Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 20:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Putting icons on desktop
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
ChpFrI

Joined: 28 Jan 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jan 2013, 23:57    Post_subject:  Putting icons on desktop
Sub_title: Files 2 edit for icon on desktop
 

Which and where R script files, inserting paths for .png or .jpg icon files, to create icon on desktop for apps. After installing latest Firefox and Seamonkey browsers into /usr/lib dir, both must be launched from inside a terminal prompt window. HOW2 launch from desktop? BTW Thanx L18L Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 1820
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 00:57    Post_subject:  

You should be able to open the directory/folder with the program you're trying to run, in ROX-Filer (assuming the version of Puppy you're using uses ROX-Filer Smile ) and drag the program's icon to the desktop.

That should create a shortcut to the program on the desktop (the program will stay where it was). You can right-click on the shortcut and use the options to change the shortcut's name and icon.

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * My Pidgin Builds for Puppy 4.3.1+
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tallboy


Joined: 21 Sep 2010
Posts: 454
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 10:31    Post_subject:  

Hi ChpFrl.
The application's run-file must be in the executable path, i.e. a '/bin' directory.
  1. You have downloaded the firefox directory to /usr/lib/firefox-(version).
  2. Open the directory, and drag the file 'firefox' to /usr/bin/ as a relative link (a.k.a. symlink).
  3. Drag the /usr/bin/firefox to the desktop, and give it an icon by right-clicking on the symbol on the desktop.

You can see what is in the path, by typing in a terminal window:
Code:
# echo $PATH

Any directory in the path is suitable for an application's run-file.

tallboy

EDIT: I just updated from firefox v.17 to v.18, and the former was placed in /usr/lib/, while the latest installed in /usr/share.

_________________
True freedom is a live Puppy on a multisession CD/DVD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0433s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]