description: which thing's temperature is displayed??
 

G'day charlie6,
I too saw quite different temperatures reported by the task-bar tempicon between different Pups on my desktop.

But one day, I right-clicked the tempicon to see 'More Info' and found temperatures were being reported for different computer elements - one Pup tempicon was reporting CPU (e.g. 35C), another Pup's tempicon was the graphics card temperature (e.g. 60C).

The 'More Info' shows all the temperatures so you can see which is ending up as the Pup's task bar icon.

Once I found this was happening, the differences between the same part for different Pups were much less.

Maybe there needs to be more icons (temperatures) displayed, maybe colour-coded for the different bits?

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2086
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jan 2013, 19:48    Post subject: Upup Precise 3.7.2 with kernel 3.7.2, no pae
Subject description: Midnight Commander
 

@pemasu
I made and tested pets of the newest Midnight Commander file manager and it's
dependency Slang in Upup 472, mc is working well for me but needs the
devx installed to unpack zip files.
mc-4.8.1.7-i686.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  mc-4.8.1.7-i686.pet 
Filesize  617.34 KB 
Downloaded  167 Time(s) 
mc_DOC-4.8.1.7-i686.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  mc_DOC-4.8.1.7-i686.pet 
Filesize  690.26 KB 
Downloaded  151 Time(s) 
mc_NLS-4.8.1.7-i686.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  mc_NLS-4.8.1.7-i686.pet 
Filesize  786.64 KB 
Downloaded  163 Time(s) 
slang-2.1.4-i686.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  slang-2.1.4-i686.pet 
Filesize  806.86 KB 
Downloaded  160 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2086
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 03:47    Post subject: Upup Precise 3.7.2 with kernel 3.7.2, no pae  

Running from live dvd with a savefile on intel imac.
VIDEO REPORT: Upup Precise, version 3.7.2
Chip description:
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: M74 01.00
Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe
Drivers requested to be loaded: fglrx
Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): fglrx
Loaded modules: amdxmm dbe ddc dri dri2 extmod fb fglrxdrm glesx glx
kbd mouse ramdac record vbe vgahw
Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1680x1050 pixels (444x277 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes
OpenGL
Vendor ATI Technologies Inc.
Renderer ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2400 XT
Version 3.3.11653 Compatibility Profile Context
Direct Rendering Yes
# glxgears
24764 frames in 5.0 seconds = 4952.728 FPS
25179 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5035.719 FPS
25190 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5037.968 FPS
Computer
Processor 2x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8135 @ 2.40GHz
Memory 3095MB (201MB used)
Network controller Broadcom Corporation BCM4321 802.11a/b/g/n (rev 05)

Your ati legacy pet is working well on this imac too.

I made a htop version 1.0.2 pet if you want it.
htop-1.0.2-i686.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  htop-1.0.2-i686.pet 
Filesize  57.28 KB 
Downloaded  169 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2086
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 05:41    Post subject: Upup Precise 3.7.2 with kernel 3.7.2, no pae
Subject description: cmus
 

I made a pet of cmus music player in upup 372.
The link below is to a tutorial on using cmus.

http://www.tuxarena.com/static/cmus_guide.php
cmus-v2.5.0-i686.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  cmus-v2.5.0-i686.pet 
Filesize  194.58 KB 
Downloaded  152 Time(s) 
cmus.scrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   73.31 KB
 Viewed   995 Time(s)

cmus.scrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jan 2013, 06:25    Post subject:  

I notice the default gtk-theme is buggy, well at least for puppy use. We came across this bug in Lupu development. When you right click a tray icon it executes the bottom entry straight away unless you hold the right click.
Should be easy to confirm.

HTH

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 17:07    Post subject:  

No wireless with Precise 3.7.2 The RT2500PCI is listed under
hardware detected but it doesn't work. I tried selecting it and
I also tried Ndiswrapper with my Windows .inf file and driver.
I don't know what to try next. This is the first Pup that's given
me this kind of total failure. There's no wlan0 available at all.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 17:11    Post subject:  

artsown. Run pdiag in console and post the created tar ball from the /root here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 17:50    Post subject:  

Ok pemasu. I've attached the requested file.

Art
pdiag-20130120.tar.gz
Description  Relating to wireless failure.
gz

 Download 
Filename  pdiag-20130120.tar.gz 
Filesize  121.05 KB 
Downloaded  141 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 18:32    Post subject:  

artsown.
Quote:
[ 95.250346] phy0 -> rt2x00lib_probe_dev: Error - Failed to initialize hw.
[ 95.250411] rt2500pci: probe of 0000:02:0a.0 failed with error -22


there is failure with rt2500pci kernel module. It does not initialize your wireless hardware. The reason to that is unkown atm.

But something is wrong with that module.
You could check that the wireless is not blocked.

In console something like this:
rfkill unblock all
rmmod rt2500pci
modprobe rt2500pci

Probably wont help, but you can try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jan 2013, 19:54    Post subject:  

pemasu, you're right. No help at all.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 148
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 07:11    Post subject:  

Hello Pemasu

The vlc-2.0.5_two_flower.pet may be broken. When I tried to install it I got: error:failed to install. I tried re-downloading and checking the size but they were the same.

The good news is that I installed XBMC-XVBA 12.0 RC3 from the PPA on Launchpad and it worked at the first attempt. But I had installed libmysqlclient.so.18 first!

XVBA works with your ATI 12.6 Legacy driver.

------

One change I have noticed, with this kernel, is that the AMD K10 frequency scaling driver is in acpi-cpufreq and not in powernow-k8. So acpi-cpufreq loads by default and works correctly. powernow-k8 will not load.

Thank you for your work on this Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4765
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 10:07    Post subject: drivers  

I was visiting a school lab with new PCs, many of which have broken Win$, and this build handled the wireless connections easily. Sorry to hear about artsown's problem.

Thanks, Pemasu!

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 8 [118 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0848s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0061s) ][ GZIP on ]