Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 01:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
ArchPup - First Puppy with pacman for installing apps
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 16 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 15:47    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
same as with your original script! (check again and see if the SFS is actually mounted because I do not see it mounted at my end).


i've been using the script for about 2 years now. i wrote it specifically because puppy's default filemnt script couldn't mount if there are spaces in the directory names.



mavrothal wrote:
The reason that I prefer the puppy version is that it includes all the required checks for the state of the SFS to be loaded/unloaded.

BTW, simargl indeed quited the puppy forum. Shocked
However, AFAICS development continues Cool
Comments suggestions etc at archpup souceforge support or discussion


i like the default for those same reasons. deal breaker for me though is '/path/to/space in dir name/*.sfs' won't mount.

Nice to see sim's still working on archpup though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1570

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 16:31    Post subject:  

wrong post
_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Last edited by mavrothal on Wed 13 Feb 2013, 16:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1570

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 16:46    Post subject:  

BTW, Archpup puppy People, should we start an Archpup-13.2 thread even if simargl does not want to participate?
:

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2435
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 16:50    Post subject:  

That might be useful, aarf has one on the alt forum, plus they have made a webseeded torrent.

http://puppylinux.info/topic/archpup

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 17:03    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
BTW, Archpup puppy People, should we start an Archpup-13.2 thread even if simargl does not want to participate?
:


Sounds like an excellent idea to me. the new filemnt script also works perfect. it tends to go unnoticed but the filemnt script hasn't worked with spaces in puppy...as long as i've been using it. well done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 17:10    Post subject:  

Does the 'create a save file' dialog from a new frugal install work for anyone? I haven't gotten it to work, not one time, on any ArchPup. It says it's creating, but it doesn't. I have to manually create the save file, and reboot so it'll load, and then make changes...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1570

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 17:31    Post subject:  

stifiling wrote:
Does the 'create a save file' dialog from a new frugal install work for anyone? I haven't gotten it to work, not one time, on any ArchPup. It says it's creating, but it doesn't.


No problems here with 12.12-2 or 13.2.
Do you see anything strange if you run it from the terminal (makepfile.sh)?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dennis-slacko531


Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 103
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 19:51    Post subject:  

stifiling wrote:
Does the 'create a save file' dialog from a new frugal install work for anyone? I haven't gotten it to work, not one time, on any ArchPup. It says it's creating, but it doesn't. I have to manually create the save file, and reboot so it'll load, and then make changes...


I don't think I carry much weight here, but when doing your initial Create Savefile, I had to explicitly click on the volume (you'll see what I mean)...you can't just highlight it and press enter.

EDIT: Okay, we're up and running 13.2. BTW, the savefile presents no issues (whatever!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1570

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 06:53    Post subject:  

OK, I started something on Archpup_13.2...
_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 07:28    Post subject:  

darkcity wrote:
That might be useful, aarf has one on the alt forum, plus they have made a webseeded torrent.

http://puppylinux.info/topic/archpup


Yeah, You cannot register on this forum

and torrent is "access denied"

I think I will stay here

What is this alternative forum anyway? A secret society? A state within the state.
like SS of puppy land?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 07:37    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
OK, I started something on Archpup_13.2...


that's well said mavrothal and gives the users a heads up that....there is a bit of a learning curve.

the system isn't overly hard to use though. the great part abt it is...at least for me, it has totally filled every gap. i no longer use two linuxes, one for this, and one for that...i use ArchPup for everything. Fast systems, slow, new, old, hard drive install, portable...everything.

1 spot though, that is accomplishable, is 64 bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 14:24    Post subject:  

Yep I would love a 64 bit version. Please make one Stifling Idea Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2435
Location: near here

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 15:23    Post subject:  

Scooby wrote:
darkcity wrote:
That might be useful, aarf has one on the alt forum, plus they have made a webseeded torrent.

http://puppylinux.info/topic/archpup


...

I think I will stay here

What is this alternative forum anyway? A secret society? A state within the state.
like SS of puppy land?


You are right I'm a Puppy fascist Razz

That's why its called 'Alternate' Forum and says at the top Alternate Forum for Puppy Linux Users - Go to Main Forum. Just maybe its a back up in case murga goes down?

Quote:
Yeah, You cannot register on this forum

and torrent is "access denied"


That's right the link is just fool, don't use the login or the server will self-destruct:

use login: puppy@changed
password: linux1

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mandibule2005

Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 17:15    Post subject: screen resolution  

hello do you no how to change screen resolution instead of 1366x768 i have 1280x1024
i try xrandr no success version 13.2 thnx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 18:40    Post subject: Re: screen resolution  

mandibule2005 wrote:
hello do you no how to change screen resolution instead of 1366x768 i have 1280x1024
i try xrandr no success version 13.2 thnx.


no luck with:

Code:
xrandr -s 1280x1024
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 16 of 17 [247 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1038s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0206s) ][ GZIP on ]