Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 17:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko-5.4 feedback and bug reports
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 19 [281 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2126
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jan 2013, 09:24    Post subject: Slacko-5.4 feedback and bug reports
Subject description: vlc-2.0.5 pet
 

I compiled and tested vlc-2.0.5 in Slacko-5.4, it works fine with the
intel video driver, should work with ati but it may need the
proprietary nvidia driver for nvidia graphics cards.I haven't tested
it with the nouveau driver so it may work on nvidia cards that use that
driver.
Vlc needs qt-4.8.2 to be installed and it's available for download in
the puppy package manager.

Here's the download link for vlc-2.0.5

http://www.datafilehost.com/download-965dfe10.html
vlcscreen.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   35.77 KB
 Viewed   851 Time(s)

vlcscreen.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jan 2013, 14:40    Post subject:  

Hi 01micko.
I saved to the live multisession CD by following the PowerOff procedure from the menu, and that worked as normal. Surprise at the next boot, when the 'Save' icon suddenly appeared above the middle on the screen!
I would have liked to see a 'save-to-some-live-media' dialog, without having to use PowerOff, as a menu item in future releases.

I also found out the hard way, that adding the rox-filer update pet, and then saving to CD, plays havoc with downloads and settings in earlier saves, at next boot. The 'Save' icon disappeared again. So as a tip for others, the update should perhaps be added to an unmodified .iso, to avoid extra work.

In an earlier post in this thread, you wrote:
Some reading

I took a look at atop in that link, and it seemed like an interesting tool. Could it be used for diagnosing Slacko problems, specifically the 'freeze' problem, which I have experienced first hand myself?

tallboy

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 444
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jan 2013, 15:34    Post subject:  

Next release wish: I miss having a visible 'bullet' indicating that for example an .iso or an .sfs is mounted, like I have had in earlier puppys. It seems that the icon with a bullet that appear when a drive is mounted, is limited to those drives. ROX?

I also miss the mtpaint-based screen capture application in the tray in my dpup484/5, that let you drag a capture to size. Simple and quick.

I installed the jwm-661-plus.pet and jwmconfig2-130125.pet. The mouse cursor now changes it's shape when it is moved over the window border buttons, I hope that effect will be a setup choice and not default, in the stable versions soon to come. To me it feels confusing when the eyes are drawn to that movement, instead of just clicking when the cursor arrow is over a button.
When clicking the clock at the right side of the bottom tray to see the calendar, the calendar places itself so low behind the tray, that the close button is unreachable. Why not let the calendar close itself when the cursor moves away, like it did earlier? Unnessesary clicks are wasting time and destroying arms.
Besides, PupClockSet for setting the clock's format is now a module that have to be downloaded separately, it is not listed in the ppm.

tallboy

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 851
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 05:38    Post subject:  

hey micko

noticed the first hang since running 5.4 again, maybe a coincidence but the partview icon was missing from the taskbar, took about 3-4 minutes from clicking the whitespace to the data displaying, when clicking on drive icons similar time elapsed

one other item to mention, not sure if it's a bug or not but have to click twice on desktop icon to get to clear desktop screen

I have process manager running in pwidgets and only high cpu load shows firefox (11 tabs open 18% load)

repeated attempts to open drives has the same hanging duration

also noticed that /var/log/messages date is one day forward (ie 30 jan)?

access to other apps and 'home' ok so it appears to be isolated to mounting somehow, again, sorry don't know how to gather data for you

Smile

** EDIT running partview from the terminal outputs:

"EXIT=exit on timeout"

*** EDIT - drive mounting not resolved by restartx, drive icons not visible after either, would not shutdown correctly and required a power-button hold down to turn-off system
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 09:36    Post subject:  

ally wrote:
also noticed that /var/log/messages date is one day forward (ie 30 jan)?

This happens because, when Puppy starts, the local time is temporarily set to a fictitious time zone 23 hours ahead of UTC, and is not corrected until after syslogd is started. So syslogd sends us messages from the future. Smile

You may be able bring syslogd back from its time warp by modifying one line in /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit (and rebooting):
Code:
#unset TZ #100319 busybox hwclock gives priority to this (rather than /etc/localtime) and 'init' has set it wrong.

Remove the hash character at the beginning of the line so that it reads:
Code:
unset TZ #100319 busybox hwclock gives priority to this (rather than /etc/localtime) and 'init' has set it wrong.

Although I don't see any potential problem, I have not tried this, so this advice comes with no warranty, and I don't know if there might be any other side-effects.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 851
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 13:09    Post subject:  

hey npierce

not bothersome just reported as noticed flopping around for clues on the hanging, thanks though

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1077

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 15:59    Post subject: Hanging, HDD deadlocks, etc.  

Mick, there's a big chance that I won't be tormenting you anymore. Wink
After 1024 conjectures, finally I tried:
Code:
mount -o remount,sync /dev/loop1

...and:
(VirtualBox) Precise-3.7.2, pmedia=atahd, slackosave.2fs on NTFS partition - [ OK! ]
(VirtualBox) Slacko-5.4-PAE, pmedia=ataflash, slackosave.2fs on NTFS partition - [ OK! ]
(Real envir.) Slacko-5.4-PAE, pmedia=ataflash, slackosave.2fs on NTFS partition - [ OK! ]
(of course I have removed 'echo 1 > ...dirty' from rc.sysinit)

I doubt if this is the real solution (saving is not so fluent as in 5.3.3), most likely just another workaround, but it's the most promising one so far!
Anyway, I'll let you know if anything change for the worse.

Also, I don't really know how much my issue is related to your's (8-bit, Ally & others), but you could try and see if this helps (at your own risk, of course Wink ).

Very Happy
Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7831
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 00:41    Post subject:  

Hello SFR

Interesting.. you may want to add "noatime" argument. What this does is prevent the kernel writing timestamps back to "disk" each time a file changes. It may improve your performance. https://lesswatts.org/tips/disks.php. Barry has that reference in /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit

Do you have a reference? Are you running the command from /etc/rc.d/rc.local? (I guess).

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3380
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 01:12    Post subject:  

It seems that I had a bad slackosave file.
The partition I did the frugal install to was formatted 2FS and I had made the save file 3FS.
I booted to another version of Puppy and ran e2fsck -y on the save file and it came up with some errors that were corrected.
I do not know if that was part of the cause.
But also, I had removed Firefox and had installed Seamonkey and let it do the latest update of itself.
Also, I had installed a Nvidia Pet file that corresponded with the kernel version as well as xfce4 and comp-fusion.
So trying to get your TRY_ME ISO to the same point, I ran into a problem finding a NVIDIA pet file for it, and it just was too many changes that I had made that stopped me from further testing.
As the TRY_ME ISO stood, there were no lockups.

So as a result, I can not be of much help in tracking down or reporting on the experienced pause.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1721
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 03:35    Post subject: Desktop Icon Positions  

Using Slacko 5.4 PAE Opera

It seems that if an sfs file is removed, the system rebooted and a save file made, the zip, trash and save icon positions are not saved. Sincew that seems to be the behavior of many Puppies, I don;t think it's Slacko related, but I'm wondering, short of removing the icons form the desk top, what I can do to have the icon positions not changed.

This is the only shortcoming I've found in Slacko....and like beautiful women, the icon problem is not enough to kick slacko out of bed for eating crackers.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7831
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 06:42    Post subject:  

Thom,

I have a work around tool for this shortcoming.

See Menu >> Desktop >> Settings >> Desksetup Templates for Desk Icons.

Make sure you save the "Custom" setting and when you get that problem choose your custom setup from that tool and X will restart with your icons in tact. A bit clunky I know, but it works!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
feelsub

Joined: 20 Jun 2012
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 07:00    Post subject:  

For the upcoming release it would be nicer to have ffmpeg 1.1 or later, many bug fixes, additional codecs & filters
-> VLC
Note that Audacity might still require the obsolete ffmeg 0.6 series...

* can't install Chrome 23 or later with PPM

* With my laptop, I sometimes use an external screen.
How with Slacko 5.4 do I shut off the laptop screen, so to have only the external one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7831
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 07:45    Post subject:  

feelsub wrote:
For the upcoming release it would be nicer to have ffmpeg 1.1 or later, many bug fixes, additional codecs & filters
-> VLC
Note that Audacity might still require the obsolete ffmeg 0.6 series...
Would be nice but isn't going to happen. I haven't the time to recompile all the various other packages which depend on ffmpeg, including openshot.. that took me an age.

feelsub wrote:
* can't install Chrome 23 or later with PPM
What is the issue there? I installed it from PPM, posting from chrome-23 now.

feelsub wrote:
* With my laptop, I sometimes use an external screen.
How with Slacko 5.4 do I shut off the laptop screen, so to have only the external one?
I don't know.. anyone field this one?
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1077

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 08:05    Post subject: Hangs, deadlocks, etc...
Subject description: I think this is it!
 

Hey Mick

Day 2, no hangs at all, even when I was saving the session while copying four large 5GB files simultaneously!
Quote:
Interesting.. you may want to add "noatime" argument.[...]It may improve your performance

The performance differences between 5.3.3 and my workaround in 5.4 are not so significant really - probably I became a bit oversensitive after hours of analyzing HDD led's behaviour. Wink
Anyway, 'noatime' was/is there already:
Quote:
/dev/loop1 on /initrd/pup_ro1 type ext2 (rw,sync,noatime,errors=continue,user_xattr,acl)

Quote:
Do you have a reference? Are you running the command from /etc/rc.d/rc.local? (I guess).

I was reading http://linux.die.net/man/8/mount, toying with "artificially" created 512M savefile (placed on NTFS partition):
Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=tempimage.2fs bs=1M count=512
mkfs.ext2 tempimage.2fs

remounting it with various options + 'cat /dev/zero > (its mountpoint)/bigfile'
and suddenly 'sync' made that deadlock problem just vanished, instantly.

In real envir. initially I was running it from terminal right after booting into desktop, but now I've added it at the end of rc.sysinit...but I guess it's not the best place for it..?

The issue was quite a PITA, but (paraphrasing Tlchost's) "...and like beautiful women, the deadlock problem was not enough to kick Slacko out of bed for eating crackers". Smile

Quote:
feelsub wrote:
* With my laptop, I sometimes use an external screen.
How with Slacko 5.4 do I shut off the laptop screen, so to have only the external one?

I don't know.. anyone field this one?

Maybe Zarfy could help..?

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7831
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 08:39    Post subject:  

SFR

This is magnificent work you are doing and my thanks goes out to you.. you get a virtual pat on the back!

I still want to investigate this further though, it is obviously something at the kernel level, be it the kernel it's self or the AUFS patches, I get them from GIT every time I compile a kernel.

I have just compiled 3.0.60 LTS with AUFS from GIT dated January 14. The 3.1.10 kernel in experimental slacko-5.4.00 was compiled in March 2012. A lot has happened with AUFS in that time. It may be a "feature", I can't find any reference on the mailing lists or logs though.

So.. in the next day I will release another testing build with 3.0.60-4g. This will endeavour to prove if it's vanilla kernel or AUFS as the source of this bug. This way, we have inductive proof to present to Barry for a fix in woof. I know he is on the build path with the next Precise, and I wish he'd have a look at this first. I will post on his blog tomorrow, I'm a bit tired now, plus I want to see what happens with 3.0.60.

Cheers and thanks again!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 19 [281 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1136s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0090s) ][ GZIP on ]