Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 05:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.4.3
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 22 of 24 [359 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 Next
Author Message
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 09:00    Post subject: freeoffice spell-checker problem with Precise 5.4.x  

I have stumble across a strange problem with textmaker in Precise 5.4.x.

The German spell checker rejects all words all words containing one of the German special characters (umlaut ä, ö, ü, etc. and ß), but otherwise seems to operate correctly, even underlining old spellings like "daß" in blue.

This does not occur with all Puppies.

A fuller description of the problem is to be found in the appropriate thread:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=82904&start=55
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
futwerk

Joined: 07 May 2011
Posts: 259

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2013, 19:26    Post subject:  

new background .
preciseja10,1a.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   18.4 KB
 Viewed   965 Time(s)

preciseja10,1a.jpg

preciseja10,1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   18.51 KB
 Viewed   963 Time(s)

preciseja10,1.jpg

precisefb4b.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   16.49 KB
 Viewed   959 Time(s)

precisefb4b.jpg

precisefb4.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   16.9 KB
 Viewed   957 Time(s)

precisefb4.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2200
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2013, 19:59    Post subject:  

@ Barry

It is not my habit, I do not ask others to do the job for me, but since I can not do it alone (and I'm not the only one) ...

I think I begin to be familiar with Puppy, but I'm not good with Woof.
I tried several times to create an iso file (Precise base), but I still get the same result: the boot liveCD gives me error messages.
I tried to get a Woof iso really light (at the main sfs). For this, I wanted to create a zdrv.sfs

My request for the next version of Puppy Precise, would it be possible to offer users/contributors a version with a file zdrv.sfs ? So that we can test its operation.

Sincerely,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vicmz

Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1016

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 00:12    Post subject:  

Openbox+Extras 1.1 now available with two panel options and full gettext support

Testers and translators needed:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=82800

_________________
OpenboxPlus|OB-Puppy|Puppy en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5459
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2013, 02:04    Post subject:  

Wrong thread. Sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ferikenagy

Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 07:46    Post subject: PGRS MODEM SETUP in precise & slacko
Subject description: GSM modem ZTE WCDMA Technologies MSM MF110/MF627/MF636 problem
 

GSM modem ZTE WCDMA Technologies MSM MF110/MF627/MF636 problem
in precise 5.4.3 and slacko 5.4 (kernel 3.2.33 )I have tested modem huawei E173 (it worked out of the box ) but encountered modem address detect problem
for modem ZTE MF627. If the E173 modem creates only one /dev/ttyUSB0 serial modem and it is correctly discovered by PGRS MODEM SETUP, the ZTE MF627 modem creates 3 devices
/dev/ttyUSB0 , /dev/ttyUSB1, /dev/ttyUSB2 ( and only the first one is detected and the wrong one by the PGRS MODEM SETUP). in my case the good device was /dev/ttyUSB2.
If I put in 'Serial Modem Device File' /dev/ttyUSB2 , it worked fine. This problem was discussed by ubuntu people too, their opinion was that the right device should be detected
frome where it points the symlink /dev/gsmmodem .... I know that modifying the PGRS MODEM script could generate new bugs but an explicative text for this ZTE modems could help many people
, or at first step only to extend "(detected devices:/dev/ttyUSB0 /dev/ttyS0 )" to include also where it points /dev/gsmmodems too.
It also looks like the gsm modem stoping script not functioning proper, i could not simply close the network (by riht click& Disconect from network won't work), in slacko was easy I could
close the terminal window which remained open by the ppp PAP script on connect.
please send this observation to the maintainer of PGRS MODEM SETUP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 08:50    Post subject: Re: Pudd is confused by menus containing more than ten items  

npierce wrote:
(This bug is not limited to Precise 5.4.3, but I'm adding a link in this thread because it is in Woof, and Precise 5.4.3 is the latest Puppy built from Woof. I suspect that the bug actually lives in all Puppies that contain Pudd.)

Pudd causes screeching from internal speaker during backup: Explanation and suggested fix


Thanks, your fix plus more applied, see here:

http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00104

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 10:12    Post subject:  

Barry,

You're welcome.

Thanks for getting my fix and your additional Pudd improvements into Woof.

Also, thanks for updating the jwmconfig2 .pet a while back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rodin.s

Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 338
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 12:25    Post subject: pupcamera gettext  

I guess line 189 of pupcamera should be gettexted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 19:51    Post subject: Re: small translation things  

rodin.s wrote:
In /sbin/pup_event_frontend changed this:
Code:
LANG=$OLDLANG
  yaf-splash -bg orange -placement top -close never -text "$(gettext "Saving RAM to 'pup_save' file...")" &
  LANG=C


or maybe it should be done like this:

Code:
LANG=$OLDLANG yaf-splash -bg orange -placement top -close never -text "$(gettext "Saving RAM to 'pup_save' file...")"


In /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit I manually translate lines 825 and 836:

Code:
echo '<icon x="768" y="128" label="Сохранить">/usr/sbin/savesession-dvd</icon>' >> /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin


Thanks, changes made to pup_event_frontend_d.

For rc.sysinit, I have added the line:

s%"save"%%

In file /usr/share/sss/script_strings.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 20:08    Post subject: Re: xload twice
Subject description: xload in /usr/bin is not a link
 

phdzaps wrote:
My single thing I can report on is that xload in /usr/bin ought to be a link, since it is also in /usr/X11R7/bin. I came across this because I disable xload so precise will run on older computers faster.


Hmmm, yes. OK, fixed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 20:14    Post subject:  

Brown Mouse wrote:
FFConvert appears to be broken for me.
Unable to change the compression ratio of mp3's as in previous versions of FFC..


I think Precise 5.4.3 has FFConvert 1.3.
The latest is 1.3.1, there is also an older "stable" version.

Would you mind going here and install the latest, if no good try the older stable version:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54056

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 21:32    Post subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
Precise Puppy 5.4.3

menu - desktop - pwallpaper :
Apply a new background image, error message "no pinboard was in use"
then right or left click on desktop, it displays alternatively old and new image

# wcpufreq
/usr/sbin/wcpufreq: line 156: cd: /lib/modules/3.2.29/kernel/arch/*/kernel/cpu/cpufreq: No such file or directory
ERROR: modinfo: could not find module Choices
ERROR: modinfo: could not find module File-Sharing
ERROR: modinfo: could not find module Startup

menu - system - Pschedule
click (star icon) about
click link to forum , it doesnt open browser.

/usr/lib and /usr/local/lib dont need to be in LD_LIBRARY_PATH ?

DISPLAY=:0 should be 0.0 instead ?


Pwallpaper works fine for me.

Yes, wcpufreq has a bug. This is TaZoc's baby, but TaZoc has had health issues, not sure of current situation.
Anyway, I fixed it, see new PET version 0.8.1:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=683397#683397

Pschedule is zigbert's baby. There will be a later version in the next release of Precise Puppy (and all other Woof-built pups).
If the problem persisits, report in the Pschedule Forum thread.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 21:44    Post subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
Precise Puppy 5.4.3
- run pupx
set mouse acceleration to 1.0
set mouse threshold to 1
click ok
run pupx again, nothing has changed.
error message :
Code:
dc: syntax error at '1.0'
xset:  unknown option /10


Works for me. Acceleration does change, and no error messages.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3645
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2013, 21:53    Post subject:  

@Barryk,
Think you saw both of these.
  1. NTFS - Per your request
  2. This is a small item that may have benefit to 32bit PUPs

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 22 of 24 [359 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0910s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0117s) ][ GZIP on ]