Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Aug 2014, 17:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4.3
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 20 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 02:38    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
One of the curious features of this installation is that 'depmod' in console reports 'Bus Error'. Never seen it before, no idea what it's all about, but noticed that the booting process pauses for a very long time >5mins at depmod.


Sage,
/sbin/depmod is the "full" depmod, which does have problems on systems without much RAM.

On the system that exhibits the "Bus Error" and slowness, would you kindly try both depmod's:

# depmod

# busybox depmod

...the first line will run the full depmod, the second line will run the busybox depmod.

Let us know the differences in behaviour between the two.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 03:09    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Not wishing to be defeated, in desperation, loaded the entirely inappropriate PAE version on this old all-Intel 2.66G(32-bit)/512M machine and BINGO - everything wireless is working. All the issues reported above refer to the (recommended!) retro version, which has been more useful in my testing regimens so far as I can muster kit from a K6-II/Athlon750 in small increments to a 939 and occasional loan of completely unnecessary, but widespread, multiple core machines. Wierd indeed, especially as the retro version is ~30% larger, presumably to accommodate a bigger range of ancient HW?
For completeness, I took the precaution of loading pemasu rt...fix and rerwin's pdiag. Could prove useful when moving this HD around on a caddy.
Thanks for your forebearance, folks. Look forward to BK repairing the retro version for future deployment.


Strange. The PAE-Precise has 3.2.29 kernel, the non-PAE-Precise has 3.2.32 kernel -- so the non-PAE kernel is actually a later release of the 3.2 series, one would think with more bug fixes.
I don't recall any other differences in the configuration of the two kernels, one has PAE-enabled, one doesn't, that's it.

The 30% larger is due to the puppy SFS file inside the live-CD image being gzipped, whereas for the PAE-Precise it is compressed with xz -- the reason is, a gzipped sfs is faster on older hardware (programs will load noticeably faster).
But, a gzipped file is bigger than an xz'ed one.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 03:28    Post subject:  

broomdodger wrote:
pemasu wrote:
broomdodger.
I see exatcly the same mplayer output in my Upup Precise, but the video plays. So I cant find exactly useful debug info though there are several error messages. I have them also but the video still plays.
There seem to be some version mismatches from some reason.

It can be graphics card problem also.
pemasu
I tried the same mp4 video on another machine, Toshiba Satellite M205

It has a different graphics card and... the videos play.

Strange that the video plays on the ThinkPad with racy5300,
but not with precise 5430.


I'm running Precise 5.4.4 (not yet released!), and that video runs fine on my Acer Aspire 5742G laptop, sound and video. For others who want to try it, here is the URL:

http://www.ted.com/talks/robin_chase_excuse_me_may_i_rent_your_car.html

...I downloaded the lowest resolution file.

My laptop has Intel graphics.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 03:35    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
I found one thread from the 2x00 developing forum which might be relevant:
http://rt2x00.serialmonkey.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=6210

I first posted patched module....but double checking...it seems that patch was already in the rt2x00usb.c so...no cure for rt2800usb with this patch.


I haven't read the rest of the Forum thread, so perhaps there is further analysis of this Ralink problem.

But, I am wondering if the problem is fixed in a later kernel? Pemasu is building his Upup-Precise with a later kernel, perhaps that helps?

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 03:48    Post subject: Re: 96 dots per inch (Your Blog)  

ETP wrote:
Barry,

You will see from the following posts that you have hit on one of my main issues with Puppy:

www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=81413

www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=82120

www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=82607

I can confirm that a change to 96 dpi will benefit 90% of users, the one possible exception being some netbook users who may need to throttle back to 84 or less during initial setup and save file creation as (depending on hardware) choice boxes may be off screen with a resolution of 1024x600.

On balance I would still however go for 96 dpi and can confirm the beneficial effect of then using hinting on LCD & IPS panels.

I believe that I was instrumental in persuading 01micko to include Fontwizard in Slacko and suggest that you also consider including his revised pet:

http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko14/fontwizard-0.0.1.pet

Finally may I say how all your efforts are appreciated and wish you a Merry Xmas.


I changed it to "96" in Woof, then chickened-out after thinking about many windows being too big -- as you have commented -- so I changed it back to 78.

However, I think that I should "bite the bullet" and change it back to 96.

A thought has occurred to me... Puppy is moving toward running on portable devices (tablets and smartphones), which usually feature small high-resolution screens. The small size will benefit from displaying the fonts larger -- well, it is like we planned it all along Very Happy

The portable devices that I envisage Puppy running on would, I think, all have greater than 600 pixels vertical. Even the 4.5 - 5 inch smartphones, recent ones anyway, are better than this.
Though, I notice that the planned Firefox OS smartphone has a screen with less than 600 vertical.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 05:09    Post subject: Re: 96 dots per inch (Your Blog)  

ETP wrote:
I believe that I was instrumental in persuading 01micko to include Fontwizard in Slacko and suggest that you also consider including his revised pet:

http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko14/fontwizard-0.0.1.pet


That is a very strange PET, it is only tar'ed, not gzip'ed.

Anyway, I have remade it, modified the .desktop file slightly, and will upload it to the ibiblio.org 'noarch' repo soon.

I have also added it to the package-lists of most of the pup builds in Woof (Wary, Racy, Upup, Dpup, Slackware, etc.).

Personally, I prefer the default rendering, even on a LCD screen, but to each his own!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 05:19    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
Report on updating multisession Precise 5.4.x.2 to 5.4.3:

Downloaded the 5.4.3 iso from Ibiblio and burned it onto the same BD-RE (rewritable Blu-Ray disk) that contained 5.4.x.2, using Burniso2cd in Precise Puppy 5.4.x.2. (Burniso2cd will overwrite whatever is on a rewritable DVD or Blu-Ray disk without first requiring the disk to be blanked.)

After burning the Blu-Ray disk, I left it in the burner and clicked the Save icon on Precise Puppy 5.4.x.2's desktop. This saved the state of Puppy as it was in RAM as the first (two, as it turns out) sessions on the Blu-Ray disk. After 5.4.x.2 finished saving itself on the Blu-Ray disk, I rebooted and then saved again.

Now the multisession Blu-Ray Puppy boots the same as it did before I upgraded, with all my settings and installed programs intact. Only now it's Precise 5.4.3. Smile


That is a neat method of upgrading!

Blue-Ray, ah, 25GB per layer!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 05:26    Post subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:
Still pdvdrsab still doesn't work...


Precise 5.4.3 has Pdvdrsab version 0.2, which is supposed to be fixed, see my blog post:
http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00064

Has anyone made any progress with finding out what is still wrong?

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 05:42    Post subject:  

Terryphi wrote:
Barry explained in his blog why Pmusic was left out of Precise 5.4.3:

http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00004


I might put Pmusic back in the next release of Precise, if most users want it, rather than Aqualung.

The bug that I reported back then, zigbert fixed.

Precise only has gtkdialog 0.8.0, and only Pmusic 2.x series will run, not the 3.x series (which requires gtkdialog 0.8.3+).

The latest Pmusic 2.x is 2.6.7:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=213694

I think Slacko 5.4 has moved up to gtkdialog 0.8.3, maybe even pemasu's Precise-Upup? Are there any issues reported with the upgrade?

...if not, I guess that I should upgrade gtkdialog in Woof, for all pup builds.

Note, the reason that I have hesitated upgrading gtkdialog, is I was reading the gtkdialog development thread in the forum awhile back, and there were backward-compatibility problems reported with 0.8.1+, but perhaps they have been fixed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 06:24    Post subject:  

BK: Many thanks for your constructive comments and advice.
Might be a week or two before I catch up with Precise again - water under bridge and all that, if Queenslanders will forgive the allusion (but we are also hoping for a cessation in precipitation here in Blighty).
Might be better to await promised 5.5?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 532
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 06:46    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:

Quote:
Personally, I prefer the default rendering, even on a LCD screen, but to each his own!


Many thanks for the revised Fontwizard pet and for making it available. I am sure that many users will appreciate it, but it is worth pointing out that its benefits do not really become apparent until the DPI is increased to 96 and X is restarted.

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 09:24    Post subject:  

Argolance wrote:
Hello,
Pwidgets doesn't work properly running Puppy Precise 5.4.3: calendar doesn't show days of the month anymore, CPU bar does not work...
=> See Pwidgets 2.4.1 topic
What could be done?

Cordialement.


Yes, 666philb identified the cause, missing symlink 'cal'.

I found out how this problem occurred, took awhile. Precise 5.4.3 has the 'bsdmainutils' DEB, which was clashing with 'busybox' pkg.
I have fixed it in woof, will upload the fixed Woof soon.

And of course it will be fixed in the next release of Precise.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 09:52    Post subject: Re: jwmconfig2 "Quick Info" text for keyboard masks is obsolete  

npierce wrote:
(This concerns jwmconfig2-20111110.pet in the Packages-puppy-noarch-official repo. Although this is not specifically a Precise Puppy issue, I am reporting it here because there is no Woof-specific thread, and Precise is the latest Pup built with Woof.)

Forum member xophist noticed that some of the values listed for modifier masks in "Quick Info" text of the the the JWM Confiuration Manager's Keyboard Shortcuts dialog are no longer valid.

This is because of a change to JWM in late March or Early April of 2010 (after JWM version svn-470, and on or before version svn-474).

So the text needs to be updated.

For more details see: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=673052#673052

The "Quick Info" text is contained in /usr/local/jwmconfig2/keyConfigHelp.

Here is one possibility for the new text:

Code:
A - Alt (mod1)
C - Control
S - Shift
1 - mod1
2 - mod2
3 - mod3
4 - mod4
5 - mod5

To see which keys are mapped to the various mask values, open a terminal window
and enter this command:

xmodmap -pm


Perhaps the old values should be included as well, in case someone uses this utility with an old version of JWM?

More detail could be added explaining how to determine which modifier to use for a specific key, but I wanted to retain the brevity of the original text. The xmodmap -pm hint should save a lot of head-scratching, and most folks who get this far can probably figure out the rest from the information given by xmodmap -pm.

(Note: This issue also applies to jwmconfig2-121105.pet in the Packages-puppy-slacko14-official repo, used in Slacko.)


npierce,
Thanks for the info.
The latest jwmconfig2 PET is (or rather, was) 'jwmconfig2-20130118.pet', that I updated recently, can't recall what I did, but it is for jwm >= version 500.

I have updated with your help file. Latest PET:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-noarch/jwmconfig2-20130129.pet

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 09:56    Post subject:  

For anyone who is interested, 01micko's Fontwizard PET is available (1KB):

http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-noarch/fontwizard-0.0.1-1.pet

This will be in the next release of Precise.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2013, 10:15    Post subject: Re: Precise5.4.3 has a bug which shows up in Shutdown processing  

gcmartin wrote:
I want to report a problem (and I think another member has also reported a similar experience somewhere) on using a compressed NTFS partition with the latest versions of Puppy.

I began by modifying GRUB4DOS's "menu.lst", copying the ISO's files and booting Precise 543 from folder /Barry/Precise543/. Subsystem and desktop changes were made as is customary for all of us in using the desktop.

With the system's operations, everything operates normal or as expected in file creations, deletions, and filesystem access.

Problem
Edit:The original problem description has been moved.
This problem affects ALL MODERN WOOF PUPs. its description has been moved to here.


Here to help


gcmartin,
I posted a question in that other thread:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=680903#680903

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 20 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1157s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0131s) ][ GZIP on ]