Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 09:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
GUI to download LibreOffice - beta quality
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 13 of 18 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7831
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 08 Feb 2013, 09:25    Post_subject: Re: LibreOffice 4 released  

tlchost wrote:
Does not seem to create the newly released LibreOffice 4.x

Thom
already knew that, it's a bloody shambles! The freakin' webmaster of that site or whomever decides the packagenames of these packages needs a size 11 where it isn't designed to fit.. Rolling Eyes

Don't worry.. I'm not the only one none too happy, slackbuilds are completely broken too, as would be any distros packaging scripts. It's a terrible joke.

...and.. when I checked beta2 a few weeks back (built ok, but had some issues with desktop entries, nothing too exacerbating) it complained about needing gconf!!! I hate that library!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1721
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Feb 2013, 15:44    Post_subject: Re: LibreOffice 4 released  

01micko wrote:
tlchost wrote:


Thom
already knew that, it's a bloody shambles! The freakin' webmaster of that site or whomever decides the packagenames of these packages needs a size 11 where it isn't designed to fit.. Rolling Eyes



Ah yes...the shoe insertion....You'll be happy to know that Acme Products stocks those in various sizes and colors.

Just to add to your day Confused, I have to revert back to version 19 to get rid of the low memory/no usb warning...don't know why....and to make things better, even that does not seem to work in the beta Slacko.

I have also decided to paint all the inside walls red...that way the blood from hitting my head against the wall will not be so obvious.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7831
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 08 Feb 2013, 20:45    Post_subject:  

Making progress . can now build a sane lo-4.0 sfs but need to fix .desktop files. Then I'll look at the RAM code to see where that breaks down.. maybe a new version later today.

I have also moved the "default" file code (eg: "defaultwordprocessor, defaultspreadsheet" etc) from the pinstall.sh (now not needed) which created files in /usr/local/bin, now the files exist in the sfs at /usr/bin. There are big advantages to this in that the pinstall.sh is gone now and when you unload the sfs you get your original defaults back, tested working fine.

LATER;

v 0.22 is out

see main post

I didn't check RAM based install but there was a bug, should be fixed. You would notice it if you had no swap.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1721
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Feb 2013, 23:16    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Making progress . can now build a sane lo-4.0 sfs but need to fix .desktop files. Then I'll look at the RAM code to see where that breaks down.. maybe a new version later today.

Still getting the low memory/no usb error in Slacko stabile....I have 16 gig of memory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7831
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2013, 01:02    Post_subject:  

Hmmm... I just tested on my laptop with 1G RAM, 1G swap USB install and it builds ok. It should do a check for over 2GB RAM and no swap and run, I simulated that (as I have swap on all machines) and the code stands up.

Try 0.23 I made minor adjustments, should work , if not, please post the output from commandline, it may be elsewhere that the code breaks.

You should see similar to this:
Code:
Is it ok to build in RAM? yes

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
kooliepup


Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Victoria, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2013, 05:03    Post_subject:  

@micko,

023 is good,
did everything it was supposed to, and as a bonus, I didn't have to look at a horrible orange download window. Thanks for the greens.

Very pleased with LO4.

later:
I spoke too soon.
The SFS loads and runs fine in Precise,
Not in Lucids or Slackos.

Bummer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1721
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2013, 07:59    Post_subject:  

Yea!

.23 works fine with 5.4 and 5.4.02

Thanks!!

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7831
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2013, 08:18    Post_subject:  

Thom, good

koolie, xz compressed? lupu will fail, but it might build in lupu (gz compressed). Slacko-531-4g versions are also gz compression compat only.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
majorfoo

Joined: 07 Mar 2011
Posts: 445
Location: Wish I knew

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2013, 18:57    Post_subject:  

Built in Lupu-528-005 gz compressed sfs. Also converted to gz.pet
installed pet and working great
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7831
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2013, 20:41    Post_subject:  

Laughing

New libreoffice feature, uses firefox personas, you don't need firefox installed..

(no, I don't have too much time on my hands!)
capture27290.png
 Description   CALC
 Filesize   77.58 KB
 Viewed   526 Time(s)

capture27290.png

capture15510.png
 Description   WRITER
 Filesize   54.49 KB
 Viewed   535 Time(s)

capture15510.png


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
kooliepup


Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Victoria, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2013, 21:12    Post_subject:  

Just got 5.4.1 beta.
Hey, you are really achieving something there.
Fastest booting Puppy in my kennel.

My LO4-xz works great in it.

Happy, happy, happy.


You just edited your previous post while I was doing this.
You DO have too much time on your hands.
You must be at work. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2462
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2013, 11:15    Post_subject:  

Great stuff, I managed to install LibreOffice 4 on Slacko 5.3.1

Which came just in time to help with an application form in MS .doc format. It included checkboxes / tickboxes that would save properly in Libre 3.5.3

Many thanks ; -)

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Fri 15 Feb 2013, 00:33    Post_subject: Unable to install LibreOffice-4
Sub_title: ”sorry, constructing LibreOffice failed.”
 

I have been using the several latest versions of LibreOffice through 3.6.4. No problems.

I tried 4.0 several times without success using get LO 0.23. The help download (yellow), and program download (green) are successful but I get a red screen saying something like ”sorry, constructing LibreOffice failed.”

I am using PreciseNop-5.4.3, which works perfectly in every other known respect. Does this problem have something to do with the xz/gz compression mentioned above in this thread? Afraid that's beyond me to answer. I have 2G ram and 396 Mb free in the save file.

Thanks for any advice, although I'm sure I could live without LO 4.0 for quite a while Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 05:38    Post_subject:  

Dear all,

01micko's downloader works great on Lucid - and LO 4.0 works just fine. Many thanks, Mick.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7831
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 16 Feb 2013, 07:12    Post_subject:  

Thanks vovchik for report Smile

-----------------------

Henry, I'm not sure why it would fail in precise-NOP. If you get the inclination and have the spare bandwidth could you please try to run get_libreoffice in a terminal please and report the error messages. TIA.

With the next version I think I'll have to add some logging for debugging.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 18 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1007s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0246s) ][ GZIP on ]