How to not show a running program in the taskbar? SOLOVED

For discussions about programming, programming questions/advice, and projects that don't really have anything to do with Puppy.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
oldyeller
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 14:26
Location: Alaska

How to not show a running program in the taskbar? SOLOVED

#1 Post by oldyeller »

Hi Everyone,

Is it possible to have a program opened and not shown on the taskbar?

I have made a launcher Manna Menu and would like not to have it shown on the taskbar since it will be on the screen full time.

Thanks for any help

Cheers
Attachments
programopened.jpg
(96.19 KiB) Downloaded 253 times
Last edited by oldyeller on Sat 26 Jan 2013, 07:21, edited 1 time in total.

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

#2 Post by musher0 »

Hi.

Here's only enough to wet your water pump, since I don't know how to do it in jwm... (shame on me) :)

In icewm or lxp-icewm you'd insert the following line in your winoptions file :

Code: Select all

XLoad.ignoreTaskBar: 1
(replacing "XLoad" with the proper program name)

BFN.

musher0
Last edited by musher0 on Fri 25 Jan 2013, 22:37, edited 1 time in total.
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

seaside
Posts: 934
Joined: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 00:19

#3 Post by seaside »

You can do it in JWM by the class nolist function- see here-
http://joewing.net/projects/jwm/config.shtml#trays

Cheers,
s

User avatar
Keef
Posts: 987
Joined: Thu 20 Dec 2007, 22:12
Location: Staffordshire

#4 Post by Keef »

.... but you'll be lucky if it works!!

seaside
Posts: 934
Joined: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 00:19

#5 Post by seaside »

Keef wrote:.... but you'll be lucky if it works!!
Keef, point well taken.

I found that gtkdialog usually needs both class and name-

Code: Select all

--name=nolist --class=nolist
and in /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal

Code: Select all

<Group>
<Name>nolist</Name>
<Class>nolist</Class>
<Option>nolist</Option>
</Group>
Cheers,
s

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

Re: How to not show a running program in the taskbar?

#6 Post by SFR »

oldyeller wrote:I have made a launcher Manna Menu and would like not to have it shown on the taskbar since it will be on the screen full time.
If your app uses Gtkdialog:

Code: Select all

<window skip-taskbar-hint="true">
Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

seaside
Posts: 934
Joined: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 00:19

Re: How to not show a running program in the taskbar?

#7 Post by seaside »

SFR wrote:
oldyeller wrote:I have made a launcher Manna Menu and would like not to have it shown on the taskbar since it will be on the screen full time.
If your app uses Gtkdialog:

Code: Select all

<window skip-taskbar-hint="true">
Greetings!
SFR,
Yes, much easier for gtkdialog.
regards,
s

User avatar
oldyeller
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 14:26
Location: Alaska

Re: How to not show a running program in the taskbar?

#8 Post by oldyeller »

seaside wrote:
SFR wrote:
oldyeller wrote:I have made a launcher Manna Menu and would like not to have it shown on the taskbar since it will be on the screen full time.
If your app uses Gtkdialog:

Code: Select all

<window skip-taskbar-hint="true">
Greetings!
SFR,
Yes, much easier for gtkdialog.
regards,
s
Hello Everyone,

Thanks for all of your help.

@SFR That did work for not showing on taskbar. But I end up using this pet from here http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 570#588570 which allowed me to have it off and not have a window frame as well.

It seems that this works out the best for me

Cheers

Post Reply