Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 06:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
ArchPup - First Puppy with pacman for installing apps
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 16:16    Post subject:  

stif,
Don't remember precisely when, but I added this in rc.sysinit (It was needed by cups daemon)
Code:
ifconfig lo up

ping localhost and ping 127.0.0.1 work this way, could you test that or maybe I should make replacement in rc.sysinit with
Code:
ifconfig lo up 127.0.0.1

Edit: For starting dbus looks like /etc/init.d/messagebus needs some fixing, it reports missing /run/dbus/system_bus_socket.
And only reason I added exec dbus-launch $WINDOW_MANAGER in /root/.xinitrc was to get thumbnails to show in thunar (tumbler used it).
In spacefm thumbnails are shown without it, but something else might need dbus-daemon so I'll leave this line.

Last edited by simargl on Tue 22 Jan 2013, 16:43; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 16:24    Post subject:  

no i'm sure it's working fine...i just need to upgrade. been too lazy to do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 16:33    Post subject:  

Stifling are you willing to share your version of non-pae archpup?

I tried your solution, seems like dbus is running.
but upower gives error when I run batti.

I tried conky and tint2 battery monitors as well.

I think im gonna stick with batterymon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 22 Jan 2013, 18:13    Post subject:  

I followed this guide http://chakra-linux.org/wiki/index.php/D-Bus and after adding
dbus group and user and changing PIDFILE=/var/run/dbus/pid to PIDFILE=/run/dbus/pid
in /etc/init.d/messagebus dbus seems to start regularly.
No need for launching dbus within /root/.xinitrc so that line is removed.
Back to top
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 06:57    Post subject:  

Here is example rc.conf from earlier Arch Linux http://kissmyarch.blogspot.com/p/etcrc.html. You see that it also has network
setup, so I want to implement that in ArchPup. Here is current /etc/rc.conf:
Code:
#!/bin/sh

# USER SELECTED VARIABLES
X_AUTOLOGIN="yes"
AUTOMOUNT_VOLUMES="no"
SAVEFILE_DIALOG_FORCE="no"
DAEMONS="metalog alsa cups messagebus network rc.pcmcia rsync Pwireless2 sfs_load"
MODULES=""

# NETWORK
# Use 'ip addr' or 'ls /sys/class/net/' to see all available interfaces.
#
# Wired network setup
#   - interface: name of device (required)
#   - address: IP address (leave blank for DHCP)
#   - netmask: subnet mask (ignored for DHCP)
#   - gateway: default route (ignored for DHCP)
#
# Static IP example
# interface=eth0
# address=192.168.0.2
# netmask=255.255.255.0
# gateway=192.168.0.1
#
# DHCP example
# interface=eth0
# address=
# netmask=
# gateway=

interface=eth0
address=
netmask=
gateway=

and /etc/init.d/network daemon that reads info from rc.conf
Code:
#!/bin/sh
#
# Starting and stopping wired network

. /etc/rc.conf

case $1 in
  start)
   ifconfig $interface up
   dhcpcd $interface ;;
  stop)
   ifconfig $interface down
   killall dhcpcd ;;
  *)
   echo "Usage: network {start|stop}"
   exit 1
esac

What do you think about this? Is it possible to setup wireless this way? Obviously this needs
fixing for static IP, but it's just beginning. Also, I'm not at all expert in all of those different network
configurations Rolling Eyes so your help is welcome (and needed).
Back to top
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 07:19    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
I followed this guide http://chakra-linux.org/wiki/index.php/D-Bus and after adding
dbus group and user and changing PIDFILE=/var/run/dbus/pid to PIDFILE=/run/dbus/pid
in /etc/init.d/messagebus dbus seems to start regularly.
No need for launching dbus within /root/.xinitrc so that line is removed.


I removed the solution stifling offered and followed above.

When starting batti I get
Code:
     
org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoServer: Failed to connect to socket /run/dbus/system_bus_socket: Connection refused


user permissions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 07:22    Post subject:  

Hi,
no user permissions, you just need to mkdir /run/dbus. That folder was missing but it's fixed for the future...
Back to top
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 07:26    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
Hi,
no user permissions, you just need to mkdir /run/dbus. That folder was missing but it's fixed for the future...


I have it already
Code:

[12:27 root@archpup ~] > ls /run/dbus/
pid  system_bus_socket
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 07:30    Post subject:  

Another question.

Now that I have commented out autostart of windowmanager in /etc/profile
I have noticed that I have to run archpupx twice to make it work is this

a) a known fixed bug
b) unknown bug
c) A bug that is only bugging me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 07:40    Post subject:  

For me it's similar - some time Xorg starts after first attempt and some time after second.
That's why I like automatic login, because archpupx is started over from /etc/profile until it succeds. Very Happy
Back to top
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1686

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 07:42    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
What do you think about this? Is it possible to setup wireless this way?

For wireless you need to find your access point (from the many usually available), determine its encryption and if any provide a password.
So for a specific AP is doable but not as a general approach.

Are you looking to replace Pwireless/Frisbee/SNS etc?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 07:49    Post subject:  

Scooby,
Try removing /run/dbus/pid that file should be there only if dbus-daemon is already running,
Did you replace PIDFILE in /etc/init.d/messagebus? After that try /etc/init.d/messagebus start
and /etc/init.d/messagebus stop, for me it's working.
mavrothal wrote:
Are you looking to replace Pwireless/Frisbee/SNS etc?

No, I will leave Pwireless included it seems to work OK. It will not change unless sometime someone make
GUI ( preferably in yad) for wireless connections that will store variables in rc.conf, and read them on system boot.
But, nothing is wrong with Pwireless - judging by user comments it's working fine Razz.
Back to top
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 832
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 09:54    Post subject:  

A lot of stuff is wrong with Pwireless. It won't work with my wifi device, even if the module for it is loaded. Yes, I am using Slacko 5.4's non-pae kernel in ArchPup 12.12.2 and it should work, but it does not.
_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Windows 7
(Slacko) Puppy Arcade 11 on USB Stick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1686

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 10:40    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
A lot of stuff is wrong with Pwireless. It won't work with my wifi device, even if the module for it is loaded. Yes, I am using Slacko 5.4's non-pae kernel in ArchPup 12.12.2 and it should work, but it does not.

Unless you intent to fix it your self, statements like this do not help in any way.
What about providing /tmp/xerrors.log (were pwireless writes its successes/failures), your wifi card model and the kernel messages that show that everything is fine (or not) with it, etc, so either solve the problem or establish that Pwireless is indeed problematic. Wink

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 832
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 23 Jan 2013, 10:47    Post subject:  

Nevermind the module didn't load, actually the only modules loaded are:

Code:
fuse
aufs
squashfs


Why so?

_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Windows 7
(Slacko) Puppy Arcade 11 on USB Stick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0860s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]