Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 04:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Freecell and macpup 5.2.8 (SOLVED)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2013, 21:39    Post subject:  Freecell and macpup 5.2.8 (SOLVED)
Subject description: I did a frugal install of 5.2.8 - now a happy camper.
 

I have Freecell.pup that I have used for some time in my 3.01 install.

I would, now, like to install it in macpup but I get a pop up message saing that I need "dotpuphandler" and "puppybasic" pet packages.

The pop up also says that I must first run the "PETget package manager (see install icon on desktop). If I click on it I cannot see/find either of those packages.

Last edited by Mercedes350se on Sun 10 Feb 2013, 03:55; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4045
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 18:46    Post subject:  

Forget that one- use this Freecell or Seahaven. Pysolfc's in the repo. Then there's this oddity- WCoolW!
choose_repos.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   54.73 KB
 Viewed   470 Time(s)

choose_repos.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 20:10    Post subject:  

Thank you.

However after installing the freecell-1.1.tar.bz2 package and starting in the console I get:

sh-4.1# freecell
Application initialization failed: invalid command name "tcl_findLibrary"
Error in startup script: invalid command name "::tcl::tm::UnknownHandler"
while executing
"::tcl::tm::UnknownHandler ::tclPkgUnknown msgcat {}"
("package unknown" script)
invoked from within
"package require msgcat"
(file "/usr/bin/freecell" line 4109)

Which is where (I thinK) I was yesterday with the 3.01 freecell files I copied into macpup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4045
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 21:31    Post subject:  

You need at least tcl and tk from pacman. I have a lotta libs so, I'm not sure what else you'll have to grab..

After both installations, you'll need to go into /usr/bin and rename the symlink wish-default to >> wish.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2013, 05:23    Post subject:  

Maybe try downloading, and running with sfs_load, tcl_tk_games.sfs.

Quote:
Besides freecell it has these other tcl solitaires:

once-in-a-lifetime, tkhearts, tksol, scat, TkSpider
tktk & tktp.

Plus asteroids, tktris, Bubbles, polypuzzle, tkyahtzee,
Collapse, wordjumble, sudoku, Gemgame & tkhangman.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 21:10    Post subject:  

Great selection of games ....... however ...... no menus or anything comes up on the few I tried so they cannot be played.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 21:48    Post subject:  

I don't have macpup installed, so am unable to test. However if you've sfs_loaded the tck_tk_games.sfs then all the respective .desktop files should be in /usr/share/applications directory.

So, if you go to /usr/share/applications, & click on freecell.desktop, does it run? If yes, then you can drag the .desktop file onto the macpup desktop & run it from there.

If the answer is no, what response do you get if you run freecell on the commandline?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 22:38    Post subject:  

OK, I've downloaded macpup v528 & am running from it now. I see that if I right-click tcl_tk_games.sfs sfs_load isn't offered as an option. So I installed sfs_load-1.9.6.pet, right-clicked the tcl games sfs and....the result you can see in my screenshot.
fun-menu.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   68.43 KB
 Viewed   433 Time(s)

fun-menu.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 23:01    Post subject:  

I get all the games in the menu. As I said a nice selection!

If I try to play a game the game starts but only with the outline of the game i.e. no drop down menus/whatever so the game cannot be played.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 23:33    Post subject:  

I'm bamboozled! All are working here. I wonder if you have another instance of tcl/tk which is somehow interfering with the games running...what happens if you run freecell in a console & try playing it...any error messages?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2013, 20:05    Post subject:  

The response to your output request is:

sh-4.1# freecell
Application initialization failed: Can't find a usable tk.tcl in the following directories:
/usr/lib/tcl8.5/tk8.5 /usr/lib/tk8.5 /lib/tk8.5 /usr/library

/usr/lib/tk8.5/tk.tcl: invalid command name "ttk::style"
invalid command name "ttk::style"
while executing
"ttk::style theme settings default {

ttk::style configure "." -borderwidth 1 -background $colors(-frame) -foreground black -troughcolor $colo..."
(in namespace eval "::ttk::theme::default" script line 14)
invoked from within
"namespace eval ttk::theme::default {
variable colors
array set colors {
-frame "#d9d9d9"
-window "#ffffff"
-activebg "#ececec"
-selectbg..."
(file "/usr/lib/tk8.5/ttk/defaults.tcl" line 7)
invoked from within
"source /usr/lib/tk8.5/ttk/defaults.tcl"
("uplevel" body line 1)
invoked from within
"uplevel #0 [list source [file join $library defaults.tcl]] "
(procedure "ttk::LoadThemes" line 5)
invoked from within
"ttk::LoadThemes"
(file "/usr/lib/tk8.5/ttk/ttk.tcl" line 140)
invoked from within
"source /usr/lib/tk8.5/ttk/ttk.tcl"
("uplevel" body line 1)
invoked from within
"uplevel \#0 [list source $::ttk::library/ttk.tcl]"
invoked from within
"if {$::ttk::library ne ""} {
uplevel \#0 [list source $::ttk::library/ttk.tcl]
}"
(file "/usr/lib/tk8.5/tk.tcl" line 599)
invoked from within
"source /usr/lib/tk8.5/tk.tcl"
("uplevel" body line 1)
invoked from within
"uplevel #0 [list source $file]"


This probably means that tk wasn't installed properly.

I should add that when I ran sudoku (yesterday) from the console there were errors with a file. I simply commented two lines and both sudoku and freecell run albeit not 100% satisfactorily.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2013, 20:57    Post subject:  

Mercedes,

the tcl_tk_games.sfs already comes with a tcl/tk environment, (I just modified DaveS's tcl_tk_plus.sfs).

Could you try booting your macpup into RAM, then sfs_load the tcl_tk_games.sfs, then I think it should work OK.

If yes, then you perhaps need to run the package manager & uninstall any other instances of tcl/tk pets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 00:49    Post subject:  

muggins wrote:
Mercedes, ... Could you try booting your macpup into RAM, then sfs_load the tcl_tk_games.sfs, then I think it should work OK. ...


A step by step how to please. I downloaded tcl_tk_games.sfs to root.

I tried this but

sh-4.1# sfs_load tcl_tk_games.sfs

(gtkdialog3:28354): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: /build/buildd/glib2.0-2.24.0/gobject/gsignal.c:3079: signal name `depressed' is invalid for instance `0x84c7898'
mount: mounting unionfs on / failed: Invalid argument
sfs_load: fatal:Failed to append '/initrd/pup_ro4' to unionfs.
'/root/tcl_tk_games.sfs' is copied to '/initrd/pup_rw/tmp'.
/usr/sbin/sfs_load: line 191: 29003 Terminated gtkdialog3 -p DIALOG -c > /dev/null
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2013, 03:10    Post subject:  

Hello Mercedes,

I just tried booting both Macpup_528.iso, & Macpup_528v2.iso, navigating to the directory where I have tcl_tk_games.sfs, then running:

Code:
sfs_load tcl_tk_games.sfs


and, in both cases, everything works fine. Why this isn't the case with your setup I don't know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 648

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 03:53    Post subject:  

I did a frugal install of the "vanilla" 5.2.8 and everything works as it should.

I have not bothered to resolve the issue with macpup - I don't particularly like it anyway.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0772s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]