Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 02:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
roar-ng and Subito GNU/Linux 0.9.5 Beta
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 12 [172 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12
Author Message
RJARRRPCGP

Joined: 09 Dec 2008
Posts: 98
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 21:07    Post subject:  

8-bit wrote:

But that, I kind of expected as I was booting it on a dual-core amd processor PC. But.... That PC will NOT run 64bit applications as it was built with a 32bit buss.


All dual core AMDs support 64-bit. I'm not aware of AMD possibly disabling 64-bit except for some maybe some Semprons.

That's not correct unless you have a socket 462, which was never 64-bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1775
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 13:54    Post subject:  

RJARRRPCGP wrote:
Iguleder wrote:
Full instructions are located here.

However, in order to make a 32-bit, you'll have to do one extra step: run 4buildpackage for each package mentioned here. Before you do this, you'll have to change the architecture (under conf/distrorc) to "i486" and remove all Subito packages from the package list. Once all packages are built, you can rebuild the whole thing with those packages included.


GoDaddy wrote:


NOTICE: This domain name expired on 01/07/2013 and is pending renewal or deletion.


Yeah, I've given up that domain. I migrated all my stuff to my new domain and decided to drop this one.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
RJARRRPCGP

Joined: 09 Dec 2008
Posts: 98
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 14:01    Post subject:  

Does Slacko 5.4 have most of the required dependencies already?

I know it don't have git and aria2. But PPM will tell me that git is installed already! Confused

And Python appears to not be installed, despite PPM claims there's Python installed already. Confused

I had it up to my knees with PPM! Mad

Now, does Slacko 5.4 have all of the other dependencies already?

(other than advancecomp and optipng)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1775
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 15:01    Post subject:  

You don't need any of these ... Rolling Eyes

I don't know what the heck you're trying to do, but Puppy has everything you need in order to run roar-ng II. If you don't have Git you can always download a tarball via GitHub.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
RJARRRPCGP

Joined: 09 Dec 2008
Posts: 98
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 16:53    Post subject:  

Iguleder wrote:
You don't need any of these ... Rolling Eyes

I don't know what the heck you're trying to do, but Puppy has everything you need in order to run roar-ng II. If you don't have Git you can always download a tarball via GitHub.


Thank you. Was just dealing with PPM issues and just reinstalled Slacko 5.4 last night.

It looks like git gets installed when I tell PPM to install git, despite there's text telling me it's installed already. Confused

It also looks like Slacko comes with a failed Python install by default. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RJARRRPCGP

Joined: 09 Dec 2008
Posts: 98
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 23:32    Post subject:  

Iguleder wrote:
You don't need any of these ... Rolling Eyes

I don't know what the heck you're trying to do, but Puppy has everything you need in order to run roar-ng II. If you don't have Git you can always download a tarball via GitHub.


Looks like git went fine.

I was able to cd to the roar-ng-ii directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
efgee

Joined: 08 Apr 2010
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Thu 09 May 2013, 01:56    Post subject:  

Hi, just found "roar-ng ii" and thought I try it out.
Got the github package and started it according to the readme file.
Went the easy route just to see if it even would work on my machine and started the shahor build.

The first 3 steps went OK except an error message said that one file could not be created because it already exists...
Didn't sound too bad, so I proceeded.

Had to use sudo for the 4th step to get started (permission was needed):
"sudo ./roar-ng build isolinux shahor.iso"

But it stops with an error:
Quote:
/home/efgee/roar-ng-ii/skeleton/initramfs
Registering the "initramfs" package
./common: line 806: /home/efgee/roar-ng-ii/sandbox/initramfs/var/hpm/initramfs: No such file or directory
./roar-ng: line 343: cpio: command not found
which: no advdef in (/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/bin/vendor_perl:/usr/bin/core_perl)
/home/efgee/roar-ng-ii/media/isolinux: line 47: mkisofs: command not found
Error: failed to create the bootable media image.


Is there more documentation that I should read?

The host distro was Manjaro (Arch for lazy ones like me...)

In any case, I think your tool is pretty cool, even if I'm too dumb to use it Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 12 [172 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0550s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]