Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 19:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
What have I done to my Puppy?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
schnahz

Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Location: Wilmington, Delaware,U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 05:33    Post subject:  What have I done to my Puppy?
Subject description: 4.00 no longer boots
 

I was ripping from a cd when my ram space indicator became completely red [ I have maybe 400MB ] Then it got some thin horizontal lines in it. Puppy kept ripping but when it was done ripping i lost X and now my live CD wont boot and I get messages such as loading isolinux; Disk error 80, AX = 4200, drive9F

I would appreciate someone explaining what I did and what I should do next time.

Thanks,
Schnahz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 689
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jan 2013, 05:39    Post subject:  

sounds like it was your pupsave indicator, rather than ram, perhaps.


Do you have a save file?

It sounds like you ripped the CD into your save file, which will fill it up fast. Try entering

Code:
puppy pfix=ram


at the live cd boot splash, and then finding your save file and delete the partially ripped CD files.

In future, make sure it rips to /mnt/home or somewhere similar outside of the save file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
schnahz

Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Location: Wilmington, Delaware,U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jan 2013, 01:43    Post subject:  

thanks p31don,
Now I understand that the indicator in the system tray is telling me how much of my pupsave file has been used. If I want to check RAM I can I can go a terminal and type free.What happens if I ask the pupsave file to save more information than it can hold [as I did] Does it ruin the live CD and/or the computer? [ my hp pavilion ze with 514 MB of memory won't boot anymore.]

thanks, Schnahz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 689
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jan 2013, 02:14    Post subject:  

Quote:
What happens if I ask the pupsave file to save more information than it can hold


You can't do that. Think of the save file as kind of like another hard drive. You can only put so much into it. If yours is 512meg, that's all you can put in, bearing in mind it already has a bunch of stuff in it anyway.

The LiveCD certainly won't be ruined, nor will the computer, you just need to learn how to save stuff outside of the save file. If you boot to pfix=ram as suggested previously you should be able to delete the files and recover your previous save file. Or, from pfix=ram (Live cd no save file) state, you can create a new save file.

You can take two routes, you can make your save file bigger to accommodate whatever you want to put in it, or use the rest of the hard disk drive for storage. The drive can be found at /mnt/home which is like c:\ in windows systems.

I do a bit of both, with a 1+gig save file, and then save almost everything to /mnt/home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
schnahz

Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Location: Wilmington, Delaware,U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 01:27    Post subject:  

thanks p310don,
It seems my optical drive has failed. I could not get to the puppy flash screen to try the puppy pfix=ram. I found a post entitled "puppy won't boot from cd" and the responders mentioned that you should make sure the cd rom drive was working and sure enough when i tried to play a cd in mine i got silence. I'm hoping I can still get my Think Pad 390x with 196 Mb of RAM to boot from a flash drive.

Schnahz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10942
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2013, 09:01    Post subject:  

Schnahz, from what you've said so far, it's not a sure thing that your CD drive has failed. What exactly happens when you try to boot your CD? Can you hear the drive spin up? Does a light on the drive come on, indicating something is going on? Do you get any error messages on the screen? What do they say? How did you try to play an audio CD in that drive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
schnahz

Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Location: Wilmington, Delaware,U.S.A.

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 00:50    Post subject:
Subject description: i
 

Hi Flash,
I just put Barebones Puppy 2.01 in the optical drive/cd rom drive and there was a whir noise and the cd rom light is blinking but I am stuck at the IBM Think Pad splash screen. I've been at this point for more than 10 minutes. It says press F1 to enter the BIOS setup utility so I'll go through that just to see what happens. The splash screen says Think Pad IBM BIOS Setup Utlility but now I'm stuck at this point for 5 minutes. I'll press enter just to see what will happen.Nothing,it just seems frozen. I'll repeat the process - wow it booted up and I've got my puppy desktop.I tried to poweroff but that seems frozen. Can't get the cursor to move. I'll try to exit X with ctrl alt backspace. Nothing. OK I'll pull the plug - It's been frozen 9 minutes.I boot it up and Windows 2000 boots [ I tried playing the cd in Windows Media player and when it did not play i thought the cd rom was not working.] I shut down Windows and reboot. Windows is booting again even though I set the BIOS so that the hard drive is the last place to look for an operating system.

thanks, Schnahz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10942
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 00:57    Post subject:  

Well I don't know what's wrong, but if there's nothing in the CD drive, the computer will boot whatever it finds on the hard disk. In this case, Windows.
I guess if an audio CD won't play, then maybe there is something wrong with the CD drive. I'm assuming that it used to play audio CDs. Is that right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
schnahz

Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Location: Wilmington, Delaware,U.S.A.

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 01:27    Post subject:  

I can't say for sure that it ever did play cd's but it did boot puppy 15 or so times pretty consistently until now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
schnahz

Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Location: Wilmington, Delaware,U.S.A.

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 01:36    Post subject:  

I kept trying and now it is booting puppy and I'm at the puppy desktop. I tried to power off and it froze. Can't move the cursor. I'll leave it overnight to see if it shuts down.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4229
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 05:54    Post subject:
Subject description: The RCMP is on the case. : wink :
 

Sorry, bad joke...
_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)

Last edited by musher0 on Wed 06 Feb 2013, 12:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10942
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 08:58    Post subject:  

Schnahz, how do you feel about opening the laptop in order to blow out the dust and reseat the RAM? (Remove the RAM sticks and then put them back.) Is that something you'd feel comfortable about doing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
schnahz

Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Location: Wilmington, Delaware,U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 00:49    Post subject:  

Hi Flash,
Thanks for your suggestion. I think it is a great idea, after all the whole idea is to learn something. I'll look it over tonite and be ready for your go ahead.

Last nite it was hung up but by morning it had shut down. I was able to run puppy in pfix=ram as p310don suggested and removed some audio files. The think pad boots to puppy 4.1 half the time and Windows 2000 the other half of the time. I got some error messages such as:

isolinux: Disk error 01, AX=3218,Drive 9F

Disk error 01,AV= 4210, Drive 9F
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
steevieb


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 286
Location: Poole, Dorset. UK

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 17:44    Post subject:  

Also if you have the chance, check the cables. May be a loose connection.
Although I had similar error messages once before, and it was the cd drive that had failed.

_________________
Slacko 5.3 scsi on Proliant server, 2x2.4ghz P4,18gb & 4x36gb scsi drives, 128mb Radeon Pci, 2gb ram, usb 2, dvd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
schnahz

Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 38
Location: Wilmington, Delaware,U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2013, 05:04    Post subject:  

I found a compartment on the back side of the think pad laptop which i think would let me reseat the ram as Flash suggested but rightly or wrongly i started to worry that if my optical drve/ cddrive did fail i might not be able to communicate with the computer at all since i had never been able to get the thinkpad to boot from a usb drive. But if I used Gparted to format my hard drive to ext3 then i could install puppy 4.1 and all would be well. The only problem i had was that i could not get Gparted to reformat the hard drive because i was using it. Once i rebooted using puppy=pfixram everything went smoothly until at the very end i was supposed to type some instructions and put these instructions in a specific file. For some reason i thought it would be good to copy these instructions onto a piece of paper and while i was doing that the instructions disappeared and so the instructions never got placed where they were supposed to be which is why i was not surprised when i got this message when i tried to boot.: "error loading operating system." So i'm back to the optical drive,puppy 5.25 won't work, puppy 4.1 won't work,but barebones puppy 2.01 Does work except that the cursor freezes quite a bit. Is there any other option to pulling the plug when that happens?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0748s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]