ArchPup - First Puppy with pacman for installing apps

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Post Reply
Message
Author
simargl

#121 Post by simargl »

stif,
Don't remember precisely when, but I added this in rc.sysinit (It was needed by cups daemon)

Code: Select all

ifconfig lo up
ping localhost and ping 127.0.0.1 work this way, could you test that or maybe I should make replacement in rc.sysinit with

Code: Select all

ifconfig lo up 127.0.0.1
Edit: For starting dbus looks like /etc/init.d/messagebus needs some fixing, it reports missing /run/dbus/system_bus_socket.
And only reason I added exec dbus-launch $WINDOW_MANAGER in /root/.xinitrc was to get thumbnails to show in thunar (tumbler used it).
In spacefm thumbnails are shown without it, but something else might need dbus-daemon so I'll leave this line.
Last edited by simargl on Tue 22 Jan 2013, 20:43, edited 3 times in total.

stifiling
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun 30 Dec 2007, 03:56

#122 Post by stifiling »

no i'm sure it's working fine...i just need to upgrade. been too lazy to do it.

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#123 Post by Scooby »

Stifling are you willing to share your version of non-pae archpup?

I tried your solution, seems like dbus is running.
but upower gives error when I run batti.

I tried conky and tint2 battery monitors as well.

I think im gonna stick with batterymon

simargl

#124 Post by simargl »

I followed this guide http://chakra-linux.org/wiki/index.php/D-Bus and after adding
dbus group and user and changing PIDFILE=/var/run/dbus/pid to PIDFILE=/run/dbus/pid
in /etc/init.d/messagebus dbus seems to start regularly.
No need for launching dbus within /root/.xinitrc so that line is removed.

simargl

#125 Post by simargl »

Here is example rc.conf from earlier Arch Linux http://kissmyarch.blogspot.com/p/etcrc.html. You see that it also has network
setup, so I want to implement that in ArchPup. Here is current /etc/rc.conf:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

# USER SELECTED VARIABLES
X_AUTOLOGIN="yes"
AUTOMOUNT_VOLUMES="no"
SAVEFILE_DIALOG_FORCE="no"
DAEMONS="metalog alsa cups messagebus network rc.pcmcia rsync Pwireless2 sfs_load"
MODULES=""

# NETWORK
# Use 'ip addr' or 'ls /sys/class/net/' to see all available interfaces.
#
# Wired network setup
#   - interface: name of device (required)
#   - address: IP address (leave blank for DHCP)
#   - netmask: subnet mask (ignored for DHCP)
#   - gateway: default route (ignored for DHCP)
#
# Static IP example
# interface=eth0
# address=192.168.0.2
# netmask=255.255.255.0
# gateway=192.168.0.1
#
# DHCP example
# interface=eth0
# address=
# netmask=
# gateway=

interface=eth0
address=
netmask=
gateway=
and /etc/init.d/network daemon that reads info from rc.conf

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
# 
# Starting and stopping wired network 

. /etc/rc.conf

case $1 in
  start)
	ifconfig $interface up
	dhcpcd $interface ;;
  stop)
	ifconfig $interface down
	killall dhcpcd ;;
  *)
	echo "Usage: network {start|stop}"
	exit 1
esac
What do you think about this? Is it possible to setup wireless this way? Obviously this needs
fixing for static IP, but it's just beginning. Also, I'm not at all expert in all of those different network
configurations :roll: so your help is welcome (and needed).

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#126 Post by Scooby »

simargl wrote:I followed this guide http://chakra-linux.org/wiki/index.php/D-Bus and after adding
dbus group and user and changing PIDFILE=/var/run/dbus/pid to PIDFILE=/run/dbus/pid
in /etc/init.d/messagebus dbus seems to start regularly.
No need for launching dbus within /root/.xinitrc so that line is removed.
I removed the solution stifling offered and followed above.

When starting batti I get

Code: Select all

     
org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoServer: Failed to connect to socket /run/dbus/system_bus_socket: Connection refused
user permissions?

simargl

#127 Post by simargl »

Hi,
no user permissions, you just need to mkdir /run/dbus. That folder was missing but it's fixed for the future...

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#128 Post by Scooby »

simargl wrote:Hi,
no user permissions, you just need to mkdir /run/dbus. That folder was missing but it's fixed for the future...
I have it already

Code: Select all

[12:27 root@archpup ~] > ls /run/dbus/
pid  system_bus_socket

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#129 Post by Scooby »

Another question.

Now that I have commented out autostart of windowmanager in /etc/profile
I have noticed that I have to run archpupx twice to make it work is this

a) a known fixed bug
b) unknown bug
c) A bug that is only bugging me?

simargl

#130 Post by simargl »

For me it's similar - some time Xorg starts after first attempt and some time after second.
That's why I like automatic login, because archpupx is started over from /etc/profile until it succeds. :D

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

#131 Post by mavrothal »

simargl wrote:What do you think about this? Is it possible to setup wireless this way?
For wireless you need to find your access point (from the many usually available), determine its encryption and if any provide a password.
So for a specific AP is doable but not as a general approach.

Are you looking to replace Pwireless/Frisbee/SNS etc?
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

simargl

#132 Post by simargl »

Scooby,
Try removing /run/dbus/pid that file should be there only if dbus-daemon is already running,
Did you replace PIDFILE in /etc/init.d/messagebus? After that try /etc/init.d/messagebus start
and /etc/init.d/messagebus stop, for me it's working.
mavrothal wrote:Are you looking to replace Pwireless/Frisbee/SNS etc?
No, I will leave Pwireless included it seems to work OK. It will not change unless sometime someone make
GUI ( preferably in yad) for wireless connections that will store variables in rc.conf, and read them on system boot.
But, nothing is wrong with Pwireless - judging by user comments it's working fine :P.

bark_bark_bark
Posts: 1885
Joined: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 12:17
Location: Wisconsin USA

#133 Post by bark_bark_bark »

A lot of stuff is wrong with Pwireless. It won't work with my wifi device, even if the module for it is loaded. Yes, I am using Slacko 5.4's non-pae kernel in ArchPup 12.12.2 and it should work, but it does not.
....

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

#134 Post by mavrothal »

bark_bark_bark wrote:A lot of stuff is wrong with Pwireless. It won't work with my wifi device, even if the module for it is loaded. Yes, I am using Slacko 5.4's non-pae kernel in ArchPup 12.12.2 and it should work, but it does not.
Unless you intent to fix it your self, statements like this do not help in any way.
What about providing /tmp/xerrors.log (were pwireless writes its successes/failures), your wifi card model and the kernel messages that show that everything is fine (or not) with it, etc, so either solve the problem or establish that Pwireless is indeed problematic. :wink:
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

bark_bark_bark
Posts: 1885
Joined: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 12:17
Location: Wisconsin USA

#135 Post by bark_bark_bark »

Nevermind the module didn't load, actually the only modules loaded are:

Code: Select all

fuse
aufs
squashfs
Why so?
....

stifiling
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun 30 Dec 2007, 03:56

#136 Post by stifiling »

bark_bark_bark wrote:Nevermind the module didn't load, actually the only modules loaded are:

Code: Select all

fuse
aufs
squashfs
Why so?
i ran into that too when i switched kernels...i remedied it by using a save file. after rebooting into the save file...the default modules loaded.

bark_bark_bark
Posts: 1885
Joined: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 12:17
Location: Wisconsin USA

#137 Post by bark_bark_bark »

now it works.
....

stifiling
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun 30 Dec 2007, 03:56

#138 Post by stifiling »

bark_bark_bark wrote:now it works.
your broadcom wireless adapter is recongnized now, using the slacko non-pae kernel? pwireless2 is using wlan0 to connect to wifi?

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#139 Post by Scooby »

simargl wrote:Scooby,
Try removing /run/dbus/pid that file should be there only if dbus-daemon is already running,
Did you replace PIDFILE in /etc/init.d/messagebus? After that try /etc/init.d/messagebus start
and /etc/init.d/messagebus stop, for me it's working.
[

I use this
PIDFILE=/run/dbus/pid

This is a sequential list of commands in terminal after a fresh restart
What lines did you erase in .xinitrc?

[17:30 root@archpup etc] > cat /run/dbus/pid
1919

[17:30 root@archpup etc] > ps -e|grep dbus
2163 ? 00:00:00 dbus-daemon
2299 pts/0 00:00:00 dbus-launch
2300 ? 00:00:00 dbus-daemon

[17:30 root@archpup etc] > /etc/init.d/messagebus stop
Stopping system message bus...
[17:32 root@archpup etc] > ps -e|grep dbus
2299 pts/0 00:00:00 dbus-launch

[17:33 root@archpup etc] > /etc/init.d/messagebus start
Starting system message bus: /usr/bin/dbus-uuidgen --ensure ; /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --system
Unknown username "polkitd" in message bus configuration file
Unknown username "polkitd" in message bus configuration file

[17:33 root@archpup etc] > ps -e|grep dbus
2299 pts/0 00:00:00 dbus-launch
2483 ? 00:00:00 dbus-daemon

[17:34 root@archpup etc] > cat /run/dbus/pid
2483

[17:34 root@archpup etc] > batti
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/batti", line 41, in <module>
bus = dbus.SessionBus()
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/dbus/_dbus.py", line 211, in __new__
mainloop=mainloop)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/dbus/_dbus.py", line 100, in __new__
bus = BusConnection.__new__(subclass, bus_type, mainloop=mainloop)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/dbus/bus.py", line 122, in __new__
bus = cls._new_for_bus(address_or_type, mainloop=mainloop)
dbus.exceptions.DBusException: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoServer: Failed to connect to socket /tmp/dbus-4f4FwEyACF: Connection refused

bark_bark_bark
Posts: 1885
Joined: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 12:17
Location: Wisconsin USA

#140 Post by bark_bark_bark »

stifiling wrote:
your broadcom wireless adapter is recongnized now, using the slacko non-pae kernel? pwireless2 is using wlan0 to connect to wifi?
Yes.
....

Post Reply