Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 13:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How can I boot an iso with grub4dos?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 781
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 17:45    Post subject:  How can I boot an iso with grub4dos?  

Hi,

can anyone tell how the menu.lst should look for grub4dos to boot an ISO from the hard drive?

Several Isos are on the HD in the / ISOS /

Greetings

Wolfgang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8557
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2013, 18:59    Post subject:  

Read here at the end of the first post. But note the issue with contiguous space and using a FAT32 partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 07:52    Post subject:  

For more info on how to boot from HDD, steve over at rmprepusb.com do great projects on booting.

If you can settle on an easy way to boot multiple ISO's from USB, the Easy2Boot solution is the way to go.

Check out USB version and let me now what you think?
HOWTO create easy multi-boot USB Puppy from Linux
HOWTO create easy multi-boot USB Puppy from Windows

Last edited by Scooby on Thu 31 Jan 2013, 12:10; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3270
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 09:08    Post subject:  

Scoobs- does a corresponding mnu need to accompany a given ISO in _ISO/Linux/AUTO?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 12:09    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Scoobs- does a corresponding mnu need to accompany a given ISO in _ISO/Linux/AUTO?


No!

The mnu file is auto-generated as you boot, just drop iso in AUTO dir and it will work.

Several ISO's in AUTO dir will also work, You'll get a list to choose from at boot.

Also other Linux Live CD's will work. I tested Ubuntu, Mint and more
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3270
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 12:15    Post subject:  

Oh great! Sounds like it's reading their boot catalog? Does it work if the loader's Lilo?

Sorry, I haven't read into it too deep. I'll need some time, though it sounds terrific!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 781
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 15:39    Post subject:  

Hi,

thanks for the feedback but if I really understand it can Puppy Linux isos only boot from USB.
This approach is not possible in my application because it comes to PCs for students and because the sticks could be removed!
It's not about an external hard drive!

Greetings

Wolfgang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8557
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 15:44    Post subject:  

Although the instructions here are for USB drives, they should also work with a hard drive partition, provided that it is contiguous. So you would need a clean FAT32 partition, then copy the ISO's into it.

However, this method will not work with Puppy ISO's.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 781
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 15:50    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Although the instructions here are for USB drives, they should also work with a hard drive partition, provided that it is contiguous. So you would need a clean FAT32 partition, then copy the ISO's into it.

However, this method will not work with Puppy ISO's.


But here it's all about Puppy isos!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 16:49    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Oh great! Sounds like it's reading their boot catalog? Does it work if the loader's Lilo?

Sorry, I haven't read into it too deep. I'll need some time, though it sounds terrific!


Easy2boot is essentially Grub4dos

from homepage

GRUB4DOS is an universal boot loader based on GNU GRUB. It can boot off
DOS/LINUX, or via Windows boot manager/syslinux/lilo, or from MBR/CD. It also has
builtin BIOS disk emulation, ATAPI CDROM driver, etc.

also

you can add any number of Linux ISO Files to the \_Iso\Linux\Auto folder - this will work
for 99% of linux ISOs and most DOS ISOs too

Last edited by Scooby on Thu 31 Jan 2013, 17:06; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 17:05    Post subject: Re: How can I boot an iso with grub4dos?  

der-schutzhund wrote:

can anyone tell how the menu.lst should look for grub4dos to boot an ISO from the hard drive?

Several Isos are on the HD in the / ISOS /


You have grub4dos setup and it loads menu.lst at boot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 781
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 17:18    Post subject: Re: How can I boot an iso with grub4dos?  

Scooby wrote:
der-schutzhund wrote:

can anyone tell how the menu.lst should look for grub4dos to boot an ISO from the hard drive?

Several Isos are on the HD in the / ISOS /


You have grub4dos setup and it loads menu.lst at boot?


Yes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2013, 17:38    Post subject:  

I used this on USB, maybe you could try something like that on HD?
Never tried it on HD though


Code:

iftitle [if exist /Linux/lupu-528.iso] Puppy Linux 5.2.8
find --set-root /Linux/lupu-528.iso
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /Linux/lupu-528.iso (0xff)
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /vmlinuz splash
initrd /initrd.gz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slenkar

Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 00:31    Post subject:  

Its very easy to boot puppy from HD with Grub4dos!
you have to extract all the files from the ISO file first by mounting it, then copying the files to a folder

below i copied all the files to a folder called arch


title Arch Puppy
root (hd0,3)/arch
kernel /vmlinuz
initrd /initrd.gz


you just have to figure out which partition you have the files on
sda1 is (hd0,0)
sda2 is (hd0,1)
etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
der-schutzhund

Joined: 26 Nov 2007
Posts: 781
Location: Blomberg / Germany

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 06:14    Post subject:  

Perhaps the problem is still not clear!
The point is not to unpack the ISO but the iso as it is, to boot!
Lazy has 4 different user groups. Each group, for example, child, beginner, can be associated with any program. Now I want to create an iso for each group. All roms and all come sfs in the same directory. The 4 Isos should then be started from the boot menu and secured by a password. If I were to save every Lazy in a separate partition, then I would also copy the sfs in each partition. If the sfs are 4 times available it will cost not only space but it is a lot more work when the sfs changes anything!
Meanwhile, I have also tried with rmbrepusb / Easyboot. Does not work!
During the installation directories are not generated! No idea how to do that!

Greetings

Wolfgang
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0705s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0111s) ][ GZIP on ]