Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Sep 2014, 04:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 5.5 Final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 27 [394 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5723
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 07:30    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
-Sigmund, I remember your ATI card gives trouble since 431 IIRC, you included a special driver in Stardust puplet. Was that the radeon-hd xorg driver? If so I can compile it and put it in. I will message rurario (Norwegian Slacker, works at Opera) about the 16 bit colour bug in Opera. Also I'll post it in the Opera forum. Maybe it's an easy fix for them. You could also try opera-12.11 (pets @ ibiblio, nluug) and see if the issue is there. We are using now latest 12.13 (Feb 1 release).
Those days I ran Nvidia, and I always used Nvidia's driver to get 3D acceleration (Torcs)

I will test Opera/16bit...


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 07:49    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
My alternative pmount is updated
- to reflect the latest changes in woof-pmount.
- Fix correct size of used-space-bar


http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=619166#619166

Thanks, got it.

If you are feeling bored [ Laughing ], do you want to take a look at /usr/sbin/partview gui? (strictly from 5.4.x). It has Barry's svg code but I took out the bold fonts and added the vscroll because I have 16 partitions and it went off screen. I know there is folks out there with more partitions (MHHP Wink ).

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2097
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 07:53    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Sage wrote:

....hope that doesn't mean ferreting around to find another 'correct' FP, mick?!
No idea.. but if you can keep track of what works I'd be grateful for a list so I can patch GetFlash. Ta.


I have flashplayer installed that I downloaded from adobe.com, it's 17m in size (17410532bytes), works with the new opera pet at cnn and youtube.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5723
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 07:54    Post subject:  

Mick
It is the partview code that is used in my alternative pmount.
Do we need both?


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 08:02    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
Mick
It is the partview code that is used in my alternative pmount.
Do we need both?


Sigmund

I guess I should just symlink it then eh? Cool (done)

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 08:05    Post subject:  

billtoo
Quote:
17410532bytes
Shocked .. compressed?

Does your VLC pet depend on LUA? Or is it part of the package? I see lots of LUA files in there.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2097
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 08:08    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
billtoo
Quote:
17410532bytes
Shocked .. compressed?

That's the size of the file in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins

Does your VLC pet depend on LUA? Or is it part of the package? I see lots of LUA files in there.


No, it's part of the package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 08:17    Post subject:  

Billtoo wrote:
01micko wrote:
billtoo
Quote:
17410532bytes
Shocked .. compressed?

That's the size of the file in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins

Does your VLC pet depend on LUA? Or is it part of the package? I see lots of LUA files in there.


No, it's part of the package.


Ok, thanks for clarifying.

Now, is it the LUA built by CatDude? (which is in PPM)

If so (or even not) is it a different path from standard LUA? It's a bit of a dilemma if someone installs conky (depends LUA and drags it in) and then uninstalls conky it will berak your VLC, (or vice versa). If it has it's own unique install path from the original LUA then that's fine.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5723
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 08:18    Post subject:  

Confirming that Opera/Flash is working with 24bit colordepth.
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2097
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 08:24    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Billtoo wrote:
01micko wrote:
billtoo
Quote:
17410532bytes
Shocked .. compressed?

That's the size of the file in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins

Does your VLC pet depend on LUA? Or is it part of the package? I see lots of LUA files in there.


No, it's part of the package.


Ok, thanks for clarifying.

Now, is it the LUA built by CatDude? (which is in PPM)

If so (or even not) is it a different path from standard LUA? It's a bit of a dilemma if someone installs conky (depends LUA and drags it in) and then uninstalls conky it will berak your VLC, (or vice versa). If it has it's own unique install path from the original LUA then that's fine.


I'll attach it to this message, I made the pet in slacko, it needed a change in the source code so it would work when compiling vlc, had to add -fPIC to a line in the source code.
lua-5.1.4-i686.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  lua-5.1.4-i686.pet 
Filesize  225.25 KB 
Downloaded  137 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 08:35    Post subject:  

billtoo, thanks for that, I see it's PREFIX=/usr/local, that's fine in this instance because CatDude's is PREFIX=/usr (and it's 5.1.5). Anyway, they shouldn't conflict.

It may have been better though to add LUA as a dep in the pet.specs, just FYI. Thanks. Uploading to ibiblio now.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1419
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 11:02    Post subject: copy / move errors ntfs?  

Further testing of my rox drag and drop copy errors on Slacko 5.4.0.2

Pristine, manual, frugal install on an ntfs formatted disk with an ext2 savefile.

Error occurs after savefile creation.

On Slacko get errors for BOTH copy and move.

(for Dpup Wheezy 3.5.2.3 errors only occur for copy - not move)

Tested using specially created new directories with 16 files - see screenie.

Cheers
peebee
capture14350.png
 Description   
 Filesize   79.98 KB
 Viewed   401 Time(s)

capture14350.png


_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1068

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 13:08    Post subject: copy / move errors ntfs?  

@Peebee & @Mick

Same here (ext2 on NTFS) and it also happens (what is logical) with cp -a:
Code:
cp -a /root/somefile /mnt/home
cp: preserving permissions for `/mnt/home/somefile’: Operation not supported

Looks like it has something to do with newer initrd.gz/bin/ntfs-3g - I rudely replaced it with older one from 5.4 and errors have gone...

EDIT:
Another workaround:
http://linux.die.net/man/8/ntfs-3g wrote:
no_def_opts
By default ntfs-3g acts as if "silent" (ignore errors on chmod and chown), "allow_other" (allow any user to access files) and "nonempty" (allow mounting on non-empty directories) were set, and "no_def_opts" cancels these default options.

Removing this option in init script (lines 239 & 249) disables these copy/move errors caused by newer ntfs-3g, but the question is - if that option is really needed for something or if it can be thrown away safely..?

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 17:17    Post subject:  

peebee

You will notice something when you copy something to ntfs .Permissions do change. Everything turns to 777. The bug really is that the copy doesn't fail, but I like the warning that perms have changed. That's important. Changing a restricted file to 777 has security implications.

I would like to see rox patched to show the warning but the error (failed copy) fixed. I may contact npierce about this one. What say you SFR?

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1068

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 17:38    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
I would like to see rox patched to show the warning but the error (failed copy) fixed. I may contact npierce about this one. What say you SFR?

Since files are being copied correctly, why not?
Warning would be fine - always good to know more than less. Wink

Hmm, but it also happens while transferring from NTFS to NTFS (the very same sda1). Confused
Is it ok?

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 27 [394 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0973s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0118s) ][ GZIP on ]